• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Cedar Rapids, IA

Shaver Park

3.875(based on 41 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Shaver Park reviews

Filter
8 0
BriMar
Experience: 10.2 years 30 played 17 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2nd Time's the Charm drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 16, 2023 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a challenging, mostly wooded course with lots of little baked in surprises.

The course is essentially brand new, it was rebuilt, re-imagined actually, after a horrendous wind storm which shut the park down for years.

A men's and women's Park Bathroom is onsite, as is ample parking.

Shaver is much better than before and definitely worth a visit, another gem in Eastern Iowa's crown of beautiful, high-end disc golf experiences.

Cons:

The biggest con here is that Shaver is not done. It can be played, of course, but the damage done by the storm was immerse and can still be see on nearly every lane. As I was there last week, volunteers were planting dozens of trees to fill in some of the more cleared out gaps. As a result the course can feel a little maddening. The tee signs seem temporary and it can be a challenge to locate the next lane.

This might be a Pro for some, but many of the baskets can not be seen from the tees, so anyone's first time on the course can be a bit maddening.

Also be warned, this is also a very busy course, only open since the start of this summer and the parking lot fills fast by 10am on weekend mornings.

Other Thoughts:

First off I just want to give a major shout out to the city and the many volunteers that brought this course back to life after a devastating derecho a few years back. The work done, in such a short period of time, is amazing and it's obviously just the start. Over time the course will continue to improve, the new trees will mature and the layout will flow much better; but don't wait until then, it's already a great course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Jwalker92
Experience: 8.9 months 52 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

One of Iowa’s Best.

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 4, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Newly redesigned by John Houck, this is sure to be one of Iowa's premier courses for a long time. Touting seven par 4's and a par 5, this course is sure to challenge, even the most seasoned player. Tight fairways, difficult gaps elevation and sloped green on almost every hole provides trouble everywhere you turn. Hole 1 and hole 3 might be two of the best holes in all of Iowa disc golf.

Two different tee pads per hole, with one basket location so far provides challenges for all skill levels. The shorter red tees play around 6-10 strokes easier than the longer, blue pads. The bright pink Chainstar Pro baskets are perfect for the quality of the course.

Cons:

No "permanent" tee signs yet, but the temporary ones are very good. The flow of the course takes some getting used to, it's easy to get lost between hole 4 and 5. It's also very congested with tee pads on top of the hill, with pads for 14, 16, 18, and 13's basket all within 100' of each other. Although the par 3's are good technical shots, they leave something to be desired in between the monstrous par 4's and 5's on almost every other hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
CwAlbino
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.2 years 76 played 23 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tons of fun, and frustration 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-The hole design is superb. There are no holes that really stand out as being weird or boring, unless you include hole 1... It's a necessary hole though so you can get started at that end of the woods. Being next to the road it also screams "there's a disc golf course here", because otherwise you'd never know.
-If you like wooded courses, Shaver is for you. It has a more Kaposia (MN) vibe than any other course in the area.
-Bright. Pink. Baskets. If these were unpainted baskets it would have been a nightmare course to play for the first time. Technically it's my second time playing it, but the first was almost 10 years ago so it's like playing it new again.
-Tons of design elements in this course. Left/Right doglegs, S curving fairways, varying elevation changes, Low ceiling shots. All of this in a relatively tight wooded area. Some fairways are definitely tighter shots than others, but still never too tight. I threw a ton of different shots on this course.
-The only disc I didn't throw in my bag on this course was a force. To me, that'a fun course.

Cons:

-The cons are big, but are actually pretty simple. It was very difficult to navigate, and the signage was written on with a sharpie because the holes changed. I'm still not entirely sure I played all 18, I may have skipped one around hole 4-7. This course really just needs good signage on the tee and at the basket to tell you where to go. There'a course map in the links, you'll need it.

Other Thoughts:

I can see this being a rec killer. Then again, most wooded courses are. Be ready to shape your shots and hit some trees.

If course signage were fixed, it an easy 4. Amenities and cleanup would bring it up to a 4.5. There's downed trees and branches in a lot of places that just need removed. Could be the storm that came through recently, or they could be old. There was a large tree downed in the middle of hole 9's landing zone - made that hole much harder than it should've been (it's already a difficult hole). 3.5 rating is just about the best it can be based on course design alone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.2 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Savor the Flavor of Shaver 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

The first hole is a bit mundane, but every hole after that is fun. I favor this sort of very woodsy course over a grassy park layout. The elevation changes are really fun on a few holes. The tees are concrete, and the baskets are all decent. There are tee markers with signs that are ok.

If you are like me, you will have a few great throws to go along with a few bad throws. The lines are not too easy, but usually they're well defined and keep a nice mix of shots. I was able to make par on 15 holes, but botched a couple of holes and scored 5 over par. No birdies, but there were opportunities. Very enjoyable and I would love to play most of the course repeatedly.

Hole 2 introduces you to the vibe of the course. Woods all up the fairway, a well worn track with hilly contours. It's uphill and reachable if you nail the drive. Of course, some holes are better than others, but the consistent quality is good. 6 is a fun hole. 7 has a top of the world tee that is memorable. 9 is really good. The fairway along the path on 12 is beautiful. Hole 16 and 17 are great, segmented holes that take some strategy and precision. 18 is not a bad finisher, either.

Cons:

The infrastructure could use renovations. The course is well established, and has gone through changes over the years. Not all of the signs are accurate. I found an old pole with the tee sign for 8, but the box and fairway had been abandoned and basket moved. I could have used directional arrows to help navigate some hole to hole transitions. I think I almost skipped a hole, and definitely wasted some time searching for tees. The stairs and paths are eroded and can be very slick in many spots after rain. Beer cans were left in piles near a few tees. Parking lot was overflowing.

Other Thoughts:

I loved this course, and felt like giving a better rating. If not for wet conditions and outdated signage, the course would be pretty extraordinary. To live in one of those houses that back up to the park in the middle of the course would be SWEET!

I played Wildcat after Shaver. If the facilities were in the same great condition at Shaver as they are at Wildcat, I would go up a half point in my rating. Slick trails and poor markers were the most noticable points of contention. Upgrades would be amazing, but this is a very good course as is. One of the best in Iowa.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 9.1 years 335 played 252 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Could Use a Refresh 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Concrete tees
-Tee signage is OK (missing on a couple of holes)
-Lots of risk/reward, interest for moderate to more advanced players
-Benches and trash cans are plentiful
-Disc shop located right next door
-Map (available on links page) is good

Cons:

-Trash cans not emptied regularly
-"Steps" in many areas are falling apart, disintegrating, missing
-Some benches are falling apart
-Some large inclines on hole #3, up to tee box for #6 and between #7 and tee for #8 are a little daunting, especially for rec players

Other Thoughts:

I enjoy playing at Shaver, and while there is some work going toward upkeep, there could be more to refresh this course to what it was. It is a technical course with only one really open hole. There are many risk/reward holes (#4, #6, #15, #16) and a couple of fun downward or across the ravine holes (#11, #17 and #18) What keeps the rating down for me is the deteriorating steps in many locations. Some have been replaced with concrete blocks, but many are fading away. Most are not a safety concern, yet, but can be slick and muddy at times. While there are trash cans at most tee boxes, the days I've been there, they are mostly full. New signage would be a plus as well. There are also some orange fences up on hole #13 that detract. There is some effort to stabilize washout prone areas, but some serious refresh would really bring some life to a great course Still a fun course after 20 years. I will play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
dickwolf
Experience: 28.2 years 50 played 21 reviews
4.50 star(s)

really cool course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-great signs, tee pads.
-nice care of the course, no trash, mowed.
-multiple tees and placements.
-fantastic use of trees and elevation.
-pretty
-fair for intermediate players on up, but wish i would have learned on this course.
-never feels claustrophobic, but it is tight.
-feels like a home course kind of course on first try. no problem looking back at the round with giant smile on my face!

Cons:

baskets need an upgrade.

Other Thoughts:

a good, fun, challenging course in a cooler town (city?) i loved my day here, it coupled with about a 45 minute drive to urbana to play wildcat bluff made an unbelieveable disc golf 1-2 punch in the midst of my road trip to chicago. you cannot go wrong making a trip here alone. freakin sweet course!!! easily in my top 10 favorites.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 17
LittleBigPutt
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Sweet course - super fun to play. Excellent design and can't wait to go back. Nice Nice Nice.

Cons:

Nothing bad to say really. I enjoyed every aspect of the course.

Other Thoughts:

This course is one of the best I have played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
ALitt
Experience: 24 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Needs updated signage 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very wooded and challenging
Has potential for being a great course, if the cons are fixed

Cons:

The signage makes navigation frustrating. Some holes are marked wrong, there is nothing pointing you to the next hole, if the holes have a sign showing where the basket is and/or the distance, it is likely wrong...
Some of the tee pads are cracked or divided into several pieces which threw off my run-up.

Other Thoughts:

If I lived closer and played this course enough to learn the holes, it would be great - but since I was coming from out of town, I was spending all my time trying to find the next tee rather than concentrating on my game. By the end, I was kind of over it and ready to be done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
hotoatmeal
Experience: 21 played 6 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Most challenging course in Cedar Rapids 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 13, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Great variety of holes
- Essentially the whole course is wooded but there is still enough room to shape shots
- Excellent pro-shop right next to it (Titan Disc Golf)
- Tends to not get much traffic
- The course is very different than it was 5 or 6 years ago. An incredible amount of work was put into redesigning. What were previously repetitive holes are now signature throws.

Cons:

- Not beginner friendly. You can't just flick nukes the whole time and expect to make it out alive
- Those playing it for the first time could get a little confused moving from basket to the next pad.
- A course of this caliber should have better tee signs and directions to the next pad.

Other Thoughts:

- Shaver is one of the most underrated courses in Iowa.
- Having played here for almost 10 years, the TLC put into by the crew really shows. I don't know who works on it but hats off to them!
- This is a must play when in the Cedar Rapids area.
- I learned to play here so it will always have a special place in my heart.
- It's pronounced 'Shafer'
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
mgcoleman
Experience: 19.2 years 20 played 17 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 9, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

A shot-maker's course, not just bombing and putting. Well-wooded (in a good way). Good elevation changes, fun ravine shots. Most holes have several options for playing it.

Cons:

Local club is doing a good job with upkeep - tough location for bringing in materials, so improvements take time. Some negative reviews about layout, signs, maps...recommend those people just get the map off of this site since they're on this site griping about a lack of maps.

Other Thoughts:

It is a tough course, but you only get into trouble on this course if you invite it - play the course, don't let it play you. Best course in Cedar Rapids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Mullin1343
Experience: 12 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

This course has gotten better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has gotten better. The guys down at titan disc golf have modified this course to make it longer and more challenging. Theres a few old hole they took out to give it a lot more lenght (but those holes will mot be missed).all the tee pads have been leveled out and the baskets have very nice landscapeing work around them for a spectacular look.very challenging and fun to play.

Cons:

Since the work has been done there is very little signage and some times hard to navigate (stop by titan disc golf next to the entrance of the park. they should have a map to help navigate). Not fun after it rains very muddy and slick. Plus the folage gets thick in the middle of summer and in the fall with the leaves falling makes it tricky so be accurate or you'll be looking for your disc alot

Other Thoughts:

This course is the most challenging in the cedar rapids area so if you in town stop and play you will not regret it.
Thanks to the guys at titan disc golf shop and the people how helped
for making this course the best in town
Fyi the pictures on dg course reviewer have been updated for a wile so they won't help much
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
leftyhasrights
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun course, Needs "Next tee" signs. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice baskets, nice tee pads, If you're in the area and it's dry, this course offers fun disc golf.

Cons:

DANGEROUS when wet, and zero signs to where the next T pads are. We couldn't find hole 2? We played after it had rained and there were a few times we almost really hurt ourselves. Bridges were super slick and very loose mud in many areas. Staying off the beatn' path is advisable when it has recently rained or is raining.

Other Thoughts:

We played on a wet course and it also had rained on us. This added to the frustration of not knowing where the next tee box was. Had we played on a dry sunny day It most likely would have been a better experience. There we a lot of fun shots but was hard to get into a good shot with the t pads being being slick.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
RussMB
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.7 years 131 played 110 reviews
4.00 star(s)

An Iowa Gem!! Shaver is a must play! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

• Excellent course that is mostly wooded. Plays up into a bluff with spectacular scenery and tall cliffs
• The Titan Disc Golf Store is located at the entrance to the Park
• Teepads: Concrete, Tee signs,*numbering, some benches.
• Varying terrain that plays up and down hills through the woods.
• Tight lines that will require subtle finesse shots, without disappearing into the woods
• Risk/Rewards are plentiful here. You'll have multiple tee shots that require you to thread tight gaps right off the tee, as well as long distance tunnel shots. (I can't remember if it's 6 or 7, but the tee that throws over the trail is one of my favorites!)
• Control is Key here, though there are a few open field shots. Fairways can be slightly forgiving, to a degree, towards errant shots, you will find yourself throwing around some blind doglegs.
• Great Fun Factor and Healthy Challenge Factor
• Well designed layout here. No two fairways play the same, and there were no filler holes. The fairways were designed with purpose, strategy and challenge.
• Well maintained and attractive fairways. They have built up the fairways with the use of concrete, railroad ties, and other landscaping. Shaver Park has a great appearance and a great feel to the course and the trails around it.
• There is a cool view over the parking lot around #10. I didn't realize how high up I had gotten.

Cons:

• Navigation; It isn't terribly difficult, but it can throw a player at certain points. Next Tee signs would be extremely helpful on some of these hole transitions .
• Lack of a map; The course has been upgraded and holes have been rearranged. The maps haven't reflected this. I was able to figure out my next move, but on more than one occasion, I had to look for a couple of minutes.
• A few fairways do play close to each other. I think it was 12, comes down parallel to 18's fairway. My disc came down near a group of players on 18. I had no idea they were there, and they didn't see it coming.
• If it rains, it gets muddy and sloppy. I was slipping and sliding all over the place. Even unintentionally slid down a long pathway that went down a hill.

Other Thoughts:

Shaver Park is a fantastic Disc Golf course! Definitely a must play if you are in Iowa. Shaver Park will have you climbing up and down hills, throwing tight gaps, and working every throw in your arsenal. The first hole simply plays out to the road, and it will be your only open out of the woods shot. You'll know that it's going to be a fun ride as soon as you enter the woods on your way to the second teepad. There is nothing simple about Shaver Park and I cannot wait to return to play here again!

You'll be in the woods, under the canopy of the trees for most of the course. This should offer some relief during the hot days. I'm not going to say don't wear shorts, but my legs did get tore up on some of the plant life. I had a brush with something that didn't have any visible thorns, but immediately made my wrist itch something fierce! There aren't any gas stations or restaurants nearby, so make sure you've got some liquids before you arrive.

One last tip, my GPS took me to some back entrance that dead ends into to the park. I guess you could park there, because you'll see where one basket ends and another begins, but it's not the main entrance. Use the address to Titan Disc Golf. The store and the entrance to Hole #1 are right next to each other.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
mgsmarcus
Experience: 10 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 26, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I am a Beginner. Very Nice Course. Hilly Terrain. Good Variety All Wooded. small creek. dont worry about losing your disc in water. Pro shop nearby and is very helpful. Most holes are marked with good signage

Cons:

A ton of trees. Hit a least one tree per hole with a disc. Not a very easy course if our a beginner. Harder to play in late summer when the weeds grow tall

Other Thoughts:

Very nice challenging Course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
Razz
Experience: 21.2 years 37 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

home course review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 21, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is a great variety in shot selections that are needed/usefull off the pad.
Each hole is unique and usually plays differently after the tee shot each round.
Shot lines must be hit however, bad shots usually aren't overly punished.
Course is underpopulated unless it's league night.
There are many risk/reward baskets, especially 4, 5, 14, and 17. There are dangerous approaches on other holes as well but these stand out.
Best challenge in Cedar Rapids.
Punishing lines. You see what you want... can you throw it?
Disc golf shop at the entrance!!!
Bathrooms and water fountain in parking lot.
Playground out of errant discs way.
Local club appears committed to improving course.

Cons:

Lack of sinage. This course could use a major sign overhaul. Pamphlets at hole 1 would help.
Ample garbage cans seem to be ignored by discers and/or neglected by workers.
Hole 14 and 15 have reasonable chance of hitting people on hole 16's tee. There is a good fallen tree block but, still possible.
Parking. Although there is ample parking there is no warning on the west side of the lot that hole 17's tee pad can cause disc/car collisions.

Other Thoughts:

This is the course I've called home for several years. I both love and hate the wooded layout at different times. This course has undergone a series of changes for the better in recent years thanks to titan disc golf shop.

It's lopsided in scoring with the hardest holes being13, 17, 15, and 11.

If you are in Cedar Rapids play shaver. Wildcat is 30 miles away... PLAY IT!!!!, Shaver has been a solid good course for years and it keeps getting better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
MidwestZest
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.2 years 103 played 73 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Woods Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Bathrooms and water at beginning of course
- All baskets are very well marked and numbered. Yellow plastic around poles help visibility.
- Great elevation changes on this entire course.
- Good variety of shot shapes required, a few that an "S" drive is quite useful. Otherwise lots of reward for hitting your line, and have a few different tools in your bag.
- Not a lot of underbrush on this course, you pay for hitting a tree or missing your line, but you'll be able to find your disc, and find some sort of path back to the fairway, toward the basket.
- In general, I find most of the holes on this course to be fair, and not overly punishing. Never felt like I had to just plod along 75-100 ft at a time.
- Playing this course really is like a nice nature hike in the woods.
- #4 makes you split a 3 foot gap between trees right off the tee, followed by a putt/approach that, if you go long, sends you 20, 30, or 40 feet down a steep face. Sick.
- #15 & 16 play along and in a creek bed. Not much of a creek though, with the deepest water just being a couple inches, and no flow. Very cool couple of holes.

Cons:

- Erosion an issue on many holes, which is to be expected for the deep, wooded course it is. Very evident around some of the wooden stairways. Still seemed sturdy enough, but for how long?
- Signage is lacking. Much of it is out of date, many distances and pin placements are obviously incorrect.
- No map at the beginning of the course, or anything but the #1 basket to give you a clue that you're in the right spot.
- A few flow issues, no exactly evident where to go next, and I had to pull up the map on DGCR. (3-4, 9-10, 14-15). Some painted basket rungs would help out.
- Graffiti everywhere, sometimes on the signs.
- Nice amount of trash cans, but the days I went they were completely overflowing.
- It appears that a good portion of players park on the back side, and start on #14. Not a problem so long as people are courteous and wait for a gap in players, but you can't see #13 tee from #14 tee, to make sure you're not budding in. I'll bet this is frustrating when the course is packed.
- #7 tee is some sort of makeshift, paver pad, with inch gaps between the pavers.
- #16 tee is very much in line with a bad drive on #15 fairway. Wayward drive could get someone in the back if they weren't paying attention. They've piled some logs and sticks to help create a barrier, which is better than nothing I guess.

Other Thoughts:

- I very much enjoyed my time here. I played 3 times over a two day period, and enjoyed finding new lines and taking different approaches on holes.
- I played the course the couple days after a solid rain it was definitely playable, which somewhat surprised me.
- Accuracy is premium on most holes, not very many places to grip and rip.
- Nothing quite like a good round of wooded disc golf, listening to the thuds, thwacks, and cursing of other players on the course having just as rough of a time as you....great stuff.
- With great upkeep, paths, and good signage, this course could be a 4.5. Just not quite there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
haringj
Experience: 12.2 years 5 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best of CR-IC area? Possibly 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very fun course, well designed, fairly well maintained, can often spot deer.

Cons:

Lacks a little signage directing to locations of next hole -noted by ourselves as well as a couple other groups of newbies - and hole number/yardage posts are in need of new faces as some unreadable, some yardages are considerably off from tees having been moved.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
jacobsladder
Experience: 28.3 years 136 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Many challenging shots.
Nice tree cover that would provide plenty of shade in the summer.

Cons:

If played in the fall, you may lose a disc under all of the leaves

Other Thoughts:

Hole #1 was recently shut down because a child was hit with a disc on the playground nearby.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.6 years 1512 played 480 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Unshaven Shaver 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Decent homemade signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a map with plexi-glass protection.
2) The wooded areas on this course are very clean. There is very little underbrush or un-navigable rough. You should be able to throw a good recovery shot to get back on the fairway or near the basket in most portions of this course.
3) Mach baskets with the number plate (although number plate is missing on some).
4) Plenty of garbage cans and benches for those long rounds when the course is full.
5) Extremely mature tree help make this course what it is. There are some seriously old trees and still plenty of smaller ones that are growing underneath to replace the old ones as they die. This course should remain fun and challenging for a long time.
6) Yellow PVC around the poles help you find the Mach baskets in the woods.
7) There is a major drainage slough that runs through the elevated portion of this course which must be a major feed for the surrounding community. I imagine it ends up in the river which is just across the road from the course. I imagine it might be flowing with water in spring, but after the drought we had this summer it was dry.
8) Excellent use of elevation on this course which is always a fun combination with mature heavily wooded courses.
9) Very diverse shot making needed here with some holes going both ways and a couple holes needing a double breaking disc.
10) Hole #5 is sadistic and I love it. No margin for error.
11) Excellent distance variation is a great source of adding variety and challenge.

Cons:

1) This is definitely a course you might want to consider avoiding when it is wet. There is a lot of bare soil all through the course which would be slick when wet.
2) Compaction from a lot of use has lead to erosion and the poor surface conditions on much of this course.
3) Hole #1 is currently missing unfortunately.
4) There are some pretty dangerous steps on this course, which happens over time. I like to see things done properly even though it costs more money and time. It is more sustainable and something I think we (as a sport) need to be paying attention to.
5) A directional would be helpful on a few spots to direct you to the next tee. It is hard to figure it out for the first time through because there are no clear paths with the ground being bare everywhere.
6) There are a couple spots where holes come very close to other holes. Hole #16 fairway passes #17 tee very closely and could easily be seen as a danger spot.

Other Thoughts:

This course is open from 6AM to 10PM. There is a pro shop right next to the course. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Cedar Rapids and Shaver was the highlight of the ones I played. It has a little of everything and will never leave you bored or feeling like you own the course! Judging on the disc golf alone this course deserves a 4 disc rating for sure, but because of the erosion, compaction, and some poorly constructed stairs, and a few dangerous pinch points I want to give this a 3.75. I simply cannot drop the overall rating to a 3.5 because the disc golf is just too good and too enjoyable. So I am giving this a 4.00 even though I consider it on the very low end of the 4.00 rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
HamNThemGoinHam
Experience: 24.9 years 9 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I've grown up by Shaver my whole life and was excited when they added a disc golf course there back in the day. I've watched it evolve and loved playing it my whole life. It's always offered a challenge in the way of trees and varying shots (although fh or bh works on nearly any hole). All in all I think it's the best and most challenging in Cedar Rapids.
In the past year they've changed the course plenty. While some of the changes are for the better, some I feel are not.
Some of the better changes recently have been the addition of a new 18 and an extension of 15 and 17 a year or so I believe. They've added a total of 4 new holes and recently added wood stairs to 7a and 18 along with a dirt platform for the pin on 5 which can save your ass from rolling down the hill.

Cons:

Some of these changes have not been totally for the better however. With the addition of these newer holes came the subtraction of two old holes and the combining of 13 and 14. Most recently has been the loss of the basket on hole 1 which is a staple for the start of the course. I say the more holes the merrier.
The only problem with the new 7a and b are the fact that they don't lead back to the rest of the course well. This forces you to take a steep deer trail to the next hole.

Other Thoughts:

Don't forget to bring a towel as there is a dirty dirty creek running through the course.
Also make sure to watch out for people cutting across the field from the disc golf shop to 3 as we've been budged in front of numerous times only to be stuck waiting behind groups.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top