#11  
Old 10-15-2021, 11:27 AM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 968
Niced 727 Times in 382 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discoriented View Post
I don’t think fiddling with a range finder should be cause for extra time either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
It's not.
just to provide a link:

https://www.pdga.com/faq/rules/qa-eq...e-rangefinders

Quote:
QA-EQU-1: Can I use rangefinders?

Yes, but you must still throw within the 30 seconds allowed by the Excessive Time rule.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-15-2021, 11:41 AM
Nale72 Nale72 is online now
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Years Playing: 1.3
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 73
Niced 77 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horsman View Post
When did Gannon get called.
If I remember correctly it was in the second half of the back 9 he was warned and they said the call was made by an official and not the players in his card.

I agree about that Nikko would have deserved a few time warnings also for a long time, but from when I saw Gannon and Nikko in the same card a while ago, Gannon might even be slower (and slow on all kinds of shots) than Nikko. With Nikko it's mostly his putts, but Gannon is slow on all shots.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-15-2021, 12:23 PM
Jimb's Avatar
Jimb Jimb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: WV near Cumberland, MD
Years Playing: 14.9
Courses Played: 126
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,495
Niced 1,323 Times in 579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by discoriented View Post
I don’t think fiddling with a range finder should be cause for extra time either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
It's not.
Going beyond 30 seconds due to using a rangefinder may not be allowed by the rules, but it certainly does seem to be the cause sometimes.

Get to your lie. Walk back to the bag. Unzip your rangefinder bag and whip it out. Walk back to your lie. Use the range finder. Walk back to your bag. Zip it back in the bag. Walk back to your lie. Then go through normal throw prep. Etc. I've seen it happen on coverage and haven't put a timer on anyone. Maybe we/they should. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-15-2021, 01:50 PM
flatflip's Avatar
flatflip flatflip is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Tejas
Years Playing: 1.6
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 259
Niced 158 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robdeforge View Post
Seems like this should be somewhat tempered by
802.03.A.2 They have had a reasonable amount of time to arrive at and determine the lie.

Part of determining the lie is assessing how far it is from the basket, no? Now what a "reasonable amount of time" is is probably the crux of the debate.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-15-2021, 02:17 PM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 26.7
Courses Played: 122
Posts: 8,053
Niced 4,892 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatflip View Post
Seems like this should be somewhat tempered by
802.03.A.2 They have had a reasonable amount of time to arrive at and determine the lie.

Part of determining the lie is assessing how far it is from the basket, no
? Now what a "reasonable amount of time" is is probably the crux of the debate.
No it is not. "Determining the lie" is figuring out where to mark, not how far from the pin.

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-15-2021, 02:19 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 20.6
Courses Played: 77
Posts: 1,503
Niced 626 Times in 300 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatflip View Post
Part of determining the lie is assessing how far it is from the basket, no? .
No. If the lie is not being relocated, you only need to know where the basket is and the thrown disc is to determine the lie. The distance does not matter.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-15-2021, 02:22 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 968
Niced 727 Times in 382 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatflip View Post
Part of determining the lie is assessing how far it is from the basket, no?
according to

Quote:
QA-EQU-1: Can I use rangefinders?

Yes, but you must still throw within the 30 seconds allowed by the Excessive Time rule.
no, assessing your distance from the basket is not part of determining the lie. otherwise that Q&A would be worded differently.

edit: lol sorry for piling on, none of the other responses were there when I started!

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-15-2021, 03:04 PM
flatflip's Avatar
flatflip flatflip is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Tejas
Years Playing: 1.6
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 259
Niced 158 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Well that got shot down pretty quickly.

I should note that I do not use a rangefinder and am strongly in favor of the enforcement of the time limit rule.

Still, unless "determination of the lie" has a strict definition in the rulebook, there is room for interpretation.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-15-2021, 03:57 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 968
Niced 727 Times in 382 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatflip View Post
Well that got shot down pretty quickly.

I should note that I do not use a rangefinder and am strongly in favor of the enforcement of the time limit rule.

Still, unless "determination of the lie" has a strict definition in the rulebook, there is room for interpretation.
krupicka is the chair of the rules committee, I'm inclined to listen to what he has to say. to "determine the lie" one only needs to find their disc and see where the basket (or any mandatories) are. no need to figure out how far the basket is to determine the lie.

Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 10-15-2021, 04:25 PM
flatflip's Avatar
flatflip flatflip is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Tejas
Years Playing: 1.6
Courses Played: 2
Posts: 259
Niced 158 Times in 99 Posts
Default

Unfortunately, he's not going to be at every tournament, so it wouldn't surprise me if a TD gets the question. FWIW, I would shoot it down pretty quickly if I were the TD.

I'm coming from the world of building code compliance. Statements like this get litigated all the time. Luckily the spirit of our game is such that we don't have a rule book as thick as the IBC, where there's a chapter thicker than the PDGA rulebook just containing definitions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excessive Time Call fishballer06 Rules Questions & Discussion 3 06-14-2019 08:57 AM
2017 Prediction Contest - DGPT Finals discallday Tournaments & Leagues 15 01-11-2018 04:10 PM
DGPT: Host a Pro Tour House Party: Win a DGPT Zuca Cart! DGPT General Disc Golf Chat 2 09-07-2016 01:15 PM
Excessive Time flowinowen Rules Questions & Discussion 69 04-21-2016 09:43 AM
804.01 Excessive Time kerplunk Rules Questions & Discussion 30 09-02-2014 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.