• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Flagstaff, AZ

Thorpe Park

Permanent course
3.625(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Thorpe Park reviews

Filter
12 0
PastorofMuppets
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 5 years 183 played 131 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Glass Ceiling

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

WHAT TO EXPECT: In typical Flagstaff fashion this course is inundated with a mix of heavily wooded technical holes, fair but tight moderately wooded holes, and a few lightly wooded more open holes, all of which requiring accuracy and touch to score well.

TEES/SIGNAGE/BASKETS: Very nice large textured concrete tee pads. Baskets in great shape and caught well (Innova Discatchers not sure if these are normal or installed just for Masters Worlds). Regular course tee signs are showing signs of age and some are hard to read. The ones not faded provide all useful hole information and the distances to each possible pin position. (There were plastic coorigated tee signs in place also for the worlds layout).

DESIGN: Multiple pin locations on most of the holes. Hole designs specifically avoid playing near or crossing over each other and give the course a more spread out feeling. Large variety of hole distances, some at or just below 200 feet, most between 250 and 400 feet, with a few others over 400 feet. Most holes are heavily wooded, but there are a few spots that are a little wider and more forgiving, but this course pretty much requires high level accuracy from start to finish. I really enjoyed some of the very tight lines, especially the ones that forgo a "distinct" fairway and instead offer you a risk reward shot to get close to the pin. Excellent job of making the holes feel fair while still being extremely challenging. Roughly three much more open holes smartly sprinkled in to give you a moment to catch your breath before diving back into the heavily wooded holes. While not what I would call an "elevation" style course, there are a few holes that take advantage of it. Wide variety of shot shapes required to score well here. The tee to green distances are not overwhelming in terms of "open field distance" but coupled with the thick woods and tight lines, some of the distances on the line required are quite difficult for the average golfer.

NAVIGATION: Very easy to follow, intuitive design, and next tee is usually very close to the previous basket.

SIGNATURES: Hole #18 is probably my choice, a fairly tight and thick wooded downhill tunnel that provides a wonderful way to finish the round.

Cons:

GRAFFITI: Some tee signs had been vandalized, obviously cleaned with some form of solvent that clouded up the signs and made them difficult to read in places. I only saw a small amount of graffiti still there, but enough to warrant mention.

WALKING: There are only two long walks, from Hole #9 to Hole #10 and from Hole #18 back to the parking lot. Otherwise, not bad, but these two walks are worth mentioning.

SAFETY: There is a walking path criss-crossing through most of the fairways. We saw several dog walkers, mountain bikers, and even a pair of ATV's utilizing this trail while we were there. Seemed like a pretty active trail that could cause issues.

ROCKS: There are lots of volcanic pumice style rocks all over this course that will eat up your discs, especially base plastic.

GLASS: Though I didn't notice glass everywhere like some of the other reviewers below (and I'm assuming it was because this course was being utilized for worlds and a massive cleanup effort from the locals occurred) it was noticeable on occasion. I had my dog with me and I ended up carrying him most of the round to prevent him from cutting his paws.

Other Thoughts:

A real treat for those looking for a heavily wooded course with tight lines. There appeared to be some additional holes (saw some rubber tee pads and other pin locations) but these were pulled when we were there. Not sure if that is part of the original course but we only played the worlds layout. Some more directional cues would be nice to navigate the course a little smoother, but for the most part it wasn't super difficult. This course was both fun and challenging. It definitely has the potential to be a 4.0-4.5 course with proper care, maintenance, and some added difficulty. The cons really hurt this course, because I'm sure it was polished as much as it could be for Worlds coming through, and even still, it wasn't super impressive. I can only imagine how it looks and plays when there isn't an army of volunteers working on it. Worth the play while here, not worth the trip here just to play it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
boulderingonzo
Experience: 5 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun but glassy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of trees for shade and practice throwing through and around obstacles,

Cons:

There is glass everywhere...it is insane and there is a fair amount of garbage. Don't play barefoot or bring your dog incase they cut their paws.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
CwAlbino
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.1 years 76 played 23 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Loads of potential, and glass 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Wide variety of shots. Not much that's real long but the distance in the woods makes it more difficult. There's a good variety of wooded shots and slightly less wooded shots. Very few "open" holes with only three coming to mind. #8,#9,#14. The course has good elevation and the holes take advantage of that pretty well.
-My biggest con for McPherson was the basket color, and how you can't see it. While Thorpe has a mix of baskets and colors, they are doing what they can to make them visible. Some are painted, some have flags, some are already bright and visible.
-Clear fairways, some are tight but it's not a throw and pray to make a gap. Fairways like this are difficult enough to reward skill, and not luck.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Good/Decent signage. They were not vandalized when I went through.

Cons:

-It's in almost every review, the glass is just astounding. I played with a friend from Flagstaff that hasn't disc golfed in years, and he was just disgusted. The worst amount of litter he's seen in the years he's been in the area. I would not bring my children or my dog disc golfing at this park. I would even suggest not wearing sandals.
-The layout needs some work, especially with the addition of the Alphabet holes. Of the ones I've seen they are great baskets and rubber tee pads. I played 1-18 and not the others. It feels just slightly clumsy on some hole transitions. It could be made slightly more difficult with adjustments and added pin positions.
-Some sort of marking on the signage to specify what pin location the basket is in would be nice. There's tons of cheap and effective ways to do it, such as what they did at McPherson.
-They changed the layout of the holes but the course map has not been updated, or the course location. See below.

Other Thoughts:

This course really was a lot of fun. It has the potential to be a 4.5 (or higher) with some tweaks to the layout, signage, amenities, and cleanliness. All of this comes with money and time spent. I think if the "pretty' things were taken care of, and the layout just flowed slightly better to include the extra holes, it would be a high ranking course. They have amazing land to work with, and a really fun course for the avid disc golfer.

-As of August of 2019, the course holes are numbered differently. If you follow the directions to the course on this site, you will end up at hole 14. Hole 1 is now hole #6 on the linked course map. That course map is still up in local pro shops and on the bulletin at hole 1. Some people seem to still play it from 14 to 13. It seems like a good idea to switch the hole, because the parking lot can get quite busy. Park along Thorpe road and look for the bulletin board to start off hole 1.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Redline4j
Experience: 156 played 42 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Holy glass shards 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course layout. Great open and tight shots.

Hole 7 is not as short as you think. It typically is behind the building you find yourself looking at on the tee pad. From tee pad #7, you can see a basket, but that basket is for hole #9.

I played after a couple of days of rain, and the course was muddy at all, however I think more glass was uncovered or washed down, not sure which.

Cons:

I could not believe the amount of glass shards on this course! Was it a former dump site for glass?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
samartin
Experience: 11.1 years 10 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Thorpe Park DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 15, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Heavily treed with a good mix of par 3's and par 4's. Tee boxes are concrete and baskets are in good shape. Hole locations get changed around.

Cons:

I would rate this course better except, like virtually everyone else, for the broken glass and trash.

Other Thoughts:

In my humble opinion, this is the worst basket course in/around Flagstaff. You'd be better served playing at the Old Munds Hwy tree course. A course map can be found online.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Outdoor Craziness
Experience: 12.2 years 19 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Lots and lots of litter... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The challenge: this course gives you a little bit of everything! Plenty of variety here: both wide and narrow fairways, short and long holes, and some baskets with elevation changes. There are also a few holes with blind shots - this place has it all!

Cons:

The trash: seriously? Flagstaff is one of my favorite places to visit - the scenery is beautiful and the locals really take good care of their surroundings. Thorpe Park is the exception. The park is so disappointing to me: there are broken glass shards and beer cans on literally every single fairway. Flagstaff has such a great course and it has been trashed by idiots.

Don't get me wrong, I still love to play here! It's just disappointing to have such a nice course receive so little consideration for upkeep. Take away the trash and this course gets a 4.5 / 5 in my book.

Other Thoughts:

If you're playing this course, please, PLEASE don't litter. No one wants to pick up after you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
loraski
Experience: 13.1 years 110 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Lora 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Enjoyable elevation changes and it seemed like a long course to me. Lots of nice trees along the way.

Cons:

When I played the conditions were not the best, it had snowed a week before and it was pretty muddy. LOTS of broken glass everywhere and graffiti on some of the markers.

Other Thoughts:

Like any of the courses I have played, it's too bad that there are people who want to mar or destroy something so many of us enjoy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Wise Fool
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.4 years 125 played 118 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Lots and Lots of Trees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Very nice concrete tee-pads
-Multiple pin-positions on most of the holes
-Baskets are in great shape and catch well
-When the tee-signs are readable they are very useful and give you a good layout of the hole, each pin position, and the distance to each pin position.
-The holes on this course do a good job of not playing near or crossing over each other
-The course has a good variety of distance on it (A few holes are under 200 feet, there are some over 400 feet and quite a few between 200 and 400 feet).
-Most of the holes are heavily wooded and this course requires a lot of accuracy in order to score well on it.
-There are a lot of very tight lines on this course and not always distinct fairways but I never felt that any of the holes seemed unfair in terms of how tight they were.
-Due to being heavily wooded this course can play pretty challenging.
-There are two or three open more open holes that do a nice job of providing a quick reprieve from the heavily wooded holes.
-The course is very easy to navigate and the flow makes a lot of sense, you will spend very little time looking for the next tee-pad.
-Elevation comes into play on the last couple holes. Hole 18 is a fairly tightly wooded downhill shot that is a nice way to finish the round.
-This course features a lot of fun well-designed holes that will force you to use quite a few different shots in your bag.

Cons:

-Some of the tee-signs had graffiti all over them, which made them next to impossible to read.
-At times the baskets blend in with the woods and you have to walk a little ways up the fairway in order to figure out, where exactly you need to throw.
-Long walk between a couple of the holes (the walk between 9 to is the most notable) and there is a long walk back to the car from hole 18.
-A walking path crosses through a lot of the holes, so make sure no one is coming before you tee off.
-Some of the holes don't really have distinct fairways (but there are still fair lines through the trees to the basket).
-The rocks on this course will eat up base line plastic and possibly lead to bad footing.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course with a lot of heavily wooded holes that requires good accuracy to score well. If you don't like heavily wooded courses with tight fairways, this is not the course for you, but other wise it is definitely worth a trip to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
scrowl92
Experience: 14.5 years 13 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

One of my favorites! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 20, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-concrete tee pads
-tee signs with maps showing distances, par, ect
-quality baskets
-beautiful wooded setting
-challenging (holes vary in style)
- some holes are tunnel through trees and others have well placed trees adding a challenge

Cons:

-VERY muddy in the winter time
-brush, snow, ect. make finding your disc difficult at times
- lots of rocks

Other Thoughts:

Overall great! one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
roadtripstuff
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.4 years 286 played 57 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Wooded, but Well-Defined 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Multiple Pin Positions
Beautiful Scenery
Nice and Informative Tee Signs (Next Tee Marked)
Multiple Shot Types Required
Easy to Locate
Disc Golf Exclusive Area
Great Layout (Begins and Ends Near Parking)
Baskets in Good Shape
Friendly Locals
Trash Cans Throughout Course
Amazing Terrain
Great Design

Cons:

Broken Glass Throughout Course
Novice Players May Find the Fairways Too Tight
Can Get Crowded
Parking is Limited

Other Thoughts:

Thorpe Park Disc Golf Course is located in a large city park in the northwest part of Flagstaff, Arizona. From US-180 head west on Cherry Avenue to Thorpe Road and make a left. The entrance and parking lot will be about 400ft from the intersection on the right just before the tennis courts. From the parking lot you should be able to see the bulletin board and the first tee pad.

The course plays through, what I would consider, some pretty unique terrain. Rocky with the large boulders, many protecting the baskets, dirt, and dense pine forest. Premium plastic is a must on this one.

The first tee pad will be located behind the bulletin board near the back of the parking lot. The first hole is one of the more open holes on the course, but it is a great first hole with three pin positions.

Holes 2 and 3 start to bring you into the more wooded holes and the rocky terrain starts to come into play a little more. While neither hole is heavily wooded trees come into play forcing you to choose your shot carefully and the baskets are well-guarded.

After hole 3 you really start to what this course is all about. Hole 4 starts with a more open fairway, but the basket is heavily guarded and you will need a well-placed shot to get near the basket.

Holes 5 through 12 are all moderately to heavily wooded with tight, but well-defined fairways. These, in my opinion, were some of the more interesting and fun holes on the course. They are tight but fair, and give players with a variety of skill levels the ability to play together fairly.

Holes 13 and 14 open up a bit and give you a chance to catch your breath before heading back into the trees for the finish. The last few holes, 16 through 18, are also where you will start to see the elevation changes come into play giving this course a nice balance.

Overall this course has a good variety and high fun factor. While beginners may find the fairways a little too tight rec to adv, maybe even open, players will have a great time here. Navigation is made simple by the great tee signs that not only show each pin position, also indicate where the next tee pad is located. If you do have any problems the locals were friendly and extremely helpful, even letting me tag along for the last few holes, so if you do have any questions I'm sure they would be more than happy to help you out. All-in-all I really enjoyed playing Thorpe and will definitely play it again when I am in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
dickybird
Experience: 83 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 27, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Of the three courses in town, I think this is the best. With multiple pin placements the course can vary from a pitch and putt to a longer course requiring a good mid-range game. I disagree with the previous review. With excepetion of a couple pin placements, there are well defined fairways. They're tight but, heck, it's a forest course!

Cons:

Lots of glass on some holes. Most of it is "historical" and reflects decades of kids partying in the woods. Even so, it doesn't represent a hazard.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 2
Donovan
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 37.3 years 302 played 188 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Dateline: UFO’s Sighted Near Space Observatory 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This beautiful park is located at the base of the hill from one of the world's largest telescopes at the Lowell Space Observatory. This is a great setting for "un" or more accurately identified flying objects of our sport. This course is full of trees. The ground is a combination of pine needles, leaves, dry dirt, and LOTS of rocks. Many shots are needed for these holes, however this course is most challenging when the holes are in the long position. When the pins are in the shorts, the course becomes much easier. Most of the holes are pretty flat, although a few of the latter holes have some really good elevation. This course is marked with great signs and excellent length cement tee pads. The baskets are in great shape and there are plenty of trash cans along the way.

Cons:

The rocks on the ground are is such abundance that you will need you sturdiest plastic to survive a round. If you play here often your discs will suffer. The signs are very good about showing the way to the next tees. I found #10 and #16 a little tougher to find. #10 is up beyond the road's curve and #16 is also across the road near one of the #12's basket. Otherwise, there is no real need for a map here. The last real negative I could think of is the lengthy walk back to the parking lot from hole 18, however it is down a nice walking road.

Other Thoughts:

The fun factor at this course for me is decent. I really enjoyed my round and threw a few extra discs on several holes as they were fun to throw drives on. This course was also the site of the PDGA 2003 Worlds. (The extra holes were not still there that I could tell.) You just got to love the fact that you can go visit the Lowell Observatory when it gets dark and get a chance to see space through that huge telescope. I saw deer, squirrels, and wild chinchilla. The wild life was a real treat. I loved playing here and found the surrounding area to be peaceful and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
wolito
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.4 years 88 played 87 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Awesome!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Probably the best course that I have played! Set on a mountian at nearly 7000 feet adds to it's appeal. Large trees throughout contributes to the beauty and challenge. Well designed and thought out course, this person knew what he was doing. Many types of shots required from sharp anhyzers to long straight throws. Elevation changes throught gives you a little workout. Baskets are well placed to make it tougher. Large level cement teepads on every hole with nice signs that shows distance, O.B., trees, next hole and pin placement. Some of the fareways are pretty tight, but if you have the skill to tread the trees, then birdies are possible on several holes. Trash cans throughout and park was fairly clean without graffiti.

Cons:

At this point, I really can't think of much.

Other Thoughts:

This is what disc golfing is all about. Beautiful course in the mountains. Each hole seems unique, hard to get bored here. I played this course slower than normal just because it was so great just to be out there enjoying the natural environment. Each hole I came to I had a smill on my face! I am now in Phoenix but will certainly drive 2 hours to play this course. What a spectacular course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 5
rj29274
Experience: 19.1 years 200 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Phun in the Phorest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 19, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

this course deserves a 3.8, in my opinion, because of the variety of shots this course demands to be successful. depending on the basket placement, this course can play very long, tight and challenging or short, with many birdie opportunities. MANY. however, the club always has a good mix to allow all to have fun.
Cement Teepads
Nice baskets
Great Views
Tight fairways
Open year round

Cons:

This course can be very crowded at times, especially until the other courses open (mcp and the bowl). Your plastic will be punished! lots of rocks so watch where you are walking.
Beware of the broken glass on the course. It wont really cut you, but it is apparent throughout the course.

Other Thoughts:

as my home course, I like to play but it is not in my top 25 that I have played. (played around 150 courses). Scores for an above average player with range from a 48-54 depending on the settings. However, since I have lived in Flg they have never moved all the baskets to the long settings. Bring lots of water in the summer, they have an adult center with a drinking fountain, and wear good shoes. My personal best is a 42.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
SpikeHyzer
Experience: 21.4 years 110 played 33 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best of Flagstaff 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course was an absolute blast. Lots of trees to help define the fairways. It was a very fair course. The course flow is pretty good. Could use a bit more signage though.

Cons:

Lots of shattered glass around the course. So I suggest not taking kids to this park.

Other Thoughts:

This was by far the best course I got to play while in Flagstaff. Snowbowl had just got 12 inches of snow on it the week before I got there, so unfortunately I didn't get to play it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
ddevine
Experience: 45.3 years 133 played 39 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2003 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Just the right amount of trees to define the fairways and keep you honest. Some holes require a good combination of power and accuracy. Pins can be in tricky positions that reward smart play .

Cons:

Rough terrain at times, with a few fluky shots tossed in.

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this course. It always left me hungry for more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
TalbotTrojan
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 112 played 104 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Trunks and Traffic 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course sits in a city park that has the feel of a mountain course. There is a lot of challenge with some holes that vary greatly in length. There are good signs at every tee that even point you towards the next tee. Most holes force you to throuw through a very tight space and sometimes you will make it through unbelieveably so. The trees also provide a nice way to keep the wind down.

Cons:

This course seemed to be very busy. It was also very difficult for a first time player to navigate. Even with the signs I spent upward of 20 minutes looking for at least one tee. There is one main walking path that goes right through at least one hole and on many others you may have to wait for pedestrians. Some holes were hard to figure out locations on even with a map as trees on the map did not seem to corrolate to what was actually there.

Other Thoughts:

I was lucky and ended up playing right through a couple of groups who were in the middle of league play, including being there to witness an ace. I would reccomend having a map on this course. It is enjoyable to play but there was nothing really that blew me away about this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
jlogflagstaff
Experience: 17.9 years 69 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

thorpe dg course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 11, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

thorpe is a moderate to heavily wooded course.always some type of obstruction from tree's to more tree's. some mild elevation on the front nine, more on the back nine.the baskets are in great shape, they are mach 5 baskets. thorpe is mainly a dense ponderosa pine forest along with some oak trees throughout the course. Considering its basically in downtown flagstaff, the course has a deep wooded feeling, its great. multiple pin postions for alomost every hole (which get moved on the regular ). ( rhbh ) the front 9 you find yourself throwing alot of hyzer's and straight shots. the back 9 you will find yourself throwing anhyzer's or forhands. beware of hole 18 c position....it can add a few strokes.
lots of friendly locals.
trash cans threw out the course. favorite holes 1( c position ), 7 ( B position ), 9 ( c position ) 14 ( B position ).
all in all great course, its always enjoyable and fun to play. you can either shoot hot here or when its playing long you could have a tuff time.also 2 other courses within 3 miles. ( also snowbowl dgc 10 miles north of town ) flagstaff is a great day trip. 3 courses in a small town deep in the woods. To me its the best course in flagstaff,az when the pins are in the longs.

Cons:

some pads are to shorter then others it seems, packed all year around. you tend to see homeless people in the woods. ( but the course is very safe, no issues at all ) on the back nine you have to watch out for walkers, the fairways get close to a walking path. no rollers here, the terrain is to rocky. no practice putting basket.

Other Thoughts:

if you are in flagstaff,az.come on out and play this great course that flagstaff holds. pin positions change all the time here, always keeping it fresh and fun. friendly locals always playing.
Also check out downtown flagstaff. lots of bars and cool shops to look at.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
domromer
Experience: 21.7 years 88 played 21 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best Course I Flag 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 18, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice and central to town. The holes are laid out really well, baskets get moved enough to keep it fresh. Hard enough for an advanced player to have fun but no so hard as to discourage and new player.

Cons:

A sea of broken bottles cover this course.

Other Thoughts:

During college I played golf everyday. Out of the 5 courses in town,( yes I said 5. Two are killer object courses than I would not give the location for love or money!) This was the one course that never got boring.

It's also close to Peace Surplus which has a great selection of discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
martinb
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 44.9 years 183 played 58 reviews
4.00 star(s)

thorpe 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Excellent use of terrain and foliage. Concrete teepads and teesigns. Within the city limits so its close to stores and other amenities. Bathrooms on site.

Cons:

Can't think of any. No grass, but thats to be expected for that kind of terrain.

Other Thoughts:

This course has lots of trees. Its fantastic the city allows the area to be utilized by disc golfers almost exclusively, since its obviously a prime location within the city limits. The ambience and environment is special. There is a walking path that conflicts with a couple of tee shots but for the most part its disc golf heaven! Some minor elevation changes throughout the course, not as much as you would think. Course design accounts for densely wooded areas on the course and has created a very fair but tough course with pine trees and other, lighter foliage to navigate past and around. Advanced and pro players will like this course more so than a beginner player.
Fairways are well established, leaving it up to the disc golfer to advance down the them in a safe manner. Some holes are tough par 3's (doglegs or straight narrow and long), but at least half the holes are reachable on the first shot if you place your drives down the fairways correctly. Getting off the fairways will bring pine trees into play and bring your final score up. Execute your game on this course accurately and you should be under par every time. Using a sidearm shot or an overhead shot to get you out of trouble if you stray from the fairways is very helpful. There weren't too many people there the times I played, but I imagine the weekends may be crowded on the course, especially if big groups of beginners are trying to make their way around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top