• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Minneapolis (New Hope), MN

Sunnyside Park

Permanent course
2.465(based on 25 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Sunnyside Park reviews

Filter
1 0
austinwilliamdg
Experience: 10 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Sunnyside Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

• Practice basket
• Multiple ace runs
• Variety of length
• Plays very fast
• Concrete tees
• Some elevation changes

Cons:

• Close to roads on some holes
• Close to houses/building on some holes
• 3/4 can be confusing
• Lack of difficulty for more experienced players, #3 for example
• Course is condensed, some fairways are very close to other holes
• Nasty water hazard

Other Thoughts:

A very quick 9-hole course. Good for beginner and intermediate. Don't expect too much of a challenge. Good warm up for courses nearby
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
bukosknr
Experience: 9.1 years 59 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Variety, Short and Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Concrete Tee Boxes
-Practice Basket
-Has some challenge
-Variety of holes, you can use a few different discs
-Quiet and usually very low traffic of people
-Ace shots are available everywhere
-Great for beginner players

This course is one that I often drive past and stop to play a quick relaxing round. Its not just a wide open pitch and putt, there is some challenge. Some play through the woods a bit, while others are more open in a field. There is some elevation changes as well, especially on hole 9.

Tee boxes are in great shape and are concrete. It would be nice to see some of them swept a bit, especially over on hole 5 where the mud can collect but overall they are really nice.

Cons:

-Can be wet at times, especially after rains at hole 1 and 6.
-If busy you can be throwing at people because it plays so close
-Close to some houses on 3,4
-Close to the road on 2,6,7,9
-The pond is very nasty
-Almost zero markings

As a beginner the longer holes can prove challenging to get up to, and throwing over the water can be rough. If you go in the water you aren't going after your disc, that thing is pretty nasty, and its deep.

I have hit the road a few times, with some friends a close call or two with cars has happened. After just one or two times I learned they layout pretty easy, but a few markings wouldn't hurt.

Other Thoughts:

When its really windy a few of the holes are kind of wide open for the wind to really move your disc.

Over all I really like this course, I think its fun and a bit challenging at the same time. It offers up some easy holes and some more difficult ones that make starting players want to come back an more experienced players can still have some challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Muskiebite
Experience: 14.2 years 174 played 29 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Making the best with little to work with 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Practice Basket
-Plays fast
-Concrete Tees
-Ace runs on most holes

Cons:

-Plays close to residential houses where the wind or a grip lock disc could easily send a disc into someones yard or worse.
-Most holes are wide open, and the only 2 which aren't play extremely short
- Very tight course where fairways and opposite baskets are played extremely close together

Other Thoughts:

This course tries to make the best of what it has, holes 1-5 basically all play together in one long chain heading south, and then 6-9 all play north back to the hole one. This creates many areas where you are throwing near opposite fairways and baskets. The walk from 7-8 you walk directly across hole 2's fairway. While hole 2 is the longest hole on the course it also plays very close to neighboring houses. I was out with a group and on more than one occasion a disc was picked up by the wind and was sent sailing towards the home, we were lucky and they were stopped before hitting a home but it was too close for comfort.
I noticed others complained about the stinky gross water on 5, when I was there the water was cystal clear, but that might be because it is early in the season. A thing to note is the water is instantly deep, so even if your disc is right next to the bank I had to reach in almost to my shoulder to grab my disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
THUGNIFICENT763
Experience: 22.4 years 97 played 6 reviews
2.00 star(s)

BEWARE THE STENCHPOND 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 24, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is always a good time, hole 2 provides a good opportunity to air out your big boy plastic. This course has a nice flow to it, rarely will you find yourself stuck behind a slow group.

Cons:

The cesspool that comes into play on holes 4, 5 and 6 is beyond raunchy. It has a stench that could gag a maggot. Also, they ruined hole 3 by removing all of the trees and shortening to 100 or so ft, saddens me. Also, the road can be a bad time if you can't control your plastic.

Other Thoughts:

This course is all fun and games until you lose one in the stinkpond. Many aceable holes here, I have gotten em on 1, 3(old and new config), 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. The locals here are awesome, I always seem to join up with a random or two here, the people are just that friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
aajpity
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 64 played 21 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-The course is easy to find once you get off the main road.
-Friendly people
-Well kept

Cons:

-Very deep pond on hole 4, 5, 6. BE CAREFUL!
-Car is sometimes parked very close to hole 5 basket.
-Very easy course.
-Not easy to navigate initially.

Other Thoughts:

This course isn't bad but it's not good either. Just like Wirth Par, it isn't worth the time to go out here if your looking for a challenge. It's well kept and the people are nice making it an enjoyable experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Dr.feelgood
Experience: 13.1 years 30 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- good range of distances
-couple of wooded shots

Cons:

- really wet in places
- sinkhole in the middle of the course
- kind of easy to hit peoples houses or apartments

Other Thoughts:

Hole 2 is pretty difficult but hole 3 is almost a guaranteed bird
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
sheepweevil
Experience: 16.3 years 31 played 22 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a short 9 hole course in a city park, with small elevation changes and one small water hazard that comes into play on two holes.

The park is clean, and seems to be in a good part of town. The area it's in is strictly disc golf, so there's a low chance of hitting pedestrians.

The teepads are concrete, fairly nice and level. The baskets are in good condition.

There are two holes, 4 and 7, which have trees to add some moderate difficulty. The rest are fairly wide open.

All things considered, this is a nice beginner course that provides some light difficulty with trees and water on a few holes. Nice for a quick half hour round.

Cons:

The layout is slightly confusing, since it's in a long, skinny plot of land and crosses back on itself a couple times.

Much of the course is right next to a road; you often need to wait for cars to clear before driving.

The signage is only wooden posts with hole number, and some holes are missing the posts.

There are no bathrooms (though it's so short this shouldn't be an issue). There are only one or two trash cans.

The water hazard is slimy and filled with algae.

All of the holes are straight, with no dog legs. Hole 2 sticks out like a sore thumb, being over 100 feet longer than the next longest on the course.

Other Thoughts:

It looks like the course layout is being updated. The teepad for hole 3 has been moved closer, making the hole around 100 feet. I believe the plan is to remove hole 3 and make hole 4 longer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
ABL Frolf
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

straight forward 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Really straight forward course.
-Easy for beginners, not totally lame for intermediate players.
-Variety of shots, mostly open and through some woods.
-Only 1 water hazard troublesome for 2 holes. Full of diseased water.
-The police will tell you when the park closes and when there is dangerous weather coming.
-Good to play through twice.

Cons:

-Only 1 water hazard troublesome for 2 holes. Full of diseased water.
-Kind of short.
-The police will tell you when the park closes.
-Quebec avenue is right along holes 2, 6, 7, and 9. Avoid hitting cars. But fear not, there is never much traffic.
-Usually lots of people.

Other Thoughts:

-Even though there is a fenced house with a "beware of dogs" sign, the dogs are quite friendly.
-Quebec Avenue makes for an interesting out of bounds marker.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Deadbishop
Experience: 28.3 years 6 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun, quick game! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I have a soft spot for Sunnyside. It's a small course, but it makes for a nice, quick game when you don't have all day to be out playing. Has some decent technical holes with obstacles. You can play this course on your lunch break!

Cons:

My favorite hole, #3, was destroyed by the city recently. I aced this hole twice when it was in it's full glory. Now all the trees are gone, and it's just a short, boring drive.

Other Thoughts:

I like that this course has a practice basket off to the side of hole #1. Surprisingly, this course can get backed up occasionally, so it's a good way to practice putting while waiting your turn.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
deadbody
Experience: 20.4 years 152 played 68 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice concrete tees and good baskets. some elevation and water.

Cons:

Short. Some holes are a bit tight to each other. Water is disgusting.

Other Thoughts:

Not a bad little local 9 hole, for the space the designer had he did the best he could. Not really worth a special trip, but if you are nearby it's worth a stop for a quick round, or a good warm-up before heading to Plymouth Creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Badgerman
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 551 played 62 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 20, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) Good use of limited space. This course is 3 city blocks long and 1 block wide, but still manages to have a fair amount of variety in the fairways.

2) Good warm-up for Plymouth Creek Or Basset Creek.

Cons:

1) The water hazard is just a drainage ditch filled with nasty, stagnant water.

2) They cut down half of the trees on hole 3, turning the former signature hole into an easy little ace run.

Other Thoughts:

With the space the designers had to work with they did a fairly good job, but this course really isn't worth going out of the way to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Kind Of A Ghetto Feel ! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Sunnyside Park is a long narrow park. The course plays five one way and then four holes back crossing through a wooded area and over a nasty ditch/creek along the way. Although the houses that border the park look fairly well kept, the park just had this grungy feel to it. I guess I'm basing most of this on the fact that every teepad had been spraypainted with ugly gang grafitti crap. Also everything was saturated after recent heavy, heavy rains.
The course itself plays to the beginner/Rec level with a couple of interesting holes.
I personally liked # 1 where you were throwing to the basket which is just barely hidden down in the woods.

To bad they lost the # 3 mando trees. Everyone seems a little bummed out about that.

Cons:

Grafitti teepads.
Minimal challenge.
Ugly swampy ditch water to lose discs in.
I don't see the street as a OB problem here as the traffic would be visible coming and going. Duh-Don't throw into the traffic!

Other Thoughts:

If I lived across the street, I'd play this course all the time. If I lived any further, I'd probably find other better options around the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
a_beautifulplace
Experience: 21.3 years 36 played 8 reviews
2.00 star(s)

MEH 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Very easy
-Quick play through
-Nice putting practice hole.
-Never too busy
-Pretty clean
-Wide open shots
-Decent little flow
-Great place to warm up for the day or play night disc
-Hole two is a pretty awesome and challenging shot

Cons:

-Lack of variety in shots needed
-When it rains hole one turns into a big lake
-The water hazard on four can be a major pain in the ass to get a disc out of, even if it is on the edge
-This course really is pretty boring

Other Thoughts:

I've probably just played this course too many times, but I find it to be extremely boring and easy. Nothing has changed in at least seven years (except for sawing down mando trees).
I've played this course several times at night and it's pretty fun. Other than that, I usually only play this course if I am waiting for someone or are wanting to warm up a bit. Id say, check this little course out, for sure, but don't come from afar to see "stoner park".
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
D21thorpe
Experience: 13 played 13 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Stange but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Not normally busy. You wont find yourself behind large groups or infront of a group constantly throwing at your heels.

Cons:

Not horribly challenging. The whole course is played in a straigt line so you don't have a lot of hooks right or left, and the road can do damage to your disc.

Other Thoughts:

Will often times play this in between playing Zachary Field and Bassett Creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Spiky
Experience: 36.1 years 109 played 9 reviews
1.50 star(s)

#3 is gone. :( 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Variety. I've always liked this course, although my first con below has tempered my interest greatly.

#2 is quite long, and #9 I can't quite reach in one throw, so both of those are great for launching a disc.

It's nice for a quick round.

Cons:

What I would call its signature hole was destroyed recently. #3 was a mando down a double row of trees. The mando was just to go between the first pair of trees, but I played it as if the entire row was a mando. The trees are almost all gone, now, as is the mando. (they were diseased, I believe, standard procedure to trash them) I was there a few weeks ago and the pin for 3 was also gone, although I think that may just have been for maintenance.

The small water hazard seems to attract more than its fair share of discs for its size on holes 4-6. It's like a magnet, almost everyone in my group has lost a disc there. And the water has nowhere to go, being just runoff. So it is nasty and I won't set foot in it, or let my kids. Some go in there, including neighbor kids sometimes. I think they're nuts.

Other Thoughts:

Try not to hit the apartment building at the south end on #5. Luckily some of the windows have bars, or I probably would have put my disc in someone's kitchen a couple years ago with a bad shank to the right. (you want the rattle of chains, not the clang of iron bars on your drive)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
chad-o
Experience: 14.9 years 7 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

grip it and rip it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 3, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

good holes for beginers or veterans. A couple long holes that give your arm a test and a couple that give your short game a work out.

Cons:

a couple holes cross over each other,hole eight throws toward two and 5,6, and7 are a little close.

Other Thoughts:

For a smaller park with houses all along one side and a little busier road on the other it could be worse.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun 9 in the cities 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Tees and baskets are in good shape. Both are numbered so you know which tee and basket to use on each hole.
-Lots of chances for aces. Many people have signed the poles with hole numbers on many holes.
-Good course flow, I found my way around very quickly with no help.
-Gotta go gotta throw is only a few miles away.
-Competetive league every week with tourneys held regularily.
-Land is used well. Pond and trees come into play on as many holes as possible. Very well designed course.
-Fairly beginner friendly with short holes and not too challenging obstacles.
-Only chance to lose discs is the pond but that can be avoided without too much effort.
-No bathroom that I could see.
-Garbage cans keep this course pretty clean.

Cons:

-Only distance on two holes.
-Small parking area fills fast but area streets can be used as well.
-No course map, hole signs or next tee signs.
-Not alot of challenge.

Other Thoughts:

This course has been here for awhile and it has a good feel about it. The locals are nice and knowledgeable and you will see all skill levels playing here. Gotta Go Gotta Throw is a great shop and is maybe 5 miles from this course. This course isnt very challenging but you will still have fun with it at any skill level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
JSL5000
Experience: 28.2 years 33 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice quick play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beginner friendly, but still has some challenges for more advanced players (distance, trees and water). A few technical holes and a few longer ones. (1, 2 and 9 are the longest, but they are almost completely wide open)

Makes the most of the area. There's a couple wooded holes (3 - kind of but they cut down the big mando trees, 4 - short hallway shot with a pond behind the hole and 7 - a bunch of trees to try and dodge on your way to the basket) and 3 holes where the small pond comes into play. (4 - if you overshoot the hole, 5 - if you shoot too low or toss it straight in the air and 6 - if you sky a hyzer or go short and left)

Course doesn't seem to get too busy and the flow is pretty good, especially considering the fairly small piece of land.

Locals seem friendly. You will often see some people trying to fish discs out of the nasty pond. One group found my disc that I lost on the previous round (which actually skipped out of the pond and I didn't see it) and returned it to me, no questions asked.

Nice concrete teepads and the baskets are nice. Fairways seem to be mowed regularly.

Not a lot of litter. There are a few garbage cans.

Easy to get in a round (of 9) in less than 30 minutes, even with a fair amount of course traffic.

Cons:

It's a pretty easy course, as long as you avoid the water.

The water is nasty and unfortunately, it is fairly easy to end up in there.

Many wide open holes with not much between you and the hole.

Can throw into the neighbor's yard (which I've done) and maybe it's just me, but I really shanked a drive onto the top of an office building next to hole 9. They were nice enough to retrieve my disc from the roof though!

Might take players new to the course a little searching or asking around to find holes 2 (past the woods behind 1, along the road), 8 (past the number 3 teebox) and 9 (head back around the woods and the tee is to the right of the #1 basket).

Not exactly scenic, but what can you do in the middle of the city?

Other Thoughts:

You can park near hole one, right on the street.

There is a road that lines a few holes, but it's not too heavily traveled, so you shouldn't have too much worry about your disc getting flattened, but the road will probably take a nice bite out of it.

I enjoy this course. It's not too challenging, so it's not frustrating, unless you should happen to toss a disc into the nasty little pond. It's probably not worth a long drive, but if you're in the area, it's a fun play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Moptop88
Experience: 17.3 years 15 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice Inner-city Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Easily accessable in the Robbinsdale, Crystal, New Hope area
-Concrete tee boxes
-Small water hazard in play on holes 5 & 6 (Don't go in after discs, the water is filthy)
-Hole 3 can be played with mando's
-Holes 3,4, and 7 are wooded


Cons:

-Not very challenging for experienced players
-Not much distance on holes (1,2, and 9 are the longest)
-Original mando's on hole 3 were removed last year (2007-2008)

Other Thoughts:

What you see with Sunnyside is what you get, nothing more, nothing less. While not necessarily being worth while for experienced players to frequent, for less than talented players, it offers a convenient spot to develop and hone your skills.
If you live in the area, it's definitely a place to play and practice. If you're not from the area, you aren't missing a whole lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
kgibbs
Experience: 16.3 years 9 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 29, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

For a smaller course, Sonnyside has a good variety of holes. Trees, a water hazard and blind shots all come into play on this course.

The cement tees and good pins are a plus for a small course like this too. The park was fairly clean when I was there as well.

If you live in the area, it's definitely a quick, fun play.

Cons:

The one water hazard that plays into a couple holes is not some place you'd want to go looking for your disc in; it's pretty gross. There are also a couple tees right along the road, but traffic is rarely heavy there.

Not a whole lot of challenge, even a decent player should be able to par 3 most if not all the holes.

Other Thoughts:

It's too bad there doesn't really seem to be enough room to expand it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top