• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Bonner Springs, KS

Wyandotte County Park

3.495(based on 40 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Wyandotte County Park reviews

Filter
4 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1760 played 624 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Mostly open long course

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 11, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

2 baskets placements plus an additional pin position on many of the holes.
Cement tee pads.
Course flow was decent

Cons:

Mostly open with not enough shade for a hot summer day
Kansas wind will make this course tougher with the open spaces

Other Thoughts:

Open park style course that has DD Vet baskets in the "shorts" and old Mach III's in the "Longs"

I called it "mostly open" but there are plenty of tree's on most of the holes. At best I would say it is lightly wooded. Tree's are not much of an issue for most shots in other words.

A lot of the "longs" are pretty long, out of my range so 3's were what I was going for on most of the holes.

Don't get me wrong, the course does have some challenging holes. But it also has a lot of holes you are just trying to get your 3 and move on to the next hole.

Hole 13 is the longest hole but at best i's a par 4.

Playing the long 14 on the other hand, that's a tough 3. Between you and the basket is a pond. For me it was trying to land to the right side of the pond to throw a 2nd drive over to the basket on a nice green between the rough on the left, pond short and OB road on the right.

Anyways, if you want to practice throwing long, this is the course.

Would I play here again? No, I find long courses, specially when they are on the open side boring. That is what I left this course feeling like. I did not enjoy my round and not interested in playing this one again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
Pevio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 191 played 120 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Almost perfect, but still far off 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 29, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

WyCo is an amazing course that despite having pretty open and flat fairways, manages to give a great challenge to everyone. Most holes are pretty long, with several par 4's depending on pin placements. There are huge concrete tees, multiple pins on several holes, and a few holes share pin placements (8/18, 6/10) that can add some solid challenge. Navigation is pretty easily, with good tee signs and next-tee indicators at most pin placements. That said, you should probably have a map handy.

Long-distance accuracy is always at a premium. No matter what skill level you are, there will be plenty of times when you will find yourself a good distance from the basket on the fairway, with a chance to get up and down, but will need a lot of accuracy if you want to leave yourself with a makeable putt.

There are just enough technical shots that keep this course from being mundane. Holes 1, 2, and 18 play through a tunnel (though they are pretty wide tunnels), and holes 7, 10, and 14 have low ceilings. Most other holes have some trees near the tee pads that block certain shots, while still giving opportunities to air it out.

There are several amazing holes. Hole 14 in the long pins plays over a lake, that will punish errant shots while still allowing a safe play around the right side. Hole 13 is the longest hole on the course and is even better when OB rope is added for tournaments. The tunnel shots look awesome and play longer than they may seem, and there's opportunity for some really long shots on some of the downhill holes (3, 16, 17), but that still have specific lines or landing zones to shoot for.

Cons:

The upkeep is just okay. But the grass is mowed pretty irregularly. In my experience, it's still not hard to find discs since the grass isn't super thick, but still, wading through knee-deep grass is never fun. Several low-lying areas get soggy easily. Try to stay out of the wooded bits on holes 4, 7, and 10.

Baskets are Mach 3. Not just Mach 3, but OLD Mach 3. Absolute trash - expect one spit-out per round. And the practice basket is even worse.

Some of the holes are just too long, especially a few of the longer par 3's. It can begin to get a little boring, especially for people who prefer tighter shots, shorter holes, or just can't throw all that far. I am personally okay with this, but I know many people aren't. In addition, some holes can turn into some players just taking the widest line to stay away from the few trees on the fairway, such as holes 11 and 12. The opposite can also happen - taking a super safe shot on holes like hole 9. While there is certainly risk-reward potential, it sometimes feels not quite the best design at this point.

This course has a lot of potential to be a world-class course, but it has a few weak spots. No matter what the setup is, holes 4, 5, 6, 8, and to some extent 16 and maybe 18 are just not good holes for professionals, either because they're too easy, or are just tweener holes. Some of them are still decent holes, but need some small modification if they're going to be challenging for the top level of players. Given that weaker arms won't have much fun on the longer holes, catering to the top level is what this course should be aiming for.

Other Thoughts:

Honestly, this course needs a redesign. The original layout has not stood the test of time, and there's tons of potential available. There's some land behind hole 14 that could add some more technical shots, as well as other spots throughout the park, and even another lake. Using these could make for some amazing holes.

Because the grass is often long, try to check the course conditions to see when the best times are to come play this course. I really don't understand why all the grass is mowed with the same frequence. There's quite a bit of land on this course that isn't used for Disc Golf at all - to the left of 17, to the left of 4, and behind the tees of 10-16. If the actual fairways were mowed more and those areas were mowed less, this course would be far better without any more effort.

This is a great place for tournaments, since putting pins in the best positions and adding OB rope fixes many of the problems. It's a shame that can't be the experience for the entire year. It's a really good course and is just a small redesign away from potentially getting a 5.0 rating from me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 1
Surge5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10 years 171 played 171 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Titles are the hardest part of these reviews

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 25, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Through mature trees and over rolling hills, WYCO wages war on your power game. Concrete tees are plenty big to launch from, and detailed KCDG tee signs will tell you just how long your driver needs to try to go.

Two sets of baskets to vary the challenge if you wish to go for the shorter options (DD Veterans) or keep up the punishment by going for the longs (MachIIIs).

Gaps to hit on 3, 8, and a hallway of trees on 2 and 18. Ceilings on 1, 7, and 12. Elevation to play against on 4, 5, 7, and 15; but forgiving downhill drives on 14, 16, and 17 balance it out. Don't get too much heat behind your drive on 14 of you'll go in the pond.

A few of the tougher navigation spots (16 to 17) have a stone in the ground with an arrow on it pointing to the next tee.

Cons:

4 is a very unique hole and 7 has some interesting pins, but apart from that a lot of this course feels very commonplace but longer.

There is very little in the way of punishment for a missed shot. The right side of 4 and 7 or 10's left side are the only punishing rough. Almost any other scrambles back to the pin will have very little challenge besides distance, but at least the distances still keep pars difficult. Very few of the greens are tough to reach or putt on (4-7 being outliers)

The MachIII baskets are very old and dilapidated. Not unusable, but getting there.

Other Thoughts:

For the land the park was given, they used it incredibly well. You can always wish there was more elevation, but even without it there are still some tough pars to get. The lack of elevation does make the course easier to play through, but in the long run it doesn't hold up against some of the other top courses in the area. Still worth a play, but nothing to go out of the way for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Mhageman4
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.2 years 42 played 41 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Long course, Longer grass 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 26, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is not a course to bring beginners to (For me that is a pro!!)

Every hole has alternate spots the basket could be placed at and the corresponding distances.

All of the tee pads were cement and long enough to get a good drive.

Most holes had a map and number (probably 15 of the 18 were labeled, a few were vandalized and i believe 16 had no sign at all)

A wide variety of forehand and backhand needed... trees are a challenge but not thick enough to lose a disc.

Cons:

I loved the options to move the basket placement, but I wish there was a way to know if the basket was set at location A,B, or C at the time. Some of the holes were 600+ft and you weren't sure from the tee pad if you were aiming to the left or right without walking the hole before throwing.

The grass throughout was LONG and you could waste a minute searching for your disc on every throw in the fareway.

A few times after finishing a hole you would see a tee pad that was close but was NOT yours (thinking from hole 4 to hole 7). An arrow in the basket or something could have helped.

Other Thoughts:

Great, long distance course. Nice to have a challenge as an advanced player and feel proud just to hit par on a few of these holes. A great course just three miles from Kansas Speedway and Legends Outlet Mall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Chuck Reed
Experience: 41 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice! could be better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great Tee pads
Flags on baskets

Cons:

Signs are missing on a couple of holes.
Most signs are vandalized

Other Thoughts:

The time I played there I played alone and got turned around. Next Tee indicators are needed on the baskets or the signs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Mr. Pole Jangles
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wyandotte is way fun! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 28, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of my favorite courses in Kansas City. It is rarely busy. Most holes are reasonable. There is some elevation change. There are a variety of different holes. I like the older trees. I really like the trees lining hole 2 and 18. The tee pads are nice and big. The signage is decent.

Cons:

The grass can get long. One of the tee pads was getting replaced. The baskets are a little older and the flags could be replaced. Some of the signage needs to be replaced. It would be nice if there were some bag holders on the signs. I think that hole 13 is obnoxious in its length.

Other Thoughts:

It can be a challenge to drive to it as there is a bridge out on one road so you'll have to use an alternative route. The course does have some warts but the fact that it is not crowded on nice days on the weekends really helps.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Wyandotte Will Work 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 26, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wyandotte County Park has enough going on to keep the game interesting. 18 holes with concrete tee pads, signs at each tee, and good baskets. A park that has mature trees strewn about the lawns covering gently rolling hills.

The elevation changes are not great, but are definitely noticeable. The trees will serve as obstacles on nearly every hole, but rarely become dense enough to block large stretches by overlapping. There are some long holes with several par 4's, and multiple pin positions on many of the holes.

A casual round that is good for learning or practicing the fundamental throws. Not super technical, but with enough shaping to work out a lot of different shots.

The best holes for me were 4 and 7. They are two of the most wooded sections of the course. Hole 4 in the short position had a decent drive around a few trees, followed by a hard dogleg right through a window that passes over a creek bed. Hole 7 went down a slope that carries toward the right into a cluster of trees that surround the pin.

Cons:

If you have a top level skill set there won't be enough resistance to present a serious challenge here. Keep it out of the branches, and you shouldn't have a lot of trouble making par or better.

Other Thoughts:

I played this one with a few random discs floating around in the bed of my truck. No mid ranges, no putters. Didn't have the bag with me, but was driving by and decided to give it a shot.

Scored a 63, which was only one over par going by the DGCR app. This seemed to be a generous par, as some holes were kind of long, but only 3 really felt like legit par 4's. This could be to due to pins being in short placements.

There was two baskets on hole 2, but the rest had only one. Made deuces on hole 8 and 10, and my only 5 was on hole 7. 8 was just a nice drive but nothing special. 10 was a good tee shot also. but I converted on a longer putt that was downhill behind the basket making it more of a risk if you overshoot. I had a rotten drive on 7 and bonked a tree on my first putt.

Overall a nice course in a nice park that has a few nice holes. Nothing outstanding, but very enjoyable. The clouds kept it overcast and cool when I visited, and the wind was not overpowering.

If you take any interest in farming, the Agriculture Hall of Fame and Museum are right across the street. Dig it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Coberley16
Experience: 9.9 years 2 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

I'll keep looking 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good open areas. Good use of flags on baskets for tough to see shots.

Cons:

Grass had not been maintained. I was playing in shin-high to knee-high grass and I'm 6'3". No real fairway/out of bounds marked.

Other Thoughts:

I'll keep looking around for a course I enjoy playing more often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
juswinginit
Experience: 10.9 years 124 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

in need of mowin' 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 25, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

great spacious park setting, rolling hills, mature trees, huge tee pads, great variety in hole length- a couple short enough to make ace runs- several long enough to test your arm. generous space between fairways. well signed, easy layout to follow, benches at every tee pad.....and half of the course was recently mowed.....

Cons:

.....but the other half.....not mowed....and parts are getting pretty gnarly....its one thing to spend some time looking for a disc when you miss the fairway, but when it is a realistic possibility to lose a disc when you hit the fairway, thats just not my idea of fun.

Other Thoughts:

If completely mowed it is definitely a 3.5. But, in the condition it was in when I was there, I feel I am being generous to give it a 3.0. Mow. please. thank you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
edclay
Experience: 9 years 9 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

I'll be back! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 10, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

A beautiful setting. Not a lot of trees but the ones that are there are large and wide and affect shot selection. With all the rain we've had lately, this course seemed hardly affected. Only a few sloppy spots. The fairway grass was tall in some areas but not overly concerned. Again, it's been a rainy period and that would affect maintenance. I had a course map but found the tees fairly well marked. All seemed to have benches and most had trash containers. A very clean course.

Cons:

I never found the basket on 4. I eventually ended up thinking it may be in for repair. Now I think I just missed it. References to the length of the grass in other reviews, I would agree if not maintained regularly could be unpleasant.

Other Thoughts:

This is a very good course, at least on the day I played. I did very badly and I"m not that good to start with. But it was my 1st time on the course and figuring out where the baskets are and what would be the best shot makes a difference. I know I'll do better next time. The main obstacle the course presented me were the trees. I would get just high enough to catch the bottom branches and lose distance. Or I would not give a tree enough distance to get around it. Challenging for me but that's what makes it fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
SirDreward
Experience: 15 years 38 played 23 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Big Course for Big Arms 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 1, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Nicely maintained concrete teepads and benches.
- DGA baskets fairly well maintained with flags.
- Nice park overall.
- Well marked.
- Bridges over creeks where needed.
- Uses the topography and trees well for such an big and open course.
- Only one real water hazard.
- Lost disc return.

Cons:

- Lack of trashcans.

Other Thoughts:

As the title of my review states, it's a big course for big arms. The grass in spring to fall can be a bear if not mowed. The wind can be a big factor because it is so open. It takes a lot of people to make this course seem busy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
air show
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.5 years 223 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Air Show 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 18, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Large concrete tee pads & mach 3s. Beautiful trees and stunning fairways. Many chances to fire the big gun. This is my kind of course. Tight enough to keep focus and long enough to wear me out. This is my favorite course to play in the kc metro.

Cons:

Turf Turf Turf.

This is my home course and one of the worst maintained (turf) parks in the kc metro. Yesterday 7/18/15 the grass was higher than a standing disc with wild flowers up to the knees.

Have been throwing here for about 8 yrs and the turf maintenance has always sucked.

Other Thoughts:

However not a course to miss. When mowed (maybe every 3 1/2 weeks) wyco is a solid five ranking. This course can be paradise. Rarely busy and always peaceful. I love competing against this course. If you can par 3 this course you got game!

The local club (KCFDC) are the only ones to credit for this great course.

Water hydrants by shelters after baskets 2 and 15.

Park closes at midnight - great place to glow.

KCFDC league play on Friday evenings.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
t55dude
Experience: 10.3 years 18 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

enjoyable course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very large tee boxes. Easy to follow course. Good use of the terrain, trees strategically placed to add just the right difficulty. Lee action changes are subtle but noticeable. Beautiful park, Very clean course. Benches on nearly every hole. Multiple pins on every hole should keep locals coming back. Tee signs are very well done.

Cons:

Park is huge and there are no signs directing you to the course. Only one tee pad on e very hole. Most holes are very long and a player who throws up to 300' is not given enough birdie chances. Would be nice to know what pin the baskets are in at the tee pad, The drive definitely changes depending on pin location for most holes.

Other Thoughts:

As a visiting player from the east coast, I would definitely play the course again. While not my favorite course in the area, it is definitely worth the trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
ChalkRocks
Experience: 8 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Go Big 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I'll start off by saying that this is my home course. I play here at least once a week. It is rarely crowded, which I love. Baskets are all in pretty good shape with giant teepads for each hole. Really nice for the large run ups needed for this beast of a course. It's a great workout and takes around 2 hours to play if you're moving quick. Trash cans are rarely full, if ever and there are benches on every hole. Very nice indeed. You're about 5 min from legends so plenty of conveniences right around the corner

Cons:

The average length of this course is around 450 ft per hole. I have a decent arm but even I get a little tired of the constant huge drives necessary for this course.

And then there's the biggest draw back to this course, taking it down a solid 1.5 in rating. Grass upkeep. If you're lucky enough to play immediately after a mowing, it's fantastic. However the grass is generally mown once a month and gets long. I mean really long. In the summer it's gotten above my knees on multiple occasions. Really frustrating on such a pretty course.

Other Thoughts:

This course is at least a 4/5 when freshly mown. It's large, open, moderately challenging and pretty. But when the grass is long, it can be infuriating. Make sure you pack a pair of long socks or long pants during the summer months
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Aceman53nc
Experience: 18 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Easter disc golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice course. Pack a lunch and expect to walk a lot , went for first time today and it was beautiful. Don't go on Friday afternoon unless your in league.

Cons:

Well manicured fun holes

Other Thoughts:

Flags need replacing?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
constantlyej
Experience: 11 years 13 played 6 reviews
4.50 star(s)

WyCo, Beautiful Course to Test Your Arm 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 23, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is extremely clean, and well laid out. There are a few really long pin placements which really allow you to test your arm. Holes 1 and 18 are some of the prettiest tunnels that leave just enough open space to allow your disc move left to right without banging into trees, but if you're release isn't perfect you are destined to get caught up behind some wood. However, the trees are very well kept, so there is not a ton of underbrush to deal with. Hole 16 has a nasty OB with brush, a steep hill, and a bunch of cedars and thorny weeds along the left-hand side- STAY RIGHT!. Overall, this course is really beautiful, and pretty wide open.

Cons:

If it's windy, it's going to be a really really long day. It's not the longest course in the world, and the elevation is moderate, but the wind could make a good player really frustrated. I strongly suggest getting your rollers going for you if the wind is up.

However, as of the time I played (Oct 23, 2013), the grass was just high enough that my rollers weren't as great as I would have wanted- still it helped beat the wind and give me more distance than some of the longer lifted bombs I attempted.

Other Thoughts:

This was my worst score in a long time. The par on the placements at the time was a 65- I shot a 76. Part of it is that I wasn't hitting my puts, another part was it was my first cold outing of the year, but mainly- it was just because I don't have the best arm yet. What I would typically get out 300-325 was dropping down around 275. I had a total of 4 pars the entire round.

But the course was pretty much all to ourselves, I think we saw one other guy playing single on the course. The course is so pretty, I really can't believe that there weren't more people out playing! I can't wait to hit this course again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
jjw4ucm
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 39 played 33 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great setting and great course for big arms!

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 22, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

UPDATE (6/4/2024): Like most of the courses in the KC area, this one now has multiple pin positions on each hole. The shorter positions are much more beginner-friendly; previously, this course was almost too long for anyone without a monster arm, but it's now much more accessible. Original review follows from 2013:

The course seems to work in very nice harmony with the lay of the land. It's sprawled over a large park and many of the trees help to create natural fairways and incorporate some challenge.

A lot of reviewers have cautioned beginners about this course, but I'm new to the game and really enjoyed the chance to throw as hard as I could without worrying I'd lose my disc or end up waaaay in the rough somewhere. The trees/obstacles punish you somewhat on bad drives, so it maintains the same difficulty of a rough/woods without getting burrs all over your legs.

Seemed to be very nicely mowed and maintained when we were there. Very minimal trash and other debris around. The weeds were very closely cut as well.

I liked the park setting; it felt very peaceful and was a great place to spend some time on a Saturday afternoon. The shelters and playgrounds were occupied but they weren't close enough to the holes generally to cause problems (except maybe the playground near 17).

There's a lot of ripping your driver and throwing long and far on this course, but the woods and other obstacles that are there are used very well I think. The trees aren't very thick, but they're deceptively big and can eat up your drives if you're not careful with your shot.

Huge, long tee pads and benches at every hole. There were also several bathrooms at the shelters you pass by on your way through the course. Lots of creature comforts; there's also a gas station very near by for your convenience needs beforehand.

Multiple pin placements that often change the par of the hole. Signage wasn't always perfect, but it generally got us in the correct vicinity. When the holes are around 400-500 feet, sometimes you can't avoid walking up on them.

Not crowded! We played on a Saturday afternoon, and there were only a couple other groups playing close to us.

Yes, the course is long, but there was enough variety that it kept me interested until the very last hole.603

In the middle of nowhere, so the neighborhood is fine.

There's even some water near hole 15 that, if you aren't careful, could eat a disc. Given the pin position that's currently in place, you'd have to horribly overshoot the hole to do that, but just an FYI. I liked the element and how the designer used the obstacles available.

Signs and tee pads are in good condition. Also, there's flags on top of every basket (on a course with 700 foot holes, it'd be cruel not to have them). The flags and baskets look a bit worn, but it doesn't affect the gameplay.

Navigation is significantly aided by the little stones with arrows near the holes.

I also really liked having a warm-up basket right by the first hole to practice on.

Cons:

UPDATE (6/4/2024): I will say that in some ways, this course feels like it has fallen behind some of the others in the area. The tee pads and signage aren't as good as you'll find at Lakeside Hills, which also has a ton of long bombs and does a better job with its shot selection. Original review from 2013 follows:

There really wasn't a good sense of a "fairway" on this course. This could go either way, since I also appreciated the lack of burrs/weeds everywhere. However, it made the OB areas on a few holes harder to find and I think it would make the course flow a bit better and look even nicer than it already does.

As much as I loved this course, the shots did seem to be a bit repetitive, mostly since you were throwing so far away. Not excessively so and I wasn't bored, but it's the same basic approach in many cases.

I feel bad listing several of these as "cons", since you should know what you're getting into before you come here. If you like technical shots, tunnel shots, woodsy areas, and shorter holes, this course is just not for you, plain and simple. However, it is stuff you wouldn't think of on most of the area courses I've played.

Carve out a good chunk of time. There's just two of us and it took us over 2 hours to play! It was a gorgeous day and we wanted to go to Legends after anyway so it wasn't a big deal, but if it's extremely hot or you didn't bring water/a snack, you might be advised to play elsewhere.

It's a drive from almost anywhere besides Western Wyandotte/Shawnee/Lenexa. I recommend making a day of it.

Kansas is indeed windy, and with so many huge drives, the effect of wind is exaggerated a bit.

Even I would have appreciated a couple more technical, shorter shots. I have a fairly big arm, but players who can't throw very far could get very discouraged by the time the course is over.

Generally navigation was fairly easy, but we were left wandering a couple times when we didn't see a stone telling us where to go.

Be aware of the roads near 5 and 6; don't bean a car!

Be prepared to spend a bit of time walking up on quite a few holes. They're all pretty spread out and unless you want to shoot blind, you'd be advised to figure out where they are (especially 4!).

Other Thoughts:

UPDATE (6/4/2024): This is an older course that I still love playing - it was one of the first ones I started playing with my then-girlfriend, now-wife over 11 years ago so I have tons of great memories playing out here even though we lived all the way across town. However, it does feel like it's being overshadowed a bit by the other, newer courses in town. Lakeside Hills in Olathe and Bad Rock Creek in Liberty are two great examples of this. I still love this one, though, as it's a unique, different course and there really isn't one quite like it in the KC area. Original review from 2013 follows:

The course is spread out over a huge park in western Wyandotte County, on the far northwest corner of the metro somewhat close to the Kansas Speedway. There's a gas station nearby for your convenience needs.

There are several shelters, playgrounds, and roads nearby. They are generally not too much in the way of play, so I didn't include that in either pros or cons. There were actually several groups using them when we were there and we never came close to them whatsoever, but just be aware!

The setting for the course is gorgeous, and even through it was long and challenging, we both enjoyed it. My girlfriend, who will admit she can't throw too terribly far, even said that the park itself made up for the sometimes lack of variety and constant approach to most of the shots. Fix those two things, and it'd be an easy 4.0. Even with, I feel comfortable with that rating and absolutely LOVED this course. Happy discing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
bkern85
Experience: 16.1 years 34 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Dotte 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great variety of distances and shot selection. Ranges from wide open to tunnel shots. Multiple pin placements that will change the way you approach many of the pins. Usually well kept and mowed nicely. Multi-purpose park, but the course around that so there are really no distractions or waiting for cars to go by. Good use of what elevation there is available at the course.

Cons:

Very long course! Can take up to 2 hours or more to play all 18 holes! Bring water and a snack if you aren't used to the hike. I have gotten poison ivy there before as well, so keep an eye open for that when you're in the wooded parts.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a nice course to try out and one I always enjoy playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
bigreddog
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.4 years 202 played 63 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Like playing in a wind tunnel 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 9, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Huge variety of distance in the holes, and I really liked that there were a lot of holes that weren't par 3's. There was even one par 5 with an 800 foot hole position up a mild hill for the last two thirds of the hole. At the same time, hole 8 is a very aceable 280. Distance variety is also helped by alternate hole positions mentioned below. For sure one of the best in this respect. 10/10

Concrete tees and good baskets. 10/10

Almost every hole has at least one alternate hole position, and many have 2 alternates. Unlike some courses, there are huge differences in the distance when the alternate hole positions are used, and many change the par scores of the holes. 9/10

Even though the majority of drives are fairly open (about 12 holes, 1,2, 9, 10, 12, and 18 are the tight ones I remember), many of the holes are par 4's with the second shots being tighter, so overall I'd give the variety of openness on shots an 8/10

The course requires players to make decisions on the par 4's, the par 3's are pretty straightforward but the par 4's really make you pick a spot that you want to throw your second shot from. 8/10

The elevation and obstacles are used pretty well at this course even though there isn't a ton of either of them. They do a great job of combining them to keep the holes interesting. Elevation 7/10, obstacles 9/10

Navigation on the holes themselves is pretty good with tee signs. There are still some blind shots that make it hard to tell (holes 4, 5 and 10) in some cases, and baskets 7 and 9 are kind of close together. 6/10

Navigation between holes is a little bit of a problem on some holes, it's not exactly intuitive in several cases. After 7 and 9 both it looks like the next tee is what is actually 17. The course does a neat thing that I've never seen anywhere else though and puts in stone discs on the ground next to the baskets with an arrow pointing toward the next tee on the holes where it's difficult to tell so it's not too bad. 6/10

Discs are easy to find if it's mowed. However, when it's not like it is at the time of this update they can dig down a little to where you pretty much have to be on top of the disc to see it. There are some holes that have slightly blind shots such as 10, that make it more difficult, but in general the brush of the forested areas is very thin relative to many courses and make the discs easier to find without going romping through all of it. Pretty much the only thing is that the trees tend to grab them up, so if you don't see them on the ground check there. 6/10

Course is maintained pretty well for the most part but recently (May and June) it wasn't always mowed well. It was mowed once again in July. There are benches on almost every hole. All the times I played it last year it was mowed down on the actual holes, and even in the more forested areas the brush is very thin. Hole signs are present on every hole, some look like they've been used as target practice for air rifles, but other than that great job. It's an 8/10 if it's mowed but currently 5/10


There are bathrooms on site, benches on every hole, and quite a bit of shade. A couple of sketchy water pumps if you're desperate. There is one major problem which is the longer grass is itchy (see course maintenance in next section), 4/10 on comfort during the round if not mowed, 6/10 if it is.

Cons:

The course doesn't require too much of a variety of shot paths to be successful. Straight and as far as you can throw is pretty much always a good start. If you have misses off the tee you could need a certain shape to get close, but if you play a first shot to a good spot you can almost always have a straightforward second shot (hole four is an exception no matter which hole position it's in). With this said, it would be nice if the par threes could throw in some more curves. 2/10

Overall it's a pretty long course which makes it difficult and grueling for beginners or shorter throwers. It is great for intermediates and advanced players (who could just play everything as par 3 for more of a challenge), but as far as challenging all skill levels without being too hard to be fun I'd say 3/10

Other Thoughts:

Hole 4 is a very unique hole in both positions. Definitely my favorite hole out there.

This course is extremely vulnerable to wind. The first time the wind was howling the entire time, the second time we got there at ten, so it wasn't too bad at first, but it picked up throughout the round and by about hole 12 it was blowing just as hard. To me this is a con, but I know many people like the additional challenge of wind, so I put it here instead. I would definitely recommend playing early in the morning or later in the afternoon to avoid this unless you like 800ft holes uphill and into the wind.

I like how if you miss with your drives you are punished by making your next shot harder.

I also really like a mix of par 3's and par 4's in a course, it helps add more variety to the strategy and I think most courses need more of them. I'd like to see more course with par in the low 60's like this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 10
paulbmann
Experience: 34.3 years 67 played 10 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Distance Contest Mostly 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 28, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good tee signs with distance to the basket well marked. Good concrete pads and very large. Nice benches.

Cons:

Seems to be designed for 450-foot throwers.
The tree locations seemed to be random without providing real fairways. When you do find a fairway on some holes the fairway is 400 feet long and if you cannot throw that far you don't have any other route to the basket. It's hard to describe. I did not find hardly any fun holes. Most seemed similar, just random tree placements. Lots of missed opportunity to create great holes, because the land has potential. Almost every hole is a long shot 10 feet high. Not much variety of shots required.

Other Thoughts:

After taking 2.5 hours to finish the round, it really was not worth it. Just not much fun or variety.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top