View Single Post
  #10  
Old 05-22-2015, 11:22 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 18.4
Courses Played: 68
Posts: 1,283
Niced 279 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
There's a potential interpretation of the disc above/below the playing surface 802.02C that might allow the disc to be marked up on the bank or in the river bed (if water not OB). Essentially, the above/below rule implies that there are inbounds locations a disc can land that are "not playing surfaces" even though there's no definition that directly defines certain inbounds areas as "not a playing surface".

So why is this almost vertical surface at the edge of the river bed any different than if this vertical surface was say the surface of a tree trunk or the side of a crack below the ground? It would seem the purpose of 802.02C is to allow players to reposition their mark (without penalty) when landing above/below a nearby playing surface where they can physically take a stance.

The difference is the edge of a river bed is a playing surface. Since when are tree trunks a playing surface? Your argument here is a slippery slope.
Reply With Quote