BogeyNoMore |
09-03-2020 11:27 AM |
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocthecourse
(Post 3627449)
It would seem to me the towel would be legal, but for the mini it would depend. If someone called it then it would be illegal at least until you talk to the TD.
Hopefully someone who is more knowledgeable of the rules will chime in on this.
|
Uli was making a case for using a mini as a directional aid, citing Lisa Fajkus' penalty... hence illegal. I suppose you could use a mini as a directional aid, in which case, I suppose it would be illegal.
But I wouldn't say Jerm's use of it there was directional. Although he was allowed to use the entire tee as a lie, he chose to mark his lie farther back on the line of play, specifically to avoid the dip at the front of the tee.
I don't see how that particular use of a mini is any different than standard use of a mini.
He just chose to move farther from the basket along the LOP.
I would've have taken this discussion over to the rules forum, to avoid derailing this thread. It's just too big a pain in the butt to do it on my phone.
|