• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Inver Grove Heights, MN

The Valley DGC

Permanent course
4.065(based on 32 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

The Valley DGC reviews

Filter
1 1
djschnabel
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.6 years 253 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Loved the course, of course, for certain 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenging course for Advanced/Pro players. Two sets of tee boxes, great flow, variety of shots, length, different shots for each hole (mostly). The course is set up in a (duh) valley, You have elevation, some water, woods, and kept grass to play across.

Cons:

Tee pads suck, and are inconsistent. Lack of garbage cans. From the long tee, it's a shot to clear the water on hole 11.

Other Thoughts:

You wanna hear it? Here it goes...

I really enjoyed the course. I played Slacker League here today (Every Wednesday at 11 AM). Great group of guys, variety of skill levels. Back to the course though, it includes a wide variety of shots, including those holes that should be gimme 2's for everybody (3, 4, and 12) and those that will challenge the best players (2, 8, and 11). You throw up hill, you throw downhill, you throw across the hill (9), you have a wicked L to R hole (15), and holes to air it out. Today was pretty windy (15-20), so having those stable-overstable discs are a must.

I don't remember seeing any garbage cans, but it is 11/16/2011. In Minnesota. I thought the course was kept, but for a pay-to-play, I'd expect to see at least cans. There wasn't trash everywhere, only a few things on a few holes. Parking may be an issue, if there is baseball/softball games going on. There were paths near or in the line of tee shots on a couple of holes, but I was told it wasn't really an issue, as they don't get used much.

For a pay to play, I'd expect to see at the very least, better teepads, these look to be archaic. This was a very enjoyable course to play, I shot like Ship High In Transit, but I still had a hell of a time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
J Blaze
Experience: 23.4 years 67 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Underrated 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 2, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I had not played here since the new holes were put in and man!!! What a nice surprise. This course went from a 2.5 rating to a 4. They got rid of a couple of the shorter holes and now there are some beautiful legit par 4s (six of them I believe). Lots of throwing options every hole.

Cons:

Signage. Maybe provide maps? I would not have had a clue about the new holes if someone there wouldn't have told me!

Other Thoughts:

Very underrated metro course. With the added holes, the course went from Geek to Sheek!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
intelligence385
Experience: 14.3 years 17 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 6, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great Course with plenty to offer for everyone.
Wide variety of shots not catered to any one style of throwing
Plenty of room to air out a long shot and really have some fun
Easy to find your disc if you have a bad toss

Cons:

Restrooms are sparse
Litter
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Adontalis
Experience: 14.2 years 84 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Overall Enjoyment 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well groomed.
Nice field for warming up right next to the parking lot.
Light traffic, no waiting at tee pads
Shots that go every way, long, short, left, right, straight. Very fun

Cons:

There needs to be better signage.
They need to upgrade the new holes on the south side.
I would suggest more trash cans dispersed throughout the course.

Other Thoughts:

Each and every hole is just fun. I have only played this course once but the skill needed for each shot presented definately kept me on top of my game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
deadbody
Experience: 20.4 years 152 played 68 reviews
4.00 star(s)

So much potential. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 30, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice concrete tees and nice baskets. Multiple basket locations and tees on most every hole. good mix of long bomber with some good technical thrown in. Well maintained course that will require you throw every shot in your bag at least once. Short and tight, long and open, left turns, and right turns are all here.

Holes 1-11 and 16-18 are old holes that are super well maintained. Holes 12-15 play across the road (there is a tunnel underneath) and are new, tee pads are gravel boxes and the fairways are not obvious.

Cons:

No signs, no maps, no fucking clue where anything is. Seriously that is 1 full star down right there. You can stand on a teepad and see multiple baskets at times, with no indication which one you are shooting at. No indication what teepads are for what holes, GIANT FAIL. 12-15 need a lot of clean-up they are still super rough and frankly feel like another course when compared with 1-11 and 16-18. Fairway Flyerz has a booth there to sell $5 wristbands, and the dude working it when we were there is a moron. Argued with me that a Hornet is just a rebranded Nebula.

In a couple spots you are crossing where people are throwing, that is just poor design, and since they just redid a bunch of it I really think they could have fixed that.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course a few times before it went to pay to play and didn't really care for it, and now with the new holes I still don't really care for it.

Edit: Bumping up to 4 stars as they have added a nice course map at the beginning, and signage on every hole. Made for a much more enjoyable round.
The lack of navigation is a massive fail that annoys me, and the course just feels like it could be so much more. It's still a good course that I think a lot of people would enjoy (just not me) but it could be so much more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
JoshEpoo
Experience: 17.2 years 66 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

New and Improved 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 28, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The Valley DGC, formerly known as North Valley and often referred to as Inver Grove Heights, is a great intermediate to advanced level course.

It's got a fantastic balance of challenges including elevation (both uphill and downhill holes), tightly wooded fairways, long bombs (some high risk/reward, some just challenge you to throw far to score a birdie), short technical holes, and tricky pin positions.

One of my favorite aspects of this course is that many of the holes offer multiple interesting routes to the basket. The variety and balance that this course presents is what really makes it stand out.

16/18 holes are great and often demand a good tee shot, a great approach, a bold putt, or a combination of those elements. Even the shortest hole on the course, hole 3, is a neat hole. If you're looking for a challenging course that isn't overly punishing, this is it. There are a lot of birdies to be had for anyone who can throw 350'+ and a bunch of challenging pars for those who don't throw as far.

Cons:

Hole 1 and 18 are the two worst holes on the course. Unreachable in 1 for a lot of people, but essentially gimme 3's if you don't have the arm to 2.

The new layout has improved the flow of the play a lot, but you still walk across hole 2's fairway to get from hole 4 to 5.

Other Thoughts:

The pay to play format has been a source of some controversy but I support it. Great changes were made to the course last year and most people got to enjoy them for free. This year you have to pay.

The Valley is a high caliber course and, in the past, keeping it clean was a problem. I am hoping that the city and Fairway Flyerz will get the garbage under control, but I'm not the type who would give demerits to a course that offers awesome disc golf because of garbage lying around unless it was really terrible.

The amenities that you might expect at pay courses are not present here, but the course offers great disc golf. You can purchase a season pass which I believe also gets you access to Kaposia for the whole year for $30, or pay $5 for the day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
timj5304
Experience: 20.2 years 161 played 32 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Disappointing 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 27, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Long and challenging course, championship caliber course. Many par 4 type holes that require a solid tee shot to land in a zone to get your 3. Water and elevation come into play on several holes, accuracy and disc control is huge at this course.

Cons:

Sadly this one became pay to play a few years ago, I generally only play it in the time of the year when it's not a pay to play(between May 1st and September 31st) as I do not personally feel this course is kept up to par with other pay to plays with a lot of trash around and not enough garbage cans. No signage to help players new to the course to go from hole 11 to the south valley side.

Other Thoughts:

This course is tough and challenging, it's right around a lot of other 18 holers in the same area. I recommend to play this course as it is similar to cp Adams in length but more elevation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
E_Rock25
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 77 played 35 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is great. It is very well maintained and clean. The park is in the middle of updating and the new trees and pads are awesome. The course has it all length and technicality as wall as a vast array of shot requirements. The course plays in a large valley (hence the name) and it has a lot of moderate elevation changes. There are wooded holes open holes and water and all are used very well. Hole three is and awesome wooded hole that has very unique trees that lean to the left (pictured in the gallery). Hole 11 is over a good-sized pond and is very challenging. I played this course in the rain and still had a blast. All of the baskets are in good shape and have nice wood chip greens. Benches are nice and look brand new. This course is challenging but it is fairly beginner friendly because it is well maintained and has short tees on most holes.

COURSE DESCRIPTION

-HOLE #1
This hole tees off right out of the parking lot and is and easy hyzer to start things off. The pin is tucked back in the woods but it has a nice big open green.
-HOLE #2
This is a long one that snakes through the woods to a fairly well protected pin that is a little left of where you tee off. This is a really tough hole that will take skill to get a four.
-HOLE #3
I think this is the coolest hole on the course. It's not long it just looks cool. The trees lean to the left in a way I have never seen before. It looks like a windstorm went through when the trees were young and they grew at an angle because of this. The trees are in a straight ling right in the middle of the fairway and they are hard to get around. Once you do it's a easy putt and hopefully if you don't hit a tree you can get a shot back.
-HOLE #4
This hole is not very imaginative and seems kind of like filler. It straight but dose have a few trees to get in your way. The pin is tucked in a tree cove.
-HOLE #5
Big up shot with a steep dirt hill on the right and a downhill on the right. This one is tight and if you don't hit the thin fairway it will be hard to get par.
-HOLE #6
This one is a hillside hyzer with a blind pin that is blocked from view by thick tree. A hyzer spike seems to be a good shot here and if you do it right a two or even an ace is possible.
-HOLE #7
This is a fun hole that is fairly open and long. The tee is elevated and once you get through the three small trees that guard the fairway its an open field to the pin.
-HOLE #8
Tee off back up the hill with your choice of hyzer or anhyzer. There is a big pond to the right that will come into play later but isn't a problem on this one. A cluster of big pine trees blocks the pin. A good drive and there is a chance for two.

-HOLE #9
Nice thickly wooed anhyzer with tall shrubs right in front of the tee. As you approach the pin the trees get thicker. This hole is not that long and I ended up throwing an awesome shot and parked it right next to the pin.
-HOLE #10
A downhill shot with options. You can go right or left to get around the island of trees in the middle of the fairway. A drive and a good approach will yield a par.
-HOLE #11
This one is long and the pond is right in the middle of the fairway. The tee is elevated and it's a real nice view. If you don't want to tempt the water there is a short tee down next to the pond as well. This is a very hard par even if you don't go in the water.
-HOLE #12
A shorter tunnel shot with a high ceiling so you can throw it high but better keep it straight. There are new trees planted that guard the pin and when they get bigger they will be a real challenge and make this hole much harder.
-HOLE #13
Hole 13 is a slight anhyzer and plays down hill out of a parking lot. There are a few big trees that spread across the fairway. Once through them it's open to the hole. There is a longer alternate pin that I didn't know about that sits right next to another pond.
-HOLE #14
A long wooded hole much like hole 2. It will take two good drives to have a chance at par. The pin is elevated and is blocked by a big tree. This is a tough one and par is a great score.
-Hole #15
This one is very interesting because it Hyzers like a horseshoe. It's a hard hole because there are a lot of trees that can grab your disc if you try to throw to high, but if you don't get enough distance you won't be able to see the pin. When I played this hole the pin was under water because of a lot of rain so I played back to pin 13.
-HOLE #16
The last three holes are long. This one is an elevated, blind hyzer that plays over pin 11 back toward where the course starts. After playing through a fairly open fairway with the big pond on the right. After the first throw there is an uphill shot to a pin tucked deep in the woods. I felt good with a four here.
-HOLE #17
Long and open easy if you have a big arm. The tee pad is back in the woods but this one is almost wide open with a few small trees littered across the fairway.
-HOLE #18
This is the longest hole on the course and is wide open once again. It's nice to end with a big bomb. The pin is in the woods on a little hillside but if you have a big arm it's an easy three.



Cons:

I think most of the cons to this course are in the process of being fixed. There is know signage and if you don't have a map it can be a little bit confusing. Some of the pads have not been updated yet but the ones that have are wide and very nice. Some of the holes play close to walking trails and other holes, this could be a problem if the park is busy. Some of the new holes need a bit more thinning. There are some erosion issues as well but this course has the potential to be a 4.5 or even a 5 in my book.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
CFH-mn
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

valley dgc 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 10, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

brand new baskets, bench construction is good, new trees planted, new pads, mulched pinns, tidy grass, real nice long throws, tough little throws and hook shots threw trees, pond eats discs, much new $$$ has been invested

Cons:

trash, plastic bottles,soda cans,
chiggers along pond- itchy!
no new signs yet-the have all been destroyed,
hot summer heat-bring water

Other Thoughts:

been playin here since it opened now on faze 3.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
pallen03
Experience: 16.2 years 9 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

IGH.. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Huge
-Multiple Tees
-Challenging
-Not too much traffic

Cons:

-Very wooded, easy to lose discs
-Sometimes confusing to navigate

Other Thoughts:

This is a large, challenging course. Several holes go through very thick wooded areas. Accurate drives are a must. Overall a fun and challenging experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
CwAlbino
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.2 years 76 played 23 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Phenomenal upgrade 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The TEEES!!! My biggest problem with old north valley was the tees, The new tees are great, aside from number 13 (I think) which multiple people talked to Chuck about today. It tees off on a sidewalk but with the curb, it makes the run up really short, an extended pad off the sidewalk like what is on a few other holes is needed.
-Defined lines. A few of the holes were cleared a little, allowing for less unlucky twigs to catch your disc and drop it. I like trees and obstacles on holes, but not random branches that have overgrown and block a previous line with just a twig that can turn a great shot into a crappy shot.
-Despite taking out a few hilled shots, it still makes great use of elevation with the changes.
-Layout flows a little better

For those who haven't played it at all before:
-Great mix of long and short holes, with long holes outweighing the short.
-Both wooded and long bombs, makes use of lefty and righty favored. I threw just as many forehand as backhand.
-Tons of elevation changes, both in the layout of the drive portion and with the pin placement. Pins at the edge of the hill to penalize blowby's or on a hill for a backstop so you can run it. Just gotta watch the rolls.
-Long tees when needed, and shorter when not needed.
-18 puts you right back to the start
-Great use of "openings" making placement really important for your second shot in order to hit that putt.

Cons:

-Trash cans, I'm unsure where they are putting trash cans, if they are at all. One of my pet peeves is trash on the course so trash cans would help with this, rather than bottles or cig butts scattered around tees or along paths.
-Another problem with hole 13, it really needs to be cleared for a larger opening for the long pin. There is a mando on the left so it's either hit a gap for the short basket or go with a big rhbh hyzer. This gives a huge advantage to big arms. Most longer holes give advantages to long arms, but a shorter arm should still be able to rip one to their extent, not be restricted to a placement shot and a second shot which is longer than the first. Some were contemplating a mando below the treetops and that would fix the situation.

Other Thoughts:

I'm going to give this a 4.5 based solely on what I know is going to be done to the course, and seeing workers out there clearing and installing. I don't live even in the same state so it will be hard to get back and periodically update the review. The potential at the moment is a 4.5 at the moment, with my opinion having it sit at about a 4.

Overall a great course, this has put the valley from one of my least favorite courses to one of my favorite in the cities.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
Cgkdisc
Experience: 35.3 years 777 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

New & Improved 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Other Thoughts:

This is the new & improved version of the course formerly called North Valley. But with four new holes in South Valley and four removed from North Valley plus several tee and pin changes, it's a significantly new course. The Park Dept wanted to upgrade the course now that it's pay-to-play in combination with Kaposia down the road. A few steep holes with erosion issues were removed but the tradeoff was additional property and length in the new South Valley holes with still some decent elevation changes and chance for future expansion. The course has the potential for a 4.5 rating once all of the landscaping upgrades have been completed over the next few years. The course signage is now completed, tees in South Valley are concreted and a pro shop is there from May to Sept.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top