• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Wabash, IN

Wabash City Park

Permanent course
35(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Wabash City Park reviews

Filter
6 0
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.3 years 764 played 387 reviews
3.00 star(s)

3:10 To Wabash 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Sometimes you can tell the rating of a course by the company it keeps . Wabash City Park 18 hole course is enjoyed by all strengths of players . Getting to the course and hole one is a little different than from the directions . After making the first right after entering the park , stay left ( I stayed right and drove myself right out of the park ) . There will be a shelter on your right as you descend . You cross a small bridge and park on the left . There is a kiosk close by hole #1 but no map in it . You need a map for this one . There is a putting basket close to the lot . Bathrooms are close by , too . The tee pads are cement 4' by 8' sized . The signage is good , telling hole# , par , distance to each pin and a flight path . It also tells which position the pin is in . I don't know for sure how many pin positions there are ( 2 ? ) , but don't pay a lot of attention to the distances on the Wabash scorecard . The baskets are Red Dynamic Veterans , and most have flags on the top . The park was clean and mowed when I was there . There are nice shelters with grills near holes 1 and the #2 tee . benches and garbage cans are present .
#1 which is a partially obstructed fairway and #2 where you tee of from an elevated tee pad next to the bridge , will make you think that this course is going to be all park style and a little uneventful ( on the scorecard , #2 says 165' but more like 300 ), but it takes an interesting turn . #3 tee is a walk up the road hill and left . The course will then dart and out of woods , mixing in shorter more technical but reachable holes . I won't go hole by hole , but give you some highlights .
#3 a short left to right hole into some woods , to an elevated basket on a stump . #7 is a shorter park style hole around a few trees in the fairway , to a hanging basket . There is a hole (12 or 13 ? ) that is a tight woods fairway shot , with a gully at the end and the basket on the hill . #17 is a long 400' uphill drive with road and trees on the right that plays more like 450-500' . #18 is a great finishing hole . It is back downhill , forcing a slight right turn to a hanging basket flanked by 2 trees . maybe 350' + . Picturesque . My signature hole : #14 . A tee pad on a hill down to flat land , trees with canopies forcing a low shot . Your drive eventually has to follow the creek to your left where the basket was tucked in between large bushes and had the creek directly behind it .
This course might empty your bag . A nice variety of shots , right and left . some elevation for several of the holes . Fun factor here was very high . I saw some high level foursomes and even a couple of families playing . It took me a little over an hour to play , guessing maybe 2 1/2 for a foursome .

Cons:

#1 safety . 1 throws over what looks like a horseshoe pit , there are people that enjoy the park that can appear in blind spots , Be careful and share the park .
#2 Navigation . The course goes uphill after #2 , can cross roads and the next tees can reappear behind bushes . I had to revert to my map several times , especially on the back 9 . Your Kiosk needs a map . Print your own before playing .
#3 An incredible walk back to the parking lot from 18 . I had to walk all the way back up the hill towards #18 tee , then 1/4 mile with steps on the left back to the lot .
#4 Challenge . Some good players will be way under par for at least part of the course , which only means that the course wasn't designed for tournaments .
Disc Risk : there is a creek you can plunk into , and the brush and large trees with canopies and blind shots can pose a risk . Especially around holes 8-14 . bring bug spray in the summer .

Other Thoughts:

Someone in the Wabash area decided to put a 18 hole disc golf course in the town park , ,,,,,, And succeeded . I don't know what the early renditions were , but at some time , some of the holes were lengthened to appease the more seasoned players , and still be attractive to the city locals . I heard that the city tries to update the course every couple of years since it's inception ( 2010 ) , but I say leave it the way it is . The 25+ people that were playing after I was leaving weren't proving me wrong . There is too much fun too leave this course unplayed . Stay and eat in one of the shelters before you leave if you have time ( and food ) .
My recommendation : Pros and great ams aren't coming here unless they live in the city . This course is still great for locals , ( a little hard on families ) some newbies , travelers , the course collectors ( combine with Mississenewa ,Maconaquah and Honey Bear Hollow ) , Play and Enjoy It !!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
atdick
Experience: 7.6 years 9 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Underrated Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good signage, benches, good hole layouts, not too difficult. Not a lot of water. Scenic, good walking.

Cons:

No big ones.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
jaredsnoble
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Concrete teepads
Veteran baskets
Easy flow to the course (made easier with great signage)

Cons:

Not a lot of length

Other Thoughts:

Solid course overall. Course is great for the land that is available. The course by itself I would say is a 2.5, but the amenities (baskets, tees, etc.) bump it up in my opinion to a 3.

Can really tell the disc golf community in wabash has put in a lot of hours to make it the best possible course it can be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
sambfwin
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice technical course with a mix of long and short holes. There are multiple pin locations for each hole. Nice use of elevation changes. Some really suberb holes are hole 10 and 16, hole 10 being one of the more dramatic hole plottings I've ever played.

Cons:

Signage (which I understand is in the works) needs to be improved including signage in the front of the park leading to where the course is. Per the course designer, there are land restrictions imposed by the park so the walk from 18 back to your car is pretty long. These cons are so minor in my mind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
LaserGlide68
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.2 years 226 played 24 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Train Kept A Rollin' 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 17, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

New layout! New DD Veteran baskets!

Shot Selection-need Backhand and Forehand, possible Tomahawk or two.

Dual Basket positions.

Elevation changes, with a few Drives off of elevated-style Tees.

Mix of open and wooded Holes, nice to play on a hot, sunny day, good tree cover.

Although mostly on the shorter side of distance, got some tougher Pin positions, guarded, on a number of Holes. There are opportunities to drive for distance now though-not all duece's on this one.

Some Baskets on small mounds, #18 embedded into a good size rock-uniqueness.

Portion plays alongside train tracks, three trains went by during my Round, blasting their horns-pretty cool.

Benches all throughout, lots of large trash cans.

Nice small town Park, creek running through it.


Cons:

With the new layout, there aren't any permanent Tee signs. The temp signage being used is fading bad, some signs unreadable. The signage prior was great, expecting something similar moving forward, not going to knock the Course for it at this time.

#1 plays directly over a Horseshoes court, not sure if it gets any usage.

Almost every Hole had cement Tee pads, 3 or 4 without currently. Pads from the old layout still in place in spots.

Don't know if I played the 'official' #10 hole, there was some confusion with signage. After wandering aimlessly looking for the Tee (per signage) I played what I thought might be the proper hole. Teed off just past #9, in the woods across a road to a random Basket on the top of a hill, with the #11 Tee pad just a short walk away.

Still a long walk back to the parking lot from #18.




Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this Course, taking it for what it is-a small town Park in the middle of Indiana.

It had more going on than most similar type of Courses, with the elevation changes, and decisions on how Holes were laid out. Great starter-to-intermediate level Course.

Really liked #4, #8, #9, #10 (at least the one I created?), #14. Tunnels through wooded lanes, top of the World type of shot on #14-sweet shots.

Course was fully mowed, and the wooded Holes were all in good shape, no real problem with overgrowth.

This area is Disc Golf-rich, with Peru, Logansport, and a bit north, Akron, all having fantastic Courses to play!

*Now features multiple Basket locations, with indicators on the newly installed Tee signs, cement on every Tee pad*
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
GMcAtee
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.3 years 770 played 97 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Deuce or die that needs some TLC 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great beginner course with plenty of elevation and unique holes.

Cons:

Hole 3 could be unplayable with heavy rain. The fairway is basically a eroded creek bed.

Hole 9 thru 11 area is crammed together. I even threw to the wrong basket. Discs could be buzzing your head when it gets busy out here.

Hole 14 was so overgrown it was unplayable. Like throwing thru a forest. Then go find your disc.

Hole 18 was hard to find with no teepad.

Long weird walk back to vehicle after hole 18.

Eroded dangerous trails and needs updated signage.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun fairly easy course that needs some love to get it back in shape. Like most Indiana courses, the rating is too high.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Eschenky
Experience: 10.3 years 44 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A great town course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 30, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Super fun course for the amatuer like me. Great terrain changes, you need to think about risk reward on almost every hole. So picturesque.

Cons:

Basket on #7 is missing. I took the time to send the parks manager a note thanking him for the facility and telling him about the basket being missing.

Other Thoughts:

Ill try to play this gem every time I pass through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Gizmotronx
Experience: 12.3 years 23 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Through the Woods We Go 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Interesting holes, with some fun lines. Lots of trees, so finesse is more important than strength on this one.
Lots of elevation changes.
Park nearby for activities for family/others.

Cons:

Not a lot of open holes to really air it out. Can be a negative for beginners, but presents a fun challenge for intermediate players.
Can get frustrating if you start nailing the trees and don't have time/patience.

Other Thoughts:

If you like the finesse holes, you will probably like this course. If you play with a friend that can really let em fly, this is a good course to even the playing field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Boomdabah
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

This course isn't bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pros: The scenery at this course was amazing. I loved the view of some shots.



Concrete Tees were nice and in good condition.

Signs - Maps are some of the more accurate that I've seen.

Elevation - Elevation varies and this course is definitely a hike.

I liked the short nature of some of the par 3 holes. It made things fun.

Cons:

Baskets:
Not all of the baskets are identical which means that some have one set of chains and some have more. I had 2 spit outs due to the baskets with 1 set of chains. Baskets are all facing their respective tee pads. One basket in particular was in a cement block above ground.

Tees: Only one set of tees for each hole. Could not find tee pad for Hole 18.

Signs: Signs have graffiti and some wear to them. Could not find signs for a few holes.

Had trouble distinguishing baskets between holes 10, 11, and 12. Very close together.

Definitely need to be somewhat accurate or you'll have some difficult shots to perform.

Other Thoughts:

I had fun playing this course because it was out of my norm. I didn't think it was in too bad condition but it could use some work on it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
ajbova
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.3 years 112 played 95 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Course for Area 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very Scenic Course - Hills, Rocky Cliffs, Woods, views of farmland. It is very peaceful here, even when there are baseball games.

Baskets - Spiderweb 3 baskets are very grippy. Some of the baskets on the course are not the same as others through.

Concrete Tees - Large concrete tees on each hole. Only one tee per hole.

Signs - There is a very detailed sign for each hole that lists the distance, par, and has a somewhat accurate picture of the hole.

Elevation - Lots of elevation change, even on the shortest hole here. Hole 12 is an immediate drop off.

Variety - Short and technical, long and open, hills, woods, creek hazard (1, 12, 13, 18).

Most holes require accurate drives and approaches while very few are open bomb holes.

Most of the course is simple to navigate. Typically you follow the path (dirt or paved) with the exception of a few holes.

Very short holes would be challenging enough for beginners and would greatly help intermediate players with accuracy. Most of this course would be an ace run for intermediate and advanced players.

Not many courses that are nearby so this course fills the gap.

Cons:

Tees - Only 1 per hole. An alternate tee for each hole would make this course much more challenging. The shortest holes need a longer tee. Most holes just need an alternate angle for the hole.

Baskets - Not all baskets are the same and some are facing the wrong direction.

Hole 9 and 11. It is very easy to throw to the basket of hole 11 from tee for 9. A sign pointing to the correct basket would be helpful.

Some tees are close to the basket / fairway of previous hole (7 and 8. 11 and 12)

Very short holes could be boring for seasoned players but they require a tight, accurate throw.

At times, course can be confusing to find the next tee. Course needs signs pointing to the next tee for most holes. Hole 12 to 13 needs one. Hole 17 to 18 needs one.

Basket for 18 is not near the parking lot. Requires either a hike up a steep hill and through the park or cross the creek and walk along baseball fields.

No course map at start of course.

Other Thoughts:

This course is on the way to my lakehouse and I play it at least once a year. It is in a very peaceful city park even though the park is multi-use.

The holes here are very unique and any disc golfer would appreciate the challenge it brings. I would recommend this course to any disc golfer. People who drive out of their way to play it will not be disappointed.

If you want more challenge, go to Mississinewa State Park or Pieradice in Peru.

If the course had next hole signs, alternate tees (longer), a course map, and yellow paint on all the baskets, it would be a 3.5. I had trouble giving it a 3 but the lack of distance prevented me from doing so!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.4 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A little odd 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 29, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a pleasant city park. A handful of holes play through grassy park areas with scattered mature trees, offering multiple lines and open drives. A couple of these shots offer a little bit of length, with one in the 300' range and one more with a little downhill and 400' of distance.

The other half of the course plays through or along fairly dense woods. There are enough trees and enough brush to punish errant shots, and short technical lines that will challenge your short game line shaping skills. There are some minor elevation changes on some shots, adding some interesting greens and some variety on drives. The tee signs are pretty accurate, with hole length and layout. The concrete tees are small but adequate for the length of the course.

Cons:

The holes are so short that apart from a couple of the open holes most players won't need more than a putter and a midrange. There isn't a whole lot of challenge if you're pretty good at upshots, every hole is reachable and not all that difficult.

Navigation is a nightmare here, the walks between holes are very long and unmarked. It ends up feeling like you walk more to get to the tees than you do playing the holes. The walk back to the parking lot from 18 is not at all obvious, and is quite long. You often play on or over park roads throughout the course, a potential safety issue on a busy day.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners can have a great time here, the holes are short and where there is punishment you'll take an extra stroke on an errant drive but you're not likely to lose discs. More experienced players won't find much challenge here, and there's not enough variety to keep things all that interesting for someone with good line shaping skills. With a little work on signage between holes, this could be a great course to introduce new players to the sport, and if you're looking for a quick putter round with some ace potential this isn't a bad stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 316 played 268 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Wabashy 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 29, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Wabash is set in a large multi-use park. The discing ranges from park-style openness to moderately wooded, with some tasty bits of elevation to shake things up. The schule is well-worn, but potentially punishing. Most holes are very short, ranging from only 90' to 280'. One hole is listed at 300' and one hole is 400'. Despite the short length, the course doesn't feel "cheap" or "throw-away", so to speak. Each hole presents its own little challenge or a fun ace run. A fair amount of rudimentary line shaping is required to score well. Experienced players will shoot well under par, while beginners have the opportunity to play well without tons of mindless open holes.
- A small stream comes into play on #1 (off the tee) and #18 (left in the woods).
- Concrete tees in good shape, adequate tee signs. Bathrooms on site but locked during non-peak times. Lots of other park amenities and activities for the whole family.
- Fun.

Cons:

- Next tee signage is needed in a couple of places. In particular, the walk from 12's basket to 13's tee isn't at all obvious. Turn to the right and follow the road to find 13.
- Holes 9-12 are very tightly packed in a relatively open, grassy area of the course. On a busy day, I imagine these holes could become very dangerous without proper etiquette and caution.
- Long, improbable walks from hole to hole and from #18 to the parking lot. It seemed as though the walks between holes and back to the car were longer than the course itself, no joke.
- Hole 18 is currently without a pad (my group, at least, could not find one) and is at the corner of the basketball courts. Look for the faded white arrows leading to it.
- The park, if not necessarily the course itself, has some downright hazardous terrain. Parts of the park have very long, steep drop-offs without any sort of warning, signage, or railings. Exercise caution if you decide to wander through the park.

Other Thoughts:

- Set in scenic little Wabash, the City Park disc golf course is an interesting little specimen. Other than the disc golf itself, which is extremely short but still playable, the park has several attractive features. An extremely well-kept and pimped out baseball diamond (dugouts, lights, et al., all for what looked to be a little league team!) Sweet-smelling honeysuckle trees line vast sections of the woods, and often run the length of the fairway. Huge, ancient trees tower over the park in areas, giving the course a feeling of having been there from the beginning of time. Be sure to scope the old-people's retirement home (adjacent to #6) replete with graveyard! No joke.
- Overall, nothing to write home about. This course isn't going to stun experienced discers (unless it's from the length of walks between holes), but for beginners, casual players, and one-disc rounds, it's ideal. Terrain and vegetation are used well enough to make the course a pleasure to play.
UPDATE: This course has gone through a fairly major renovation. It's keep some of the deuce-or-die charm of the old layout while adding some gnarly new holes that are much more challenging. I played the new layout last summer and I think they had *just* made the changes. Signage was in a transition stage, but manageable enough. The new upgrades were pretty cool and I look forward to seeing how the new holes have mature with a bit of time. I'll revisit and update the review accordingly as soon as possible, but for now I've adjusted my rating upward to reflect the new layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
DiscGolfFreak
Experience: 18.1 years 25 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Many holes which cause you to think about how you want to play them. Great opportunity to practice technical shots through woods. Some holes offer several ways to play them making for an interesting round. Good tee pads and signage once you find the tee stations. Overall nice park, that is very well maintained.

Cons:

Hard to find some of the holes (after hole 12 take the street to the right side of the basket to find hole 13). Two different types of baskets. Many very short holes, 90-150 feet, in the woods. Some holes seem to be thrown in with little thought (holes 15-17).

Other Thoughts:

Avoid park on the first Friday morning of each month as there is a food give away with hundreds of cars making it difficult to play first few holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Cap78
Experience: 14 years 4 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very well thought out basket placement. A good place for a beginner to learn the ropes or for someone with experience to sharpen some skills.

Cons:

Much of the brush is thick and easy for a disc to be lost in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
chuckdisc
Experience: 14.9 years 38 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 11, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- A good course if you want to score an ace.
- Great range of shots. No two holes seemed alike.
- A cement tee pad at every hole.
- A nice down hill shot on hole 12.
- A few hole dog leg to the left.
- Nice tee signs with par, basket location and distance.
- Narrow fairways on some of the short holes. Makes it more challenging.

Cons:

- No practice basket
- Two different kinds of baskets. About half single chains and the other half triple chain.
- A few holes are too short of a distance. Only one 400ft, a couple of 300ft and the rest 200ft and under.
- After hole 18 a walk back to parking and hole 1

Other Thoughts:

A nice little course. If in the area and have time. You can play 18 holes pretty fast. " i hit my 2nd ace here"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
AdamE
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.8 years 267 played 148 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 19, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a nice little beginner course set in a nice city park. The course is very short but fun and seems to have grabbed the attention of the locals. There were a number of groups out playing when I was here on a Saturday.

The course has nice tee signs and about half of the course has concrete tees. There are some good elevation changes on a number of the holes. Nice mix of open and wooded holes.

Hole 1 and 17 are the signature holes on the course IMO, very fun shots!

Cons:

The course is very short. About half the holes are less than 200ft long with one hole that's only 90ft. The longest hole on the course is 400ft with a slight downhill. It's a very cool shot and one of my favorite holes on the course. The problem is it doesn't seem very safe; a park road is immediately to the right of the fairway running parallel almost forcing a RHBH player to throw over the road.

A couple of the holes had fairways that were so tight they were almost non-existent. Of course they were so short it wasn't too difficult to card a 2 or 3 on them.

Navigating the course isn't too bad but it did take me a minute to find 13's tee.

The shot selection is very poor.

I couldn't find 18's tee pad when I was here. On the way back to the car I asked some locals who said it had been moved and to look for the spray paint on the basketball court.

Other Thoughts:

This course is designed to introduce new players and families to the sport and it seems to be doing a great job at it. If you live in the area it's a nice place to get in a quick round, but I wouldn't go out of your way to play here.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
discpicable
Experience: 16.1 years 11 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good tee signs; Creative pin locations for such short holes; Half of the baskets are Pier.

Cons:

Some of the fairways are on top of each other; 18 ends nowhere near 1; Half of the baskets aren't Pier.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course. Easy, but fun. You probably won't pull your drivers out except for a few holes. I would recommend it to beginners. It does have a couple of problems. One is that hole #8, I believe, has no fairway. It's just a basket in the woods with no logical route to it. Another would be that when you finish 18, you have to cross over a creek via some stones in the creek to get back to your car which is still a bajillion miles away. But that isn't anything that should make you stay at home. If you're in the area, play this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
HuntingtonHyzer
Experience: 15.1 years 18 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Ace Race 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 11, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

^Course uses the elevation and features of the land to incorporate a mix of technical shots.
^Nice signage as well as concrete teepads
^Trash cans at most holes
^Good variety of shots,granted most of them are short.
^Couple of blind holes

Cons:

^Long walk back to parking area, unless you hop rocks in the creek.
^No practice basket.
^Still not completely trimmed and ready to play.
^9 of the baskets are great Al Pier spider baskets, but the other 9 are lightning single chain baskets.

Other Thoughts:

Lots of ace opportunities and a great course to have a 3 disc challenge. This course will help you work on your mid and short game. Any course is better than no course at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
zud00
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 203 played 47 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hit Your Line=Score Well 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

*Great use of elevation-holes going uphill as well as downhill
*Good mix of wooded and open holes
*Nice signage-signs show distance as well as hole fairways
*Baskets-Half and half
*Trash cans available at most tee stations
*Concrete tees (only a few have them at this moment)
*Decent variety in distance, although most holes are under 270'.
*Beginner friendly

Cons:

*Seems as though most holes favor righties-not too many right turning holes
*A few ridiculously short holes
*Some of the concrete pads had no texture-they were smooth and slippery when wet
*Baskets-half were Al Pier spider baskets with 3 rows of chains and the other half were single row chained baskets
*A few navigation difficulties for the first timer
*A few holes play along/over a park road
*It is a long walk from 18 basket back to the parking lot
*There is no practice basket available, although there is a great spot for one near the pavilions at the parking area

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course for beginners and those who want to work on their short game. It would be a great course to throw a couple 2 or 3 disc rounds. Only one hole longer than 300' and most of the holes under 250'. There are many opportunities for aces on these shorter holes. One hole is listed at 150' (if you choose the extreme hyzer route), otherwise you can take a chance at sinking a blind 80' jump putt.

The baskets at the course are alternating hole-by-hole between Al Pier Spider baskets and a single layered chain basket. I would of had an ace on 12 if it were a Spider basket rather than the latter.

There is a great variation of open and wooded holes on this course. There are a few open holes with mature growth sparingly through the fairway as well as a few tight and narrow fairways in the woods. Getting off of the fairway on the wooded holes may result in some time spent looking for your disc. In addition, there are a few holes where you have to hit a gap in the middle of the fairway to have a good look at duece.

A few things that could be done to improve the course are:
*navigation signs on a few holes
*texturized teepads
*bridge over creek after 18 to get back to parking lot

Overall this is a great course for beginners and those who want to work on their short game. It's in a central location to many other courses, so one should stop by to check it out on their way to another course. Who knows, you might just go home with an ace added to your ace count!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
duckkiller73
Experience: 19.1 years 13 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

wabash park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good short course. Made me think on some shots. Pretty technical on a lot of the holes. Only a few with some distance.

Cons:

Couple of holes are in some pretty thick stuff. One hole calls it out as 150' but you can shoot through the woods at about 80'. I didn't like some of the baskets, but the spider baskets are REAL nice

Other Thoughts:

Got a lot of ace shots. Good starter course. I am pretty sure the creek runs through 1 and 12 has a road running through it as well as crossing the road on 9.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top