Disc Golf Course Review

Disc Golf Course Review (https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/index.php)
-   Rules Questions & Discussion (https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Disc under bridge - how do you mark it? (https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=130488)

olkok 03-19-2018 11:01 AM

Disc under bridge - how do you mark it?
 
In our park we have quite a few bridges over canals that are not more than a few feet deep. Sometimes there is water in the canal and sometimes there's not. If disc lands in the canal under the bridge and there is no water, where do you mark your lie, under the bridge and take your best stance or on the bridge above your disc? Both surfaces are considered as playing surfaces.

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80205
802.05 Lie

JC17393 03-19-2018 11:02 AM

Under the bridge. If the disc is on a playing surface, you play it from that playing surface.

robdeforge 03-19-2018 11:14 AM

Agreed with JC.

Quote:

The playing surface is a surface, generally the ground, which is capable of supporting the player and from which a stance can reasonably be taken.
IF a stance can reasonably be taken under the bridge, that would be the lie.

BogeyNoMore 03-19-2018 11:51 AM

Then I assume the canals are not considered OB?

olkok 03-19-2018 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore (Post 3287238)
Then I assume the canals are not considered OB?

Only OB if there is water in them. Right now they are mostly dry.

sisyphus 03-19-2018 07:33 PM

I once had a bizarre kick off a tree that wedged my disc up under the center edge support of a bridge, which crosses an 8' ravine with near vertical sides. It was impossible to take a stance behind the disc, so I brought it up to the playing surface on the bridge. Missed the putt anyway.

BobFromAccounting 03-19-2018 08:14 PM

Apologies for jumping the thread. I have a related question though.

Yesterday, a friend's disc landed in a small canal, which had running water in it and is approximately a foot wide. I called his disc OB, to which he replied a canal had to be three feet (or more) wide.

Is there any truth to this?

davetherocketguy 03-19-2018 09:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BobFromAccounting (Post 3287449)
Apologies for jumping the thread. I have a related question though.

Yesterday, a friend's disc landed in a small canal, which had running water in it and is approximately a foot wide. I called his disc OB, to which he replied a canal had to be three feet (or more) wide.

Is there any truth to this?

If its casual play then call it however the heck you want. A tournament or league though (at least I would think) this sort of thing ought to be address by the TD/LD especially if the water level varies. Personally, I'd be tempted to make the entire canal OB outlined with white paint. Of course I am saying all this site unseen. I do not recall seeing anything in the rules having to do with the width of the stream.

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80603

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80602

In essence, the way I treat it is, if it isn't defined as being OB then it isn't. Most folks just assume that permanent standing water such as lakes, ponds, rivers or creeks but if there isn't a TD, LD or sign to indicate what is and isn't OB then it's all inbounds. Am I right in this line of thought?

In any case, sometimes to eliminate bad feelings in casual rounds I like to always address the OB on each hole before anyone tees off. "You play that roadway as OB?" "Yep" kind of thing goes a long way to fostering a more pleasant round.

-Dave

JC17393 03-19-2018 09:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BobFromAccounting (Post 3287449)
Apologies for jumping the thread. I have a related question though.

Yesterday, a friend's disc landed in a small canal, which had running water in it and is approximately a foot wide. I called his disc OB, to which he replied a canal had to be three feet (or more) wide.

Is there any truth to this?

Zero truth whatsoever. If the designation is "water is OB" then if the disc is surrounded by water, it's OB. The width of the body of water is irrelevant.

Of course, that assumes that the water is supposed to be OB in the first place. In a casual situation, it's up to you guys how to play it, but there is certainly no support for your friend's position in the rule book.

ToddL 03-19-2018 11:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by olkok (Post 3287192)
In our park we have quite a few bridges over canals that are not more than a few feet deep. Sometimes there is water in the canal and sometimes there's not. If disc lands in the canal under the bridge and there is no water, where do you mark your lie, under the bridge and take your best stance or on the bridge above your disc? Both surfaces are considered as playing surfaces.

https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80205
802.05 Lie

There’s a lot of misconceptions about the bridge rules. PDGA rules say that they’re stacked playing surfaces. A lot of people invent some sort of “verticality” rule and claim you can move the lie up to the bridge. But the rules don’t say anything about being able to move the disc from one playing surface to a different playing surface. If the disc is on the ground under the bridge, then it’s on the playing surface and you have to play it as it lies.

The gray area to me is where does the ground playing surface end? If the bottom of the bridge is 5’ above the ground, then you can reasonably take a stance under it, and the ground is therefore a playing surface.
If the bridge is 1’ above the ground and you can cram your foot under the bridge, is that a “reasonable stance”?
If the bridge is 6” above the ground and you have to break your damn ankle to take a stance, is that a “reasonable stance”?

And if you can’t take a reasonable stance, do you bump up to the bridge surface or do you take relief behind the bridge?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.