• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Carmel, IN

The Hill @ Northview Church

3.365(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

The Hill @ Northview Church reviews

Filter
6 1
Corack
Experience: 13 years 105 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great 18 Hole Park Bring your Arm and Legs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 9, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great Signage on the course. Tees are small markers in the grass however they cut the grass to leave a high line of grass around the tee markers and marking the 30 foot putting range from the basket. Nice well maintained multi use facility.

Cons:

Very Minor Con: some more signs in parking areas pointing to start of course.
The signs could use a little better indicators of where the sign post is in relation to the
tee pad markers. Also there could be a little clearer indication on each hole as to which
basket position is currently being used.

Other Thoughts:

Hole 1 Opening throw down thru a couple trees guarding against high shots.

Hole 2 Up and over the hill just out of sight and slightly to the left.

Hole 3 Short throw down clean fairway lined with trees to a basket slightly to the left and guarded by trees.

Hole 4 Another short throw past some trees guarding the midpoint, slightly to the left.

Hole 5 Downward throw thru and alley of trees and to the left.

Hole 6 Distance throw across the open field, pretty standard and level.

Hole 7 slight uphill throw with basket tucked behind some trees.

Hole 8 Open field throw slightly uphill.

Hole 9 Little more advanced over crest of hill and down behind a tree. Across a little water.

Hole 10 Hike up the Hill and throw down and to the left, Couple trees at midpoint.

Hole 11 Throw back up the hill, clear with no trees in the way.

Hole 12 Back down the hill, guarded by a small group of trees midway.

Hole 13 Throwing thru the evergreens to a hidden basket in the middle of a group of evergreens.

Hole 14 Field Shot.

Hole 15 Downhill throw into open field.

hole 16 Throw past a row of trees and slightly to the right.

Hole 17 Toss back up hill, technical shot to a basket tucked tight behind an old tree.

Hole 18 Last uphill shot around a bushy tree at the midway point.

I Will defiantly play this course again if given the chance. It requires a lot of walking and gives some good tree lined shots to challenge a newer player. More experience players can work on their distance shots
here but may not find as much of a challenge. All the nice people we met that day played from the red tee box. Given how much time we spent looking for the blue tee box I can understand why.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
johnnyq77
Experience: 14.2 years 4 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Great New Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 5, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There are several types of holes, whether going uphill downhill, out in the open, or in the trees, which will test all of your disc golf abilities. I live close to it, and I think it is a fantastic addition to the Indianapolis area. It is easily accessible to the public and adds good variety to the courses in the area because of the unique scenarios you will be faced with. I always have a great time going there, and it always gives me a good challenge.

Cons:

There are no concrete tee pads, so if the ground is wet, expect to slip on your tee shots. Along with that, I think that the red tees are too easy, and the blue tees are too hard, and requires a lot more skill to go from the red tees to the blue tees than Dillon Park, which is just down the road. When on top of the hill, do not mistake a pin for another hole as the pin for the hole you are on. Lastly, although there are different looking holes, a lot of them are very far, and that can get boring and tiring after a while.

Other Thoughts:

It is less than 2 miles down the road from Dr. James A. Dillon Park so it is easy to do both courses in 1 day very easily. Also, the walk from #9 to #10 is long and uphill, but that is just me complaining because I'm lazy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
chrismetken
Experience: 14.2 years 17 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Classic Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 24, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is so much varitey on the course from shots in the woods to long open holes. The baskets are new and in amazing shape and the grounds are groomed perfectly. Each pin is surronded by a "putting circle" similar to a green in ball golf. The course has several changes in elevation ranging from long downhill shots along with raging uphill holes. The course offers two tees, red and blue, and two pin positions a and b. There are bathrooms on the 1st and 14th holes. There are maps posted on a pole at every red tee box and signs are present throughout the course to direct you along.

Cons:

The major con to the course is that there is no concrete tee pads. Some people enjoy the grass tee pads which are marked by two minis staked into the ground but of course most of us want concrete tees. The walk from hole 4 to 5 and from 9 to 10 could be a bit confusing on your first round and from 16 to 17 you have to backtrack quite a long way. Some holes seem to be designed a bit lazy but this does offer much variety.

Other Thoughts:

All in all Northview is a great course. Park near the big building int he back with the orange palm trees and look at the large map to find the first tee off to the left. There is a cross country course that runs near several holes so look out for the runners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
zud00
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 202 played 47 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The Church on the Hill 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

*Course has nice signs and baskets
*Alternate tee areas and basket positions
*Elevation comes into play, but mostly on holes 10-18
*A few holes with the challenge of finding a line between some tighter trees
*Many holes were long for those who enjoy airing it out
*Very nice and inviting facility with other activities
*Course is well taken care of and manicured
*Restrooms (porta-potties) located in a few spots throughout the course

Cons:

*Grass tees, although I don't mind them, they are difficult to find. They are identified by two little 3" circles flush with the ground, making it difficult to find. However, most tee areas were flat or nearly flat despite being on "the hill."
*No trash cans on the couse
*Very little challenge other than distance at this course, most holes were mostly open

Other Thoughts:

It was nice to play a course with some length, but that's mostly all this course had to offer, there really were no technically demanding shots. The elevation in the hill added some diversity and of course all the downhill shots were fun, it was the ones coming back up that were a challenge, mostly because it included a tough walk up the hill.

If anything, this course will give your legs and arm a workout, it will most likely not improve your game to much unless you need to work on really long putts (50-90')as most holes are long enough to leave a long putt for a player with a big arm.

The course is only 5 minutes from Dillon, so you should definitley check it out. Allow yourself for probably an hour and a half (solo) for the first time. You will spend some time searching for tees and the hike up and down the hill is tiring.

I find it hard to believe this course is nearly rated a 4. It does not have the TECHNICALLITY required, in my opinion, to be worthy of a 4. Some of the these reviewers need to get out and play a championship calibur course and see what a 4.5 or 5 rated course really is like...that's just my 2 cents. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice course with nice features, but it's not
Phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
astomps
Experience: 13 years 76 played 42 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-great area to play at
-land is very hilly therefore lots of elevation changes
-variety in shot choices (blind, rhbh, rhfh favored, rollers etc)
-small shop with an innova display at the host Church
-Evergreen trees on one hole
-well maintained

Cons:

-Some tees are hard to see in grass
-several open air holes that on windy days could be frustrating
-some hole/next tees are very close together which could be dangerous if groups are playing back-to-back and not paying attention

Other Thoughts:

One thing I would like more of is trees, just to cut down on open air. Just a great course in general though that still seems very young. Backing church seems to have a lot of money to spend as well, could imagine more holes coming in future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
duckkiller73
Experience: 19.1 years 13 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-GREAT SIGNS! From the one at the beginning where we parked to each tee the signs were excellent.
-2 tee's. That was nice. I threw from the short ones and thought they played nice, but the long ones did change the way a few of the holes played.
-2 pin locations. I played the B pins. I am wanting to come back to play the A pins.
-Beautiful atmosphere. Everyone seemed friendly and did not act like we were in the way or anything, even if they weren't playing disc golf.
-Lots of other things to do.

Cons:

-Open holes. There were a lot of open shots. I wasn't forced to shape very many shots at all. May not be a bad thing for some, but I really like the challenge and demand of a forced shot on some holes throughout a course.
-No trash cans. The course was pretty clean, but when we had finished our drinks and snacks we had no where to put the trash.
-Maps. The map sign at the beginning was beautiful, but there needed to be something I could bring with me to find my way around. We struggled getting started, but then it flowed pretty well.
-Grass Tee's. Maybe not a con to some, but I like to tee off from concrete or something with a bit more grip than grass.

Other Thoughts:

-Bring your energy. This course demands a nice walk. We played 3 other courses the day I played it and it was by far the most demanding terrain. There was a slight walk between holes, but I found that beneficial because we never felt like other golfers were throwing upon us!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
AdamE
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.8 years 267 played 148 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Hill has discatcher baskets, nice tee signs and elevation changes on most holes. There are two sets of tees on every hole which caters to a larger variety of skill levels. The course has grass tees marked with something that looks similar to colored mini's. There were no roots, no signs of erosion and the tee area's were pretty flat so they didn't bother me at all.

The course plays through some large mature trees with virtually no undergrowth to worry about. While the course is more open, it uses what trees there are well.

Cons:

While I don't mind the grass tees, it was a problem trying to find the tee area. For the most part the red (short) tees were pretty close to the tee sign, but the blue (long) tees were rather difficult to find. Some of the tees aren't quite pointing in the right direction. I threw at the wrong basket on holes 1 and 18, and had to inspect a few others to make sure I was throwing at the right one. Navigating the course wasn't incredibly easy at first, but then I noticed the "next tee" on the tee signs which helped. I ran into a local who joined me after two holes. He'd played the course 5 times and still had trouble finding things occasionally.

While the tee signs are nice, the aren't always a very accurate representation of the hole. They didn't help a lot trying to find the blue tees. The distances on a number of holes is longer than advertised. I'd say some of them are around 50-75 feet off, but that's just an educated guess.

The course has little diversity.

There are only 3 holes I would consider wooded. About half the course is wide open or only has one tree strategically placed in the way.

There's no shot diversity either. I think 18 was the only hole I threw a turnover shot. Hole 4 looks like a turnover shot at first, but the line there is a big hyzer shot over the top.

The pins were in the B position when I played here and even for a guy with a fairly big arm, many of these holes are out of reach for a birdie (despite what the distance on the sign says) so it quickly became a par fest. But of course none of the holes are long enough to be called a par 4 either.

Other Thoughts:

My low rating of this course compared with the current course rating might be unpopular, but I have to call it like I see it. And after playing 118 courses, I feel I have a broad enough view of courses to disagree with the current course rating of 4.00 on 11 reviews and believe I have made a strong enough case to support my rating.

Overall this is a beautiful piece of property and it appears the church takes pride in keeping everything looking nice. Unfortunately the course is long, mostly open and monotonous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
Discalier
Experience: 40 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Hill 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Lots of elevation changes. It's the highest point in Carmel, IN. The pin placement makes for much of the difficulty, as a lot of them are placed behind and around trees.

Cons:

The first 5 holes are not long, but VERY wooded. The mosquitos will kill you on the front 9. No concrete pads, so make sure to bring a good pair of shoes or you'll be slipping and sliding on your drives.

Other Thoughts:

Is a good change-up from the other courses in the area. Beautiful course, but not the most difficult.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Victory33
Experience: 17 years 17 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 27, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Elevation! This course with some fun elevation. Nothing too crazy, but the layout is great. There are open holes, wooded holes, uphill shots, downhill shots, dogleg holes...it's got a fair amount of variety. The baskets are all Innova and great quality. The course was well maintained and being mowed while I played, the in and out of bounds were clearly marked with bushes. Should be pretty hard to lose a disc on this course, even in the wooded area. I noticed alternate basket locations as well, which is always a plus for variety.

The course takes you around a great plot of beautiful land and leaves you near where you started. Most holes were very fun and manageable for par or birdies....with a few ace possibilities. Place nearby to buy discs as well if always a plus.

Great location in good area, not far from Dillion park if you want to get 18 holes in.

Cons:

Signage got confusing my first time, but should be easy next time. Red and Blue tees were sometimes hard to find due to lack of concrete. Course is also used as Cross Country course, which isn't horrible unless you have to wait to tee off. Don't like the 8pm closing time when the sun stays out until 9 in the summer.

I couldn't see the basket from quite a few tee pads, I had to walk around to find where I was shooting to. In time that won't be a big deal, but it's not always awesome shooting blind at a basket. Course could have used a few more wooded holes in the front 9.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, my new favorite course near Indianapolis. I really appreciate the church building this course and can't wait to play there some more. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
Chainrattler
Experience: 14 years 129 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Expertly Designed and Going to Be better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is layed on a prime piece of land. The course is expertly maintained. The design with am and pro tees is sweet. Im sure teepads will be poured, so don't get all nasty about that. This is a new course and a work in progress. The use of the elevation and already mature trees is nothing less than brilliant. Appr. 4 of the teeshots are blind since the pins are tucked behind evergreens or other types od mature tees. The use of the creek on 9 makes it a great challenge. The rolling hills of the back 9 and the monster drives you need to score well is not for babies. This course is a premier course for the Indy area, and has an excellent future. The Northview campus has a nice cafe and eatery. The bookstore also sells discs. Overall the pros of this course is a wonderful representation of disc golf.

Cons:

If I could change something I would dig out a pond and let it come into play. That would also add to the already beautiful landscape.

Other Thoughts:

It is my opinion this course along with Dillon is setting a standard and a bar that other courses in the Indy area and other growing disc golf cities are paling in comparison to. I've only been playing 1 year but I'm a diehard player already with 40 courses under my belt, and I think it's awesome to see our area of the state and midwest putting in some courses that anyone who is a lover of the game would respect. The Hill is an ultimate representation of where this great sport is heading.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
jcfluhr
Experience: 6 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great addition to Indy area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun new course in Carmel. Bring your walking shoes, you'll need them. Lots of elevation and big arms will come in handy on this one.

Cons:

Not a ton of variety.

Other Thoughts:

Worth the drive over to Carmel to play. It's at a church so check their schedule of events. Friendly atmosphere. Great area of town.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
kevinp
Experience: 15.3 years 9 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

One of the most diverse in Central Indiana 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a great new course that should only get better with time! Plays up and down some of the most varied rolling hills in the area. Several of the first 4-5 holes are fairly short holes, favoring shot placement over power, with baskets placed among strategically placed trees. The back 9 is more open, but still plays short enough for a beginner or an average arm to be successful. The grass tees are in great shape, time will tell how they'll hold up to constant traffic. All in all, this has quickly become one of my favorite courses within an hour drive for me!

Cons:

Signage isn't always clear, mainly on the wooded holes where the next tee is not visible. Initially threw at basket #9 from the first tee, instead of basket #1. Once we got started, we didn't have too much trouble. The walk from #9 to the #10 tee can easily cross the fairway for #1, so be careful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
ZipperBlueZ
Experience: 20.9 years 12 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A beautiful thing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 27, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

expertly designed, professionally maintained, extremely challenging without the punishment of losing a disc due to a slightly misplaced shot, beautiful grounds (this can't be stressed enough). Very long course with pro and beginner tees, dual pin placement adds variety to a course that is already dripping with it. Wide, clearly defined grass tee boxes and greens with manicured borders.

Cons:

3 of the holes on the front 9 are very buggy on hot days. The signage is unclear.

Other Thoughts:

This course will quickly become known as the premiere disc golf course in central Indiana. No other course I have played can compare to it's variety, it's elevation changes, it's manicured tees and greens, and overall ambition. Only 2 of the 18 holes on this course can be described as anything other than fantastic (2 holes on the front 9 are flat and straight-forward). Having an arsenal of shots and discs at your disposal are a must to birdie most holes and the few that require power over finesse do require quite a big arm. I suppose a few discs could be lost due to errant throws on holes 3-5, but you don't have to brace yourself for the inevitable loss of a beloved disc when you play here (anyone who plays James Dillon park regularly knows what I mean). Go play this course ASAP. You will not be disappointed.

Oh, and I have heard no talk whatsoever of the proposed "Super Pro" tees. Many of the holes are already at the extremities of the usable property.


*Full Disclosure: I am a volunteer who has been mowing this course for the last 2+ months. I have tried to be objective....but not very hard. Hi Marcia!*
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 3
Matthew boals
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.2 years 283 played 65 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gradually Longer & Tougher 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 13, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

First, and foremost, the Topography! For mostly flat central Indiana it is unique to have such a beautiful piece of land for DG. Constant rolling mounds and hills with grassy fairways and mature growth throughout. Professionally maintained grounds only adds to the enjoyment of the course. ALL Tees now are Concrete!, Two tees & Two pin placements for the DISCatchers per hole-moved approx. every month. Very nice color tee signs-located on the red tees,with all needed info.,including "next tee". A few roll-a-way greens-depending on pin locations. 3 "tech" holes-#3,#4 and #5-from the blue tee, is the only tunnel shot. #6,#8,#15 are the open "Let it rip" holes with wind being the only obstacle. #9 is the only water hole with a 75'x15' nasty little marsh. This may be extended into #8 fairway in the future. Holes 10-18 has the most drastic elevation changes. All but one hole has mature trees with no underbrush. Novice & Intermediate players will have fun going for aces. But only advanced and true pros will be hitting them,due to perfectly placed pin locations.

Cons:

No Trash cans-bring it in, take it out! Benches-just two or three would be great, Especially on the back 9.

Other Thoughts:

Enter off Hazel Dell,south of 131st St. Between the softball fields,to "The Barn". The front 9 holes are more rolling mounts than hills.The front 9 RED tees play just under 200',when in the "A" placement. Perfect for kids,families and new players. The front 9 BLUE tees play an avg. 285', when in the "A" placement. Which makes for a great avg. for the kids & new players to take that first step in testing their game. It's an ego boost for most other players. The front 9 RED tees play an avg. 235', when in the "B" placement. This configuration, on some holes, makes for tougher putts. The front 9 BLUE tees play an avg. 317', when in the "B" placement. The back 9 holes are more rolling hills than mounts. RED tees play an avg. 250', when in the "A" placement. The back 9 RED tees play an avg. 273', when in the "B" placement. The back 9 BLUE tees avg. 345',when in the "A" placement. The back 9 BLUE tees avg. 383', when in the "B" placement. This configuration is not only the longest, but also has the most drastic elevation changes. The first few times you play use a spotter! on holes #2-from the blue tee. #4 if the DISCatcher is in the "B" placement. #5 from the blue tee. Better safe than sorry! The Cross country course runs close to the holes. More trees have been planted and are planned over the coming years. better directional signs are too. Until then turn right after #2, walk over the cross country course to get to #3. From #3 DISCatcher go left. From #4 DISCatcher go left, use the cross country trail to #5, look for the tunnel shot,it will be on the right. For #5 red tee go down the tunnel. A "Speed round" took me 30 mintues to play the front 9 and 40 to play the back 9. 5 minutes from Dr. James A. Dillon DGC. Concrete tees have been added to ALL holes! Last, but not least, a BIG thanks to Connor. I hope this project gives you your Scout badge!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
bluto61
Experience: 14.8 years 5 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

This course rocks! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

For starters, there are two tees on every hole, as well as two pin locations for each hole. It is clear, upon playing this course in relation to the other courses in the area that Northview was designed by an experienced DGer (shoutout to Dennis Byrne). Lots of mature trees make for some great lines, and the one water hazard on the course defines hole 9 without being a grave danger for wayward discs.

For my first round, I found the course to be very challenging. Many of the defined lines are unforgiving, and a lack of accuracy of the tee will generally wind up in bogies. This may well be the hilliest part of Indiana, and lots of rolling hills make for great elevation changing shots.

The difference between the Red & Blue tees is ENORMOUS! An experienced player could/should use the red tees as an opportunity to work on shaping lines with his/her putter/mids. It's almost like having two courses in one.

There is also a very convenient Pro-shop located at the Capstone Cafe. Make sure you load up on fluids before you start, as the course is noticeably longer than any other nearby courses.

Cons:

2 or 3 holes are still very wide open, but if they can hurry up and fill those holes with trees or other obstacles, this course would be almost perfect. The only other suggestion I can make is to add additional tee signs at the Blue tees, as the distance between Red & Blue is usually enough to be obnoxious, and the arrow on each tee sign pointing to the next hole is all but useless if you never stop to look at the tee signs.

Other Thoughts:

For my first round at Northview, I shot a +3, in comparison to the -4 or so that I usually shoot at James Dillon park. I would strongly advise you to warm up before you start your round, as the constant elevation changes will start to tire you out by the end of the round if you're not in good shape.

I don't know if there are plans to pour concrete tee pads. There are currently just two stakes in the ground representing the end of each tee pad, which is a VERY welcome change to the restrictive concrete pads at every other course in the area.

I hear that there is still talk of adding a 3rd tee pad location to each hole - a "Super-pro" tee, if you will. While I don't know that I'd ever play it, that would certainly put this course on the Midwest regional map.

edit: I forgot to mention that, obviously, the course is located on the grounds of a HUGE Church. The posted rules are a bit excessive. I'm not going to tell anyone how to enjoy their game of DG, but at the very least, respect your fellow man.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
jrmorin9
Experience: 16 years 17 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Just about the best in IN 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenging coarse! Trees! Shade! Paths! Hills! Enough said right? This could eaily be the best coarse in IN with a few more tweaks. Accessible for the beginniner or advanced.

Cons:

Could use some better signage and trash bins.the first couple of holes were hard to find.. Also would be good if there were small concrete tees and small paths to walk throu the grass border track. It would be a shame to see that ruined.

Other Thoughts:

Well balance, crazy trick shots available, doesn't feel like it was over extending the welcome- fun time and looks like I'll be putting James Dillion in my back pocket for a little cuz I found a new favorite! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
madman1101
Experience: 13.1 years 8 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

top five 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 12, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice layout, utilizing the hills and trees on the property. flowed very well and felt very natural. although the holes are short, most are very difficult

Cons:

did not go from one hole to another easily at times. be sure to look at signs to figure out where to go. one of the best courses, but not much places for you to put trash. Holes 4, 5, 6 are back in a wooded area of the property. be sure to watch out for poison ivy. speaking with the groundskeeper she told me she sprayed SIX GALLONS of ivy killer and she still has to get more. so be careful

Other Thoughts:

overall, my favorite course so far. liked the layout and glad to have a new place to play. be sure to bring your "A" Game, as well as your legs. plenty of hills. HAVE FUN! also talking with the groundskeeper, there is not enough money in the budget for concrete pads. but they will put them in once the funds are raised.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
MacDaddy
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 41 years 151 played 22 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Welcome to "The Hill" at Northview Church 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 11, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course has a rolling terrain that inlcudes the highest point in Hamilton County. You will get to throw shots that are open, tight, wooded, downhill, lightly wooded, and uphill. It is manicured by a seasoned golf grounds professional; Marcia Schwartz. She is dedicated to making this course something special!

The course has many features that will imediately remind the player of a "ball" golf course. The tees are large, grassy patches, cut to 3.5" with movable, colored tee markers. There are also fairway-greens areas that are also cut at 3.5". All the rest of the "rough" is cut at 5". Almost every hole has some degree of elavation change on it. Vegitation runs from wide open, tight wooded fairways, and others with a little of both.

The 4 combinations for Red & Blue tees with an "A" and "B" pin location on each hole produce layouts that allows brand newbies, intermediate, and advanced level players to enjoy the course.

Pro-shop on site at Capstone Bookstore/Cafe (like a really nice Starbucks).

Cons:

It could use a few more trees on some of the holes (there is a plan to add several in the future). The course will be closed during a few other large events at the church, like various large cross-country meets that are held on the grounds highly rated running course.

Other Thoughts:

Of course no alcohol. And trash collection is limited, so please pack it in-pack it out.

Special thanks to Connor Powell who did fundraising and provided labor for this course as his Eagle Scout project. Congrats to him and his mom Kim, with thanks to all of the donors who made this course possible!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top