#1  
Old 04-25-2016, 02:40 AM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,552
Niced 534 Times in 260 Posts
Default Scorecard Penalties

Enhanced story, based on a real situation.

Player C had inherited the scorecard and took the scores on 18. But as the scores are being totaled a thunderstorm breaks out and the players run to their cars for shelter. Player C gets to his car, starts it up, turns on the heater and changes into dry socks & shirt, checks that he has 90 minutes before the round 2 player's meeting, and drives off to get a hot lunch.

When player C shows up 5 minutes before the players meeting the other players ask if he turned in the card ... C runs to the TD and gives him the card, but too late -- 2 strokes for all!

However C made errors totaling the scores for players A & B.

So are A & B penalized 4 throws, or is this a situation where you only apply the worst penalty?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2016, 03:32 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

I would say 4 penalty throws. This is two seperate violations that has nothing to do we each other, not like a several penalties on the same throw.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2016, 08:52 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.1
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,962
Niced 3,965 Times in 1,635 Posts
Default

Two throws only.

Incorrect and late scorecards are penalized per the same rule, it doesn't have to be applied twice in the same instance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2016, 09:10 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

How do you figure that JC?
Quote:
All players are responsible for returning their scorecards within 30 minutes of the completion of a round. The round has been officially completed for all competitors when the last group on the course has completed their final hole and has had, in the Director's opinion, reasonable time to travel from their final hole to tournament headquarters. Failure to turn in the scorecard on time shall result in the assessment of two penalty throws, without a warning, to each player listed on the late scorecard.
H. After the scorecard is turned in, the total score as recorded shall stand with no appeal, except for the following circumstances: 1. Penalty throws may be assessed at whatever time the infraction is discovered until the Director declares the tournament officially over or all awards have been distributed.
2. If it is determined that the total score was incorrectly recorded, either by an error on a hole score or by an error in totaling the hole scores, including omission of the total score, the director shall add two penalty throws to the correct total score. These penalty throws are not added when the Director corrects a player's score for other infractions determined after the player had turned in an otherwise correct scorecard.
It's two completely different violations. Isn't that like saying you can only ever be penalized for one OB on the same hole, as it is the same rule?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2016, 09:12 AM
chris deitzel chris deitzel is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slippery Rock, PA
Years Playing: 26.5
Courses Played: 219
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,052
Niced 9 Times in 5 Posts
Default

+4 all day and some really mad people...

Last edited by chris deitzel; 04-25-2016 at 09:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2016, 09:20 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Quote:
801.01 Application of the RulesA throw or an action that is subject to penalty under more than one rule shall be marked and/or penalized in accordance with the rule that results in the most penalty throws, or, among rules that call for an equal penalty, the rule that was first violated.
In your words, it is the same rule, so the above doesn't apply, even if it was the same action, but I contest that failing to turn in your scorecard, and having an incorrect score is the same action. As such I still believe it shoud be 4 penalty throws.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2016, 11:16 AM
stevefolfer's Avatar
stevefolfer stevefolfer is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bozeman, MT
Years Playing: 27.7
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 146
Niced 17 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Each player is responsible for making sure their own correctly added score card is turned in on time. Bonehead move by player C but ultimately it is each players mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2016, 11:45 AM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 12.6
Courses Played: 109
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,058
Niced 220 Times in 123 Posts
Default

This should only happen once to a player they will learn fast that they need to be responsible for their scorecard. I make a habit of stopping my group from walking off after the last hole to take 5 mins add up all the scores, have players check and double check and then make sure that the card is going with someone who is going right to tourney central to turn it in.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2016, 11:58 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 24.7
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 6,835
Niced 2,350 Times in 959 Posts
Default

i am in the plus 4 camp on this one- two different infractions.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 04-25-2016, 12:17 PM
Pwingles's Avatar
Pwingles Pwingles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bird Town
Years Playing: 14.1
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 3,612
Niced 27 Times in 20 Posts
Default

unfortunate circumstance all around, player C owes A and B a sixer imo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ledgestone adds cash, subtracts penalties for 2017 VictorB General Disc Golf Chat 44 03-08-2017 10:58 PM
Ratings and Non-Playing Penalties Dan Ensor General Disc Golf Chat 29 07-22-2014 10:33 PM
Penalties For Tardiness? LeewayeDiscGolf Tournaments & Leagues 13 02-17-2011 02:40 PM
Got Scorecard? lt1yj General Disc Golf Chat 8 07-30-2009 11:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.