#11  
Old 10-19-2021, 01:50 PM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 26.7
Courses Played: 122
Posts: 8,053
Niced 4,892 Times in 1,801 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
So, your ruling would be one drive plus lost disc penalty plus practice throw thus sitting 3 on the tee? Seems unintentionally excessive punishment but I agree it seems like the correct by-the-book ruling only because the player discovered the error after one extra throw versus holing out before discovering it. A case of unfortunate timing where the rules resulted in a less equitable judgment for essentially the same situation (IMO).
Technically a misplay not a practice throw. What they are "sitting on the tee" is dependent on when a misplay penalty gets applied but under your math it would be 3.

Personally I think any misplay should be treated the same way regardless of when it is discovered and the penalty for lost disc is out of line with how we penalize everything else. If nothing else is going to be stroke and distance then why is lost disc? OB shots are quite often larger errors than shots which result in a lost disc. I would be fine with the old lost disc rule in lieu of stroke and distance. I would also be fine with stroke and distance for OB as well as for lost disc.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-19-2021, 02:20 PM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 1,129
Niced 981 Times in 387 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
Technically a misplay not a practice throw. What they are "sitting on the tee" is dependent on when a misplay penalty gets applied but under your math it would be 3.

Personally I think any misplay should be treated the same way regardless of when it is discovered and the penalty for lost disc is out of line with how we penalize everything else. If nothing else is going to be stroke and distance then why is lost disc? OB shots are quite often larger errors than shots which result in a lost disc. I would be fine with the old lost disc rule in lieu of stroke and distance. I would also be fine with stroke and distance for OB as well as for lost disc.
Totally agree on the Lost Disc being too harsh and out of step with other penalties. It's always struck me as unfair that lead cards and filmed cards have an unfair advantage in this regard as the chances of them ever losing discs in future is slim with so many eyes on vs 10th card with no spectators. Hopefully courses move more and more towards less unnatural OB and so stroke and distance or a drop from water can be a fairer way to play in future. When unnatural OB is used to create fairways S and D just doesn't play.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-19-2021, 02:37 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 47.7
Courses Played: 474
Posts: 6,082
Niced 3,300 Times in 1,509 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
...This is a situation where players might be savvy to play on from both lies provisionally and let the TD determine a "fair" judgment. ...
Actually, no. As much as we encourage provisional throws, they can only be used 1. to save time (in certain situations) and 2. to appeal a ruling.

Even if provisional throws could save time here, that wouldn't change the ruling in this situation.

If not to save time, there needs to be an appeal. The group has to first make a ruling. Then, if any player wanted to appeal, the thrower could make a set of provisional throws.

You can't use a provisional set of throws to go "ruling fishing".

You also cannot use provisional throws to abdicate your responsibility to make rulings as a group.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-19-2021, 07:55 PM
Rastnav Rastnav is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Durham, NC
Courses Played: 26
Posts: 939
Niced 765 Times in 385 Posts
Default

There is a difference between making a determination and knowing what the rule is. If the card is uncertain about how the rule book applies in a given situation, playing a provisional makes perfect sense.

I think that the odds of a random card having clarity on what the rule is here is roughly nil, because multiple highly knowledgeable people in this thread are unclear, or in disagreement, about what the rule is.

As to application of the rules, what would happen if the disc was subsequently found, but found OB? Would both the OB stroke and the misplay stroke apply? I think it’s the same principle, so I think the lost disc element here is making things more complex than they seem.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-19-2021, 08:50 PM
ToddL ToddL is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Years Playing: 25.7
Courses Played: 161
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,404
Niced 965 Times in 426 Posts
Default

801.02.H: A throw or an action that is subject to penalty under more than one rule is played under the rule that results in the most penalty throws; or, among rules that call for an equal number of penalty throws, the rule that was first violated.

Your drive was lost. Your misplay was your 2nd throw. Those are two separate throws, so they get their own separate penalties.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-19-2021, 11:17 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 47.7
Courses Played: 474
Posts: 6,082
Niced 3,300 Times in 1,509 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastnav View Post
There is a difference between making a determination and knowing what the rule is. If the card is uncertain about how the rule book applies in a given situation, playing a provisional makes perfect sense.

...
It does make sense, but the way the rule is written the provisional throws happen after the group has made a ruling and someone decided to appeal that ruling.

Going through that process can often result in clarity about what the rule is. Or may result in a ruling that no one needs to bother the TD about.

Making a ruling first is better than just saying "we need an adult". With the group ruling first, when you go to the TD the group has narrowed it down to the majority interpretation vs. the appealer's. And, the thrower should have played out both rulings provisionally.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-20-2021, 04:17 AM
rhatton1's Avatar
rhatton1 rhatton1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 1,129
Niced 981 Times in 387 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
It does make sense, but the way the rule is written the provisional throws happen after the group has made a ruling and someone decided to appeal that ruling.

Going through that process can often result in clarity about what the rule is. Or may result in a ruling that no one needs to bother the TD about.

Making a ruling first is better than just saying "we need an adult". With the group ruling first, when you go to the TD the group has narrowed it down to the majority interpretation vs. the appealer's. And, the thrower should have played out both rulings provisionally.
Playing a provisional when the group don't know the rule is not an abdication of responsibility. It's trying to do the right thing and make sure the round is played correctly when none of you are 100% sure of the rules in either a weirdly complex situation or even the most simple. Telling the group to effectively take a vote based on a lack of knowledge is an odd decision but I suppose effectively the rules as written force that. That's how rules misinformation spreads though. "oh we had a situation like this last month, that's how we played it out because there was a group decision...."

If there is doubt in the group as to how the rules should be applied the player should take a provisional and work it out with the TD after. IMO it's better than the group making a decision which turns out to be the wrong one and they get penalised after an overheard conversation a the clubhouse (we've all TD'd and had to add penalties like this before right?) , or doesn't ever get discussed again but said player gets away with something they've played incorrectly to the detriment of the whole field.

Group decisions put a lot of onus on the groups knowing the rules and the caddy book to a level at least on par of people discussing in this forum if not beyond. Whilst that sounds great you can see even at the top level of golf or any other big money professional sport it is unlikely that the players will have that level of knowledge. In an MA4 division what are the chances (actually pretty good with some of the MA4's I know!) .

We shouldn't put roadblocks up for people attempting to play correctly and by the rules. The "appeal a ruling" wording within the provisional rule does effectively do that. This idea that "the group made the decision so it's the decision" is inherently false anyway. The TD can always apply misplays at a later stage so why not give the best chance for the course to be played correctly a the time rather than ask groups to make poor decisions based on poor knowledge and have to miss things or penalise players later.

It's not like there is an issue with Provisionals being overused in the sport. If in doubt play a provisional. I feel another thread oncoming...


Coming back to the op I'm still not clear what the player should be penalised here. A provisional would not be required in this instance as it's definitely a group called Lost disc so the Lie is known and obvious. They are back at the previous lie with one penalty, just need to know if we then layer on a misplay penalty as well.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-20-2021, 11:49 AM
chevis's Avatar
chevis chevis is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: the dry shttys
Years Playing: 18.7
Courses Played: 139
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,956
Niced 572 Times in 267 Posts
Default

yes. the misplay is a separate throw, therefore separate (added) penalty. it does seem overly harsh, but like many penalties, you are punished for not paying close attention to things (in this case the disc you're throwing from).

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-20-2021, 12:52 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 47.7
Courses Played: 474
Posts: 6,082
Niced 3,300 Times in 1,509 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhatton1 View Post
Playing a provisional when the group don't know the rule ....

There is a lot of merit to the idea of wording the provisional rule so that it could be used anytime there is any doubt.

However, that's not how it is now. A TD could, technically, say all the provisional throws were practice throws if there was no appeal. Just as they could if the thrower failed to declare that the extra throws were provisional.

I'm trying to inform everyone of how to legally use provisional throws under the current rules.

It is a huge priviledge to be allowed to try to get it right by being allowed to make extra throws. There needs to be some restriction on when that priviledge is used, just to keep everyone from throwing extra "provisional" throws off the cliff, or saying "that was provisional" after every tree hit.

Right now, the restriction includes a formal declaration of an appeal. Is that so hard?


The group needs to have some idea of the rule in order to know how to play each set of provisional throws. At least they have narrowed it down to "play it like this or that". Might as well pick one as the group ruling. If no one doesn't like it, and the thrower isn't worried that the TD might later call it a misplay, that's the ruling and the thrower plays it out with no provisional throws.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 10-20-2021, 01:57 PM
chevis's Avatar
chevis chevis is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: the dry shttys
Years Playing: 18.7
Courses Played: 139
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,956
Niced 572 Times in 267 Posts
Default

even though this thread should be over, i thought of a similar scenario: same situation as the op, but the thrower(p1) plays from/picks up the wrong disc as his own (looks identical) & puts in his bag. the other thrower (p2) can't find their disc & declares their disc lost then plays from their previous lie (+1stroke). then at some point after finishing this hole, p1 finally realizes he's got the wrong disc. by the rules both players get the 2 stroke misplay penalty (811.f). this seems really unfair to p2 (not only the stroke & distance lost disc penalties, but 2 more for misplay not even their fault). i don't see a way to address this to make it right, it doesn't appear we can use the fairness rule, though it is unfair that p2 is getting the misplay penalty. maybe with an appeal the td could use 801.03d & have p2 replay the hole; it does appear there has to be an incorrect interpretation of the rules for 801.03d to happen and i think i have the interpreted & applied the rules correctly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone play the wrong disc? Docxen General Disc Golf Chat 24 08-07-2018 11:58 AM
How wind affects driving. Correct me Im prob wrong. gcanter2376 General Disc Golf Chat 24 03-11-2012 01:09 PM
I NEED HELP!!!! WRONG DISC SENT!! RPS2012 The Marketplace 25 02-10-2012 08:52 AM
Lost disc / found disc problem - wrong # bazillion General Disc Golf Chat 12 09-01-2009 06:09 PM
Play after a tourney= find of lots of great disc War Eagle General Disc Golf Chat 18 05-12-2009 01:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.