Disc Golf Course Review

Disc Golf Course Review (https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/index.php)
-   Discs (https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Just starting out. Disc recommendations? (https://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9069)

Micycle 11-13-2009 03:08 PM

Just starting out. Disc recommendations?

A friend took me disc golfing the other day and I'm looking into getting a set of discs. Any suggestions for someone just starting out?

jdggna 11-13-2009 03:15 PM

Nothing faster than a mid, unless its a leopard. Understable as well(Comet, wolf, stingray, etc)...and don't get max weights either. Low to mid 160s is more than enough. If you search the threads you'll find several threads with similar questions. They may not all be titled correctly though.

tn407 11-13-2009 03:23 PM

I have been playing for a about 8 months now. I would recommend getting a fairway driver or a midrange and a putter. If your local course(s) are wooded, a more durable plastic would probably be best. I started out with a champion teebird and pro rhyno. However, I would also recommend:

Fairway drivers:

- Innova Teebird
- Innova Leopard
- Discraft XL

Midranges:

- Discraft Buzzz
- Innova Roc
- Innova Cobra

Putters:

- Innova Rhyno (in pro plastic)
- Innova Star Aero

By the way, I would recommend mids and drivers in the mid 160's. Good luck with your search!

toothyfish 11-13-2009 03:41 PM

If I had it to do over:

Aviar (putter), Cobra or Coyote (mid), Leopard (fairway driver) - all about 165-167 in DX plastic

These will be easier to throw and learn on and not cost a fortune. As you get the hang of it, you could add a Roc, and then eventually a Teebird. These 5 would cover most of your game.

Don't get distance crazy, trying all the distance drivers. All in good time.

Of course, some help in proper technique from some of your more experienced friends and local club is just as important.

Technohic 11-13-2009 03:46 PM