• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Pittsburgh, PA

Schenley Park

Permanent course
2.945(based on 54 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Schenley Park reviews

Filter
2 5
hogwild428
Experience: 25.3 years 300 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Solid Course in the city 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very nice signs and tee pads. Easy to navigate from hole to hole. Well planned course, could easily find next tees even if the signs weren't there.

Cons:

After the first 6 holes it gets very heavily wooded. The first couple of holes play on a hill where there might be a lot of non golfers milling around. They are usually out of the way, but it could cause trouble on a nice day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
timbur3
Experience: 17.1 years 109 played 51 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Another Great Pittsburgh Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The baskets, signs, and tee pads are great. There is a bunch of elevation change that went into the course. It is easy to navigate. The overall park is really nice. The course uses the woods well and the surroundings well.

Cons:

Some shots you might hit people if the course is crowded. Some of the holes criss cross so you might walk into a fairway of another hole.

Other Thoughts:

If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
BogeyNoMore
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 491 played 183 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent discin’ in the ‘Burgh 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pleasant course in a large park with loads of activities for non-discers.
• Greets you with a wonderful view of the city skyline at the 1st hole.
• Starts out with several fairly open holes, (some with guarded baskets), before rambling into the woods for a short, technical, control game for most of the round - strikes a decent balance between the two. Solid design encourages shot shaping and finesse shots with good hyzer, annie, straight balance.
• Slight to significant elevation change is a factor on many (if not most) fairways. A few tricky basket locations have rollaway potential.
• Absence of nasty underbrush or schule for the most part makes finding discs pretty easy (but still some places where a horrible shot could get lost).
• Great place to learn the game and a great venue for an Ace Race.
• Compact layout allows you to skip some holes and return them fairly easily in spots.
• 3 sets of tees (red & white = concrete, blue =grass with toe board) change things up a bit.
• 3 pin placements means locals can play this course a variety of ways over a period of time.
• Baskets catch fine and tee markers show hole layout and distance from all tees (some are looking a bit beat up).
• Benches located here and there along the course.
• Convenient for a quick round before a Pirates or Steelers game, or anything else that might bring you into the city. Course plays quickly if you can play through/around slower groups.
• Park offers bolf course, tennis courts, track & field oval, skating rink, swimming pool, soccer fields, pavilions, bike/walking trail... too much to list. If you really want to see what they have, link here: http://www.pittsburghparks.org/schenley

Cons:

• Compact layout and close proximity to roads, parking lots, and other park goers means discs can end up where they don't belong... this means you could be on the receiving end of things as well.
• Popular location and low degree of difficulty attracts crowds and less than serious players - you may need to be proactive in asking slower groups to play through and other etiquette issues.
• I had a guide, but I can see where navigation could get a bit sketchy - print the map.

Other Thoughts:

Solid course, plays well, makes for a really fun round. Definitely not an "every shot in your bag" type of course (no crime in my book). If you really want to run with the big dogs, head to Knob Hill, Deer Lakes, or Moraine, you'll be much happier playing one of them.

Sure, sun bathers tend to congregate in the field near the first two holes, but a little courtesy and common sense should avoid any potentially ugly situation. Besides, when did seeing college girls lying in the sun become a con? ;-) You gotta love that most courses in this area feature 3 sets of tees and rotate through 3 sets of pin placements; ensures a bit of variety and keeps things from getting boring. Wish they did it where I live! Can't bag on the fact that the blue tees aren't concrete - there were already two sets of pads, and they added a 3rd set of blue toe boards... that's a good thing. On the whole, Schenley's a wonderful addition to the local DG scene. Looks great when you consider this course is older than many of the people playing it! Bonus points for nice views driving into the city as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
madcow
Experience: 14.7 years 28 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Decent course for the area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

good for beginners to average players
can be played quickly pending crowd
good mix of open area and woods
wooded area is open enough that its hard to lose a disc
always someone else playing the course
easily identifiable tees

Cons:

probably too easy for expert players
the course can get super crowded
holes 1 and 2 are usually covered with people sunbathing in the summer time which means you may have to skip over them
course can get old quickly
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Airubus
Experience: 21.2 years 43 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

i learned on this course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 1, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great rec course. Awesome views of the city. good mix of elevation, wide open shots, tight shots, left to right, right to left. everything except water! great place for beginners!

Cons:

safety. when the weather is right, there will be a LOT of clueless bystanders in the grassy areas. also, beware of errant shots. the course plays fast, so if you're by yourself and need to kill and afternoon, you'll need to play it a few times.

Other Thoughts:

This was THE course where i was introduced to disc golf. i HATED disc golf for exactly one hole. and then i got angry, and happened to sidearm a perfect shot on hole two. the rest...is history.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
brianlpowers
Experience: 13.1 years 23 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great local course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course was very good with the variety of holes - long and open to thread-the-needle through the trees. Also, the elevation changes were a welcome challenge.

You won't find a better course this close to Pittsburgh!

Cons:

Signs to the next tee would be nice... I had to pull out the map a couple of times to make sure I was headed in the right direction.

Someone has used a Sharpie on the backs of the tee signs so that you can see which hole they're for from a distance. This helped me not have to backtrack any more than necessary.

Other Thoughts:

When I played it this morning, I had the whole place to myself. I did come across a dog walker who evidently didn't know she was walking through one of the fairways. I had to stop mid-drive!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Headbabe
Experience: 20 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Shorty Course in the City 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good use of trees and evevation. A quick trip from downtown. People from out of town can (and should) play a quick round here.

Cons:

I can imagine that if crowded it would cause issues with throwing on others. Dont bring the big boy discs.

Other Thoughts:

Holes #1-5 play on the open park. Then the course plays some nice tecnical holes through the woods.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
412Disc
Experience: 13.4 years 2 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Average Course great for College Students 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Location can't be beat. Great view on the first hole. The course is well maintained, Pittsburgh city parks prides itself on its cleanliness. Minimal graffiti. Great for beginner. Quality baskets and tees.

As someone else mentioned, there is the Wednesday league. From what I have heard, many people show up to this. There is also an ace prize.

Cons:

Can be crowded at times. A lot of trees. Other non-disc golfers can get in the way, especially on the first hole. Sunbathers (although great to look at) always see, to be in the way when it is nice out.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course for the college student or anyone in the area looking to get in a quick round. I would highly recommend it for beginners. If anyone wants to play PM me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 5
EasyGoinD
Experience: 14.2 years 12 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hucking at Shady Side 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 12, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I did a bad job on this review the first time so let me try again.

This course is quick, challenging and fun. Learning how to play in the midwest didn't really give me an appreciation for well used trees. At Schenley the trees can drive you nuts...but this is a good thing. Your first throw can bomb straight over a rise and into a swimming pool !! (from the white tees). On #2 you really get to air it out off that hill. From there on it's a gradual progression towards more technical holes. 13 can be a real bear...talk about threading the needle. There's decent elevation (including a basket up on a pylon on 15). The blues offer some great distance for those with a massive arm on 1 and 15, great challenge. Theirs plenty of parking and a few chances to catch some hotties jogging or tanning when it's warm out.

Cons:

It's either 9 or 10 that can be easily missed, so get a map or go with someone who knows it. The signs are small. If you're new to the area finding the park entrance can be confusing, but maybe I just suck at navigation. During off season at the pool they have a skating rink in there... but if it's closed you're either losing your disc or climbing the fence if you toss it in (a big RHBH hyzer off the tee 18 will get you in there too!!!) Other than that it's pretty chill and quick, two rounds are usually necessary as it only takes 45 minutes to get through this short course.

Other Thoughts:

I mentioned the leaves on my first attempt at this review just because I lost two disc in them. Despite the annoyance with that, it's part of the risk so take bright discs with you so you can spot them. There's three holes where the landing is totally blind and without a spotter it can be frustrating. So take a partner and have some fun!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 0
joshmo65
Experience: 17.4 years 271 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice for a quick round. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

~Location, location, location: The course is located 4 miles from downtown Pittsburgh and less than 1 mile from Oakland with the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University less than a 5 minute drive to the park. Allows for a quick outing with friends to satisfy the disc golfing fix.

~Three tee pads and three pins: Red and white concrete tees with signage for the hole while the blue tees are natural. Allows for play for all levels.

~Great beginner course: With an average hole length of 255' from the white tees, and all but two holes visible from the tee pads, beginners can see the goal and should be able to score in the 70s here. In addition, the course is nicely beat in, so the risk of losing a disc is minimal. This is great as beginner's throws tend to go all over the place.

Cons:

~Busy: With the great location comes large numbers of people; both disc golfers and park users. The fairway for hole one is a popular spot for picnickers and sunbathers who often have to be asked to move. Throwing from the blue tees on hole 1 a Saturday or Sunday is practically impossible. Many runners throughout the park as well that one must watch out for when throwing.

~Cramped in park: Many of the holes in the woods are in close proximity to each other. Be aware of people throwing from other holes as any bounce off of a tree or even bad throws can result in discs careening in your direction.

~Navigation may be difficult: With the holes so close to each other, one may see a tee sign and go to it just assuming that it is the next hole. Be sure to check to make sure you are on the right hole. The most difficult navigation will be from hole 14 to 15 where you need to walk to the right from the hole, through the parking lot to the base of the stairs where hole 15 shoots up the hill.

~Blue tees hard to find: Be sure to bring a map if you want to play the blue tees (recommended as it completely changes the course) as they are natural tees with no signage. Some tees are a long ways back from the white tee such as hole 1's tee being back near the practice basket and hole 15's tee being a long ways down the path. Also note that there are no blue tees for holes 7, 11, and 17, so you should throw from the white tee.

Other Thoughts:

~Well attended league runs through the summer months on Wednesday nights at 6:00PM. Three baskets get moved each week which changes the course nicely from week to week.

~Bathrooms located near the track and soccer field. I assume there is water there as well, but have never noticed. There is a water fountain located at the pavilion after hole 8 and 14.

~Once of the best views of Pittsburgh from above hole 1. If you are there in the summer months, the sun sets perfectly over the city and makes for some superb pictures.

~With a good mix of wooded and open holes as well as holes to both the left and right, this course is great to work on your approach shots. Not a course to change your route for, but a nice place to stop for a quick round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
m1morri1
Experience: 18.3 years 75 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

First Timer! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 27, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice mix of wooded and open fairways with some elevation changes. Concrete tees and signs which is nice. The baskets are in good shape.

Cons:

Almost every hole is less than 300 feet, makes for a pretty easy course.

Other Thoughts:

Very user friendly. Nice course for beginners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Beable
Experience: 15.1 years 36 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Solid City Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's a nice, old course that is still heavily played. As someone else mentioned, even though the majority of the course is heavily wooded, there are definitely lanes available. You will need to be accurate with your 200 feet and under game to score well here. The quintessential Schenley experience is a short downhill drive.

The markings are OK. Mostly the course is so packed together that you'll easily find where to go next. As I mention in the "cons" area though, make sure you're not skipping holes. The tee signs are very good for the white and red tees.

Schenley is a great family park. I live in the city, and my wife, two year old and I often go to Schenley for part of a weekend day. I can play a couple rounds solo in about 1.5 hours. There are great playgrounds for the baby to play on. There's a fountain that she can play in near the library, and of course all the well known stuff in Oakland like the main Carnegie library, museums, carousel, food, and so on. All of that is adjacent to Schenley, although you might have to drive from one parking lot to another. Finding parking is rarely difficult in these areas.

Cons:

It's in a city park and the space is crowded. Sometimes there are cars parked on the fairway around hole 9. There are a few downhill shots that terminate near a parking lot that is often full of cars. There are often sunbathers or other people on hole 1's fairway. Sometimes this will also happen on 2.

The wooded holes are kind of jumbled together. I've played them out of order several times when I wasn't really paying attention. Double check that you're on the right number.

I've never played the blue tees, but they're not marked as well as the other two sets.

Other Thoughts:

This is an older course so the shots are not very difficult (from the white tees). Good players often shoot ten under. I get around par as a Rec level guy. Just go in expecting that, and leave the crazy fast plastic at home. You can play this course pretty well with one driving putter, although I bring a second faster disc to let 'er rip on #2. You will see many 1-3 disc players here of varying skill.

If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

If I had time, I'd go to the weekly Wednesday league. I've heard that it is a lot of fun and seems to be very organized.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
Peot
Experience: 14.9 years 13 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

My local standby 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The location is obviously extremely accessible for anybody living within Pittsburgh's city limits, particularly the student crowd (myself included). Great to stop here if you're coming into the city to eat or see a show.

The wood's can be pretty unforgiving, but the wooded holes feature just the right mix of challenge and practicality to make a good shot that weaves through some trees feel excellent. Holes 8 and 10 stand out, while 13 would be the only one where hitting trees sees almost inevitable for at least one person in the party.

The course is well maintained, the red and white tee pads are all concrete, and three baskets are moved every week.

This is a great course for beginners, as your arm doesn't get tested nearly as much as your ability to pick a good lane and mix up your shots.

There is a great weekly league on Wednesdays at 6.

Cons:

There isn't an incredible amount of variety. Hole 2 is the only hole that might test your arm, but not if the basket is in the A position. Not necessarily a true par 4, which is a shame given that it's the only such hole on the course.

Once you get acclimated to the course finding your way around is easy, and there are signs for every tee, but I can certainly see how some of the tightly packed holes in the woods could create confusion due to the perception of overlapping fairways/baskets.

Have fun throwing LHBH on a few holes, since it's nearly impossible on some of them. The course is certainly designed for accessibility (RHBH), so expert players might not be sufficiently challenged.

Other Thoughts:

Play hole A! The tee is on the other side of the pavilion at hole 14, next to the playground. This isn't an ideal course for an expert, but it's hard to complain due to its sheer convenience. Don't go out of your way to play it if you're from outside the region, but if you're in the area, I'd definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
optidiscic
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 156 played 149 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Cramped, Busy, Old.....Wonderful! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 5, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

What a tremendous park with the best skyline views (sorry Wickham) of any city park I've played. Blends challenging tight woods, elevation and an open sloping windy field into a memorable experience. Meticulously cared for park with 3 sets of tees that amp up the challenge significantly from the beginner to the expert tees. Perfect place to introduce the game while still interesting enough to keep a more experienced player interested. I don't know if it's possible to lose a disc on this well broken in course. I particularly enjoyed teeing off on #1 and #2 and sensing that I had a gallery watching me...and I did dozens of people swarm the hillside to relax and take in the skyline and views and inevitably they are watching you play. I felt like a touring pro LOL! The woods are interesting as the lanes are very tight and often there is a hill to climb or float down. The elevated basket perched atop a stone foundation was a treat as was the extra hole(13A) hidden behind the pavillion and firing uphill before finding the basket hiding at the top of a steep bank. I was surprised at the distance and challenge that the blue tees provided. From the shorts you can ace hunt and get through a round pretty fast. I really enjoyed the booming drive of blue #2 ...just the perfect elevation change and distance to allow your disc to perform it's full flight path and have a shot at birdie.....all the while taking in th skyline view and spectacors watching your throw. Concrete tees for shorter tees and blue wooden slabs for pros. These natural long tees were in surprisingly good condition. A good place to enjoy a relaxing round and work on your mid-range game. A fun little course,a wonderful disc golf scene in a pleasant city park, does it get any better.

Cons:

Wheres the map? Although it's small I had some minor irritation finding my way as the baskets and tees are often cramped together in such small spaces. So its not a matter of knowing where the next tee and basket is but more of which tee and which basket? Not only confusing but dangerous as well. The public is nearby often on hole #1 and oob roads come into play on several holes which is less than aesthetically pleasing. Often in the woods due to ricochets off trees and the proximity of the fairways I felt someone might get hurt. More than once I disrupted another party's round or they disrupted mine as discs often end up in adjoining fairways. There was a smooching couple on a blanket I never saw and I drove right over their heads apparently. Just be careful it's a public park that your playing in not a disc golf course the public has invaded. Often the blue tees are just stretching out the holes and don't add much more to the holes outside of danger to fellow golfers. I felt the shorter tees were really safer for everyone involved. Of course these short tees are pretty boring for a more experienced player.

Other Thoughts:

If you play the course it's worth it to hunt for the bonus hole betwenn 14 and 15. There is far superior disc golf in the region but Schenley is worth a stop if you have time for a relaxing interesting round. Just remember to play safe, pay attention, and enjoy the course for what it is...a fun little course in a spectacular park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
tfoley
Experience: 23.2 years 53 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Beginning Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A beautiful view of the skyline of downtown Pittsburgh. A good course for a beginner and to practice your accuracy. Three tee pads as well as three pin placements on every hole! Nice, new Mach 3 baskets. Good variation of open and wooded areas. Nice use of elevation changes. Easy to navigate and nice sign usage. Water fountains for drinking after finishing 14 and bathrooms are located at the park.

Cons:

The park can get extremely crowded; not only with disc golfers, but non disc golfers as well. Usually holes 1 and 2 have the most hazards in the way of people. Once you get to hole 6 one does not have to worry about the people anymore because it is mostly through the woods. Pars on the tee signs may not match what should be the actual par. All the holes should be a par three. Throwing towards parked cars on hole 8, 14, and 16 can happen sometimes in the busy summer months.

Other Thoughts:

The course is basically a simple par 3 course. It's not an extrememly long course, but it makes up for it in tight, accurate throws through the trees.

They make good use of the land there and there are two practice baskets on the course. One close to hole 1's tee and the other close to hole 14's tee. The second practice basket can be used as a "14 and a half" basket during your regular play. Wednesday night is league nights so come out and play!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
JDaley522
Experience: 15.2 years 11 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Target golf at it's best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Holes 6 through 17 are packed in the woods...you'll hear alot of trees getting hit as you play

Cons:

Next tee signs could be easier to see

Other Thoughts:

After the first four holes, I put away my driver...if you're not accurate, you can easily score 70+ on this course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
vslaugh
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 28.1 years 48 played 23 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent Course that Serves Pittsburgh Well 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 4, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Schenley is a course that serves its purpose well as a convenient (for much of Pittsburgh) place to enjoy a casual round or two of Par 3 disc golf.

It offers the standard amenities for a good course...Concrete tee pads (white and red tees). Baskets are nice and in excellent shape. A practice basket, three pin positions per hole, an extra hole (14A), and blue tees add variety to the course.

You get at least a little bit of wide open shots, mostly open shots, wooded shots with big lanes, and wooded shots with small lanes--all with substantial elevation changes. And there are some ace runs and risk/reward decisions to make things interesting. All holes are Par 3, so putting is key and playing Schenley often will make your putting improve.

The course is conveniently located to the city of Pittsburgh, and especially its college campuses, so it does good work promoting the sport to families and college students.

Bring your best driver for hole 2, as it's long, open, and downhill. Other than that, almost every hole will have you throwing a unique style tee shot.

Cons:

The design is nothing spectacular, especially when compared to championship courses in the Pittsburgh area. The wooded holes simply try to pack too many holes into too small of an area, making for teepads which are in danger of being hit by players on other holes.

I also feel like the open holes (1-4) could have been designed and laid out better to make better use of the space. I don't like how a poor shot can hit parked or moving cars on Holes 3 or 4. Similarly, watch out for a hole or two that requires a downhill tee shot with a parking lot not far behind the basket.

Store all valuables and power cords out of view. The park has had problems this fall with car windows being smashed to steal contents inside.

As an urban park, Schenley gets a lot of use by the general public with many people unaware of the disc golf course.

Other Thoughts:

Definitely play later in the day so you can see a panorama of Pittsburgh's city lights.

Be sure to check out hole 14A, which is on the other side of the pavilion after you finish hole 14.

Come play in Wednesday night leagues (handicapped) from mid-spring to mid-fall.

Overall, it's a fairly typical/decent course, but the location (convenience and panorama) and quality baskets give it a bump up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
HarkeyPuck
Experience: 15.1 years 543 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 21, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Close to Downtown. Concrete on white and red tees. Great view of Pittsburgh from the first tee.

Cons:

Not long at all. Hard to go a whole round without hitting a tree. Can get very crowded.

Other Thoughts:

This is the course I started on. You need a variety of shots to navigate the tight woods from # 8 thru # 17. Beginners can play here without getting overwhelmed. And more experienced players have to be on their game to hit a string a duece runs. A very entertaining course when playing with friends. #13 great hole to take a "break". Not a championship course by any means, but a definite gem in the heart of Pittsburgh.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
beaker
Experience: 20.1 years 13 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good urban course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 15, 2007 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of terrain changes with challenging tunnel shots and a couple of long open drives. Tee pads are nice, and the course flows pretty well.

Cons:

Sometimes drives can get close to picnic areas. Some drives get close to other drives and risk hitting other players.

Other Thoughts:

This course will challenge you to learn to throw accurately.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
PsyStal
Experience: 18.1 years 16 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Solid Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A great course for beginners and families, Schenley also offers nice views of Oakland and downtown Pittsburgh. Play is quick and fun, and provides just enough hole variety to offer new players a chance to practice the shots they'll need for more difficult courses. The course also makes good use of the limited city space.

Location is a big plus for Schenely. Situated right in Pittsburgh, it's a short trip to nearby amenities and also well placed in a beautiful city park. There are also a number of other great courses not far away, if you improve your game and are looking for more!

Cons:

This course is quite short, and not particularly challenging. It's also typically quite crowded, which only adds to the space problems already inherent in a small city park. While holes are generally laid out well, there are moderate issues with holes 8-12, with stray shots (of which there are many at a beginner friendly course) often flying into nearby fairways.

Other Thoughts:

A good beginner course, although I'd recommend nearby Knob Hill if you have the option. There's simply too much crowding to make this course viable for most disc golfers, and the lack longer, more challenging holes keeps anyone with more than an Innova starter set away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top