• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Corvallis, OR

Willamette Park

Permanent course
3.555(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Willamette Park reviews

Filter
8 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1105 played 681 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Willamette Park DGC is a moderately wooded park style 18 hole course. The course is basically completely flat but there's trees to contend with on every hole. The course is a par 54 with distances ranging from 180' up to 426'. The vast majority of the holes are around the 300' mark though.

The baskets are orange Innova Discatcher pro 28's. The orange bands make them nice and easy to spot in shade and the baskets themselves are awesome. These are my favorite baskets out there at the moment and they catch great. There's a single basket on each hole but up to, I believe, four different pin positions. Three for sure though. You love to see such variety on a course. The baskets also have little plactic arrows attached to the bottom of the cage pointing toward the next tee.

Concrete tees on every hole. These are good sized, level and have solid grip to them. No complaints with these. One tee pad per hole.

Great mix of different shot shapes needed out here. There was a solid amount of FH favorable holes actually. Not quite 50/50 but closer than most courses. The design is pretty well done in regards to keeping the course from stagnating. There's enough different feeling holes that you'll feel engaged for the whole round.

Great tee signs. These are some nicely made 4x4 posts and the signs themselves are bright and bold looking. They have detailed hole maps that show all the different pin positions and any applicable OB or mandos. They also have the hole # and distances to each pin placement. Very nice looking and useful tee signs.

The park itself was well mowed, maintained and was very clean. There's lots of woodchips spread out on the greens and trails in the woods between holes. Just a nice looking park in general

Cons:

A few of the holes play pretty close to one another, especially on holes 13-17. Not a huge issue if it's not busy but could get messy if it is. The park seems pretty popular so I'd guess it's usually pretty busy.

The walking trail also comes into play at various points. The park is not only busy for disc golfers but also walkers. Be sure the path is clear before you throw.

The rough off the fairways on some of the holes is nearly impenetrable. Very real possibility of losing a disc out here. My wife lost one on hole 14, the skinny double mando hole. In the process of looking for her's we found two others in about ten minutes. The whole north edge of the course was filled with blackberry bushes and all other sorts of stuff you don't want to get into.

The course gets very busy and there can be lots of backups. If you're looking for a quick round I'd advise not playing during peak hours.

Other Thoughts:

This was a pretty darn fun course. I can see why it gets so much traffic. That said it's still just a slightly above average wooded park course. It's certainly worth a visit if you're nearby or even just passing through but is, by no means, worth going out of your way to play. But if you do stop here you won't be disappointed, just not amazed either. Good course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 75 played 60 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 27, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Willamette Park is a nice well kept park located in Corvallis, Oregon. This course is located right on the Willamette River offering for a nice pleasant round. Willamette Park features large oak trees, which run along most of the holes.

Very good concrete tee pads and nice detailed tee signs. This is the top rated course in Corvallis, and has been around for over 20 years. It's nice to see they keep this park in good shape.

New Discatcher baskets were installed. There's a nice variety of open to wooded holes. The course designers definitely spent a good amount of time designing. I really liked the layout. Some holes play a little to close to each other. Not any long walks in between holes. Solid 18 hole course.

This course challenges all players. It's definitely on the beginner friendly side, but there are also quite a few holes that could challenge the more experienced players.

Cons:

I played on a really hot day. This course was packed, but I may have come on a doubles tournament day. I couldn't tell but the parking lot was almost full.

Willamette park has a lot of thick brush which comes into play on some holes. It would be nice to see some of that cleared out. There's some long grass that needs to be cut in the open holes. A little more maintenance would do the trick.

All of the holes look similar in terms of beauty. There's not a ton of variety in terms of looks besides the mix of open to wooded holes.
I ran into quite of few dog walkers and joggers running through. Not to mention I had to wait on quite a few tee pads for other groups to finish.

Other Thoughts:

There's not a big wow factor to this course. By no means was it a pleasant round but they definitely made good use of the space. This course is definitely different than most other PNW courses. It reminds me of Champeog State Park in terms of beauty.

I do prefer courses like Timber, Milo, Stub Stewart, and other courses that offer the dug fur style setting. However, it was a nice change to play under the large oaks, and I would recommend stopping by in you're in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
DGStore
Experience: 21.2 years 18 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Solid Course - Deceptive 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 6, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fun course; great for beginners, but provides enough challenge for most levels. The course seems like it should be easy for experienced players (lots of birdie opportunities), but it is deceptive and bogey's seem to catch you off guard.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice brand new tee signs showing basket position,distance and par. Bolt indicating what pin position it's in. Very clearly marked out out of bounds with pylons on each hole that has OB. Good mix of hole distances allowing you to throw drivers and mids. Hardly any sticker bushes and challenging enough for advanced players but won't punish new players. Hole 18 ends by 1 and practice basket with nice kiosk board next to hole 1.

Cons:

It's normally a pretty busy park with lots of groups and college people. Also dog walking and joggers. There's no really signature, or stand out hole. Not much elevation change, kind of repetitive feeling. The grass can get a little tall in fairways from time to time

Other Thoughts:

Easy course to walk and if grass isn't tall not much chance of losing disc. It's probably closer to a 3.75 but since no quarter rankings I'm going with 3.5
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.1 years 90 played 87 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Willamette Park is a very large, riverfront park just 10 minutes from downtown Corvallis. The course is moderately wooded with large, mature trees. Unlike many Northwest courses, this one has a high ratio of deciduous trees compared with conifers.

-Concrete tee pads, simple tee signs, and Mach III baskets with extra chains get the job done. A nice large sign board is present at the first tee with park regulations and a course map.

-Several baskets are strategically placed on mounds, hillsides, and next to large trees. It's clear a lot of effort and creativity was put into the course design.

-There's not a clear stand-out hole, but my favorite was #18, a 400 foot shot through a beautiful fairway bordered by mature trees.

Cons:

-The course is for the most part well-routed, except for holes 13-17 which play uncomfortably close to one another.

-Several of the more wooded holes have relatively heavy patches of rough, including in the middle of fairways. Holes 1 and 18 especially have a lot of blackberries on the right hand side.

-While this course is certainly not in poor condition, it looks as if it could use some clean up work. I would appreciate shorter cut grass and tree trimming to open up more lines. On many holes, a low, straight, power shot is the only option and it looks as if more creative lines may have existed at one point but are now overgrown.

Other Thoughts:

-Most holes measure in at approximately 300-350 feet, but a couple short ones as well as a few holes that play as a par 4 in the long position are a nice change of pace.

-As many reviewers have mentioned, this course is very favorable to left handed players and forehand dominant players. I played the course with only four discs and struggled to reach the baskets without my favorite forehand or turnover discs. Hometown pro Nate Sexton certainly shouldn't have a problem shooting 12 down or better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
R151
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Lefty Paradise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good teepads with older baskets that are still in good condition.

Cons:

Poor signage.
Brutal rough, blackberry bushes along many fairways.
Fairways littered with fallen trees and random growth.

Other Thoughts:

The design of this course favors those who throw left hand bh or right hand fh. You'll want to throw a straight shot with a fade to the right on most holes with the only real variable being distance. Due to the large and numerous trees here you are forced to hit lines, but it's the same line repeatedly. Skilled players will have numerous birdie opportunities as many holes are not out of their reach. Average players will play most holes for par, if they can hit the fairway and avoid the ob which is almost always on the left. There are a few demanding up shots, but most are simple with an average drive. I wouldn't recommend this course to a newer player as it's too demanding and I don't think they would enjoy the experience. If you can, play this course on a peaceful weekday morning. The winds are more likely to be calm and you'll have the course to yourself aside from a few runners, walkers and their pooches. The winds are frequently blustery in the afternoons, and the course becomes crowded with players and the gen pop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
bneffer
Experience: 25.2 years 56 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Open, simple, fun! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Open course, easy to find your discs and the baskets. Many straight holes.

Cons:

Might be too simple for some. A lot of Criss crossing could create a problem on busy days.

Other Thoughts:

Lots of shade! A fun simple course... Usually only one obstacle per hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
kyleocean
Experience: 26.6 years 184 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Easily Top 5 in Oregon 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful Course. Wonderful Layout. Great mix of holes, distances. New teepads were just added that really added a lot of complexity and length to this course. Teepads are in great condition, are easily found and obvious from the last basket, no course map needed. Challenging layout using the space well. Tee signs are apparently coming soon, however for the most part you can always see the basket on each hole.

Cons:

Fairways play a little tight, which can sometimes make things interesting if the course is busy. This course is quite popular and weekends can get pretty congested with college kids and because this is such a loved course by all the locals. No tee signs on the holes, however I have talked to the greens keeper and they are in process. Pedestrians occasionally come into play and require waiting but this is mostly only on hole 18 and 4.

Other Thoughts:

This was my home course for quite a while and at the time I played it the most I feel like I never gave it the fair review it deserves. This course is wonderful and I can only think of maybe 3 courses that are better to play in Oregon. This is a great course, and if you are in the Corvallis area and don't play it, you are a fool. New longer teepads and distances have been recently added with really takes this course to the next level. I have it on good authority that new tee signs are coming soon and when that happens I may update my review of this course. Honestly, after playing a lot of courses in a lot of states, this course is better than most and the only reason it ever gets less than 4 stars is because it is in Oregon where the standard is incredibly high.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
mpittscampbell
Experience: 9.6 years 19 played 6 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Let's play 'Where's the Basket?' 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful park. Course is acceptable as far as difficulty and layout. (I'm too new to dg be a good judge but I won't ding a course just because some holes are beyond my ability).

Cons:

TERRIBLE signage basically due to vandalism & neglect. A fair amount of trash on the course and no place to put it. Basically, the City of Corvallis is allowing an attraction to their City to deteriorate.

With both my wife spotting and interpreting from the map we downloaded from this site (and it seems a good map), we had no idea of where were going about half the time and a couple of the holes we never did find.

Other Thoughts:

Next time we're going up 99 North, we'll detour over to Dexter Park in Eugene. I thought that this was going to be a pleasant experience, based on the reviews here, and Willamette is a very nice park, just not an enjoyable disc golf course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Pjplasma
Experience: 4 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good course, lacking elevation change 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great flow, considering a lot of flat terrain and mainly wooded areas nice adaptation
- The short ace holes are complex enough to be more then just "throw straight"
- Tons of routes to take, lots of different variation to keep you going back
- Nice concrete tee pads, benches on some holes

Cons:

- Massive lack of clear marking of basket numbers, and next tee, and hole position (it is hard to get lost though)
- pretty average layout, nothing overly interesting or especially exciting, lots of straight throws to the basket.
- great home course but I probably wouldn't travel a great distance to go here, nothing stands out really
- can get a little busy

Other Thoughts:

Overall a great 18 course. It's really nothing special and doesn't stand out for me but it's still a great home course and plenty of variation to keep you interested. The lack of pretty much any substantial elevation change at all is a bummer. Great course but I feel over time I would get quite bored of it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
sarvs
Experience: 10.1 years 22 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Extremely Overgrown 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very balanced landscape featuring just enough elevation change /basket heights to keep the course from feeling repetitive. Variety of open shots and some more technical lightly wooded shots. The park overall is very beautiful. Locals were extremely friendly.

Cons:

Extremely overgrown. Grass on the fairways were above the ankles and sometimes mid knee. Even though its early in the season, there have been enough warm and dry weekends to make the lack of grooming unacceptable for a public course.

Other Thoughts:

I'm sure this course is normally a great course and alternative for those not wanting to drive to Adair, but i didn't have very much fun playing here. Use a spotter if possible, my group spent A LOT of time looking for discs.

I may have rated this a 3.5 or 4 if the course were recently groomed, but this was one of the most overgrown courses that I've played on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Chasinchains503
Experience: 11.3 years 29 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Willamette Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 15, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Park was very fun to play for my first time going there. Always fun to try something new.

Tee pads were in good condition. There was at most holes an optional "pro" pad to throw from but they were rubber pads so not the most appealing to throw from when wet.

Holes seemed to flow very nicely, not too much confusion as to where to go to next. Picture of course is available to reference at the beginning of hole 1.

At almost every hole, if not every other, there were garbage and recycling bins available to take care of any trash we had. Always nice to see that to keep a park clean.

The holes are very lefty backhand friendly and right arm side arm. I would say about 80% had a line to use those options for throwing. Great way to practice side arm if you generally throw back hand.

Good mix of short range throws and some decent lengthy throws to have to bust out. Was able to use mostly all of my discs I carry.

Cons:

Although it is nice to have practice for side arm throws, it was a little disappointing that on almost every hole side arm (for rightys) was the best approach off the tee.

A lot of the holes almost share fairways in most of the park. On the back 3 holes you have a zig zag kind of line when finishing the course. A little worrisome if your fingers decided to grip lock. It is a very friendly park so I wasn't to worried about gettin in others' way but it would have been nicer to somehow have the holes spread apart more to not have that thought at all. Very nice layout tho throughout course for what they were allowed for!!

Very populated park for all sorts of use. There were A LOT of dogs here running around with no leash which generally isn't an issue for me. But, with this being a shorter course, say compared to McIver, then you will have dogs in your grill either when you're teeing off or going up for an approach. Does have a child's playground near by some of the holes so a little loud at times if you are really focusing on getting a good score

Other Thoughts:

Overall a very fun course that is in a nice neighborhood area. Everyone we encounter was very friendly.

Very clean park

My friends and I went on a road trip from Portland down to Dexter and Eugene and we rounded off our disc golf adventure by playing here. Very fun and somewhat challenging course to wind down our disc golf Mecca of a day.

The reason I didn't rate this higher than a 4 is because to make it perfect, I would have loved to see better signage at the tee to show pin placement (didn't have to walk too far up fairway to see basket tho). Also if there would have been a different mix of pin locations (more off to the left of tee).

I would definitely make the trip down to corvo to play here again
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
sparred4life
Experience: 9.1 years 14 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The perfect normal course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Mostly open holes, but that doesn't translate to overly easy. You will need a pretty decent arm to reach many of them.
- A lot of recent work has cleared many of the black berry bushes.
- Little chance of actually losing a disc.
- Great for beginners or seasoned players looking to just have fun.
- Easy to navigate.
- Enjoyable.
- A lot of work is being put in to improve the course, which is encouraging.

Cons:

- Can get pretty crowded sometimes, with quite a few large groups.
- Too many signs have been ruined by dumb players. (Rumor has it new ones are being made as we speak.)
- Won't challenge you as often.

Other Thoughts:

This is a good home course with some different looking holes. Maybe the best place in the area to take a new player. Bring dog treats!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
linusfrisbee
Experience: 3 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Amazing course. Long challenging difficult but super fun. Variety of shots. good amount of trees.

Cons:

Flat not much elevation. Popular, can be a little crowded on weekends

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. One of the 6 best in Oregon. Travel from Portland to play. Can't believe its only a 3.7 level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
beaverboy56
Experience: 12.2 years 4 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great beginner course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement Tees

Attempts to add difficulty to holes with basket placement

Fairly wide open, great for beginners

No poison oak (that I saw)

Dogs allowed

Grass is well maintained

Cons:

Garbage, there was garbage everywhere...despite there being a ton of garbage cans

Course is a little too wide open, despite hiding baskets behind the occasional tree and up on a small hill the holes were short, and fairly wide open

Vandalism had occurred on many of the holes, signs were missing showing hole location on the majority of the holes. Signage between holes was missing as well.

Other Thoughts:

Great beginner course (at least in this area). Aside from vandalism and garbage it was fun. In a 25 mile radius I'd put this course right behind Adair, and right in front of Bryant.

Be prepared to wait as this is a busy course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Ski'ndisc
Experience: 11.9 years 11 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very Nice! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great atmostphere!
Beautiful area...really cool trees!
Easy to find.
Fun course!

Cons:

Layout is tight on the back few holes, kind of throw at each other. Not a big deal but pay attention.
Signage could be better.

Other Thoughts:

This was a very fun course. Not too easy, not too hard. Some real neat shots around trees and through the brush.
Would've rated it hirer if signage was better!
I really enjoyed playing this course, if you're in Corvalis or even driving through.. it's worth the stop!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
MCW5379
Experience: 13.1 years 61 played 23 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Enough trees to make you have to work your shots. Left-to-right and right-to-left. Fun course that I enjoyed even in the rain. Place your shots and your good. Stray shots can lead to extra shots. Would have giving it a 3.5 if the tee signs were better/complete.

Cons:

Tee signs, really the lack of them. Some don't have any info. on them. Just 4x4's to mark the pad area. A little paint in the routed out grooves would make them easier to read too.

Other Thoughts:

Be careful playing in the fall. There had to be 67 trillion leaves on the ground and real deep in some areas that will swallow even a good shot. So keep an eye on your discs path.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
PseudoTsuga
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Willamette Park is Great 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Far away from cops, though someone did recently get busted for open containers on the course. Great challenge but doable for new players. Good course to train on for experience players. A beautiful course.

Cons:

BLACKBERRIES!

Other Thoughts:

Wear shoes and pants if it isn't too warm. Retrieving a stray disc from the brambles can be a real pain in shorts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Hector Chain
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 222 played 191 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Every rose has its thorns, and so do some ugly weeds 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Willamette isn't a course that looks all that difficult. Nearly all of the holes are moderately wooded, and the lines to the basket are clearly there. But the droopy trees have a way of snagging your errant shots. If you can throw 250 with accuracy, you won't have much trouble shooting par. But if you can't stretch out that accuracy and you go for the birdie anyway, you may find yourself in a difficult spot. The design of the holes did force a good balance of left-to-right and right-to-left shots.

Navigation wasn't too bad, and the course maps at the start help get you around. The tee pads were not long but were all concrete (or something similar).

Cons:

The biggest con is the rough that creeps along the sides of the fairways. It is thick, thorny weeds, and so the course combined two of my least favorite things: searching for discs, and drawing blood. Everyone in our group ended up in this mess at some point.

Unfortunately there isn't a lot else to overcome this. The course is perfectly flat, and most of the holes look and feel the same, going back and forth through the same areas. There isn't really a signature hole. The tee signs are just stakes in the ground.

Other Thoughts:

If you are in the area, this course is worth a visit. The challenge is enough to be worth playing but not enough to beat you down (except when you're bleeding). That said, Oregon has a wealth of great courses. This course is just average by Oregon standards, even though it would be one of the better courses in many parts of the country.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
BrickE
Experience: 12.6 years 13 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great course, great fun.. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This might be the best course that I have ever played. The grass is cut, the brush is under control. The holes are not repetitive, which makes this course non stop fun from beginning to end. The people were friendly enough and there were not a lot of people who were not playing disc golf in the way like there are at some parks. The holes were also varied in length but non so long that a newer player could not play them. Also the course was laid out in a way that made finding your way around pretty easy.

Cons:

The course was a little congested, but it was a little congested, but it was laid out in a way that it didn't really hurt things too much. The course needs better markings at the tee pads for sure. Also it doesn't apply to me personally but I would imagine that players that have a great drive might desire to have a couple of longer holes on the course.

Other Thoughts:

Bring someone to play with you. It seems that people in this community might like to keep to themselves and it might be hard to get a pick up game at this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top