Thread: PDGA OB
View Single Post
Old 10-10-2012, 12:07 PM
DiscJunkie's Avatar
DiscJunkie DiscJunkie is offline
* Ace Member *
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wilmington, NC
Years Playing: 9.4
Courses Played: 39
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 4,156
Niced 70 Times in 40 Posts

If I may weigh in with a personal observation to go along with all the expert analysis on this thread:
This was one of the most fun USDGC's to watch...ever.
Friday, I was standing between the last two groups on #8.
As the 2nd card left the basket, I stood on the edge of the wood chips at #8's basket to watch the first card tee off.
Will threw first and threw it all the way to our feet. We were stunned that he made it that far.
Nikko threw two good, but unlucky, rollers that didn't make it through a small OB "pocket" area. Then he threw an airshot that made it past where the rollers died.

All those things would not have happened with a normal OB rule.
They wouldn't have risked it.
Whether or not the rule was a good thing can be debated by everyone, but for a couple spectators, it was "just right".
Reply With Quote