#51  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:10 PM
Casey 1988 Casey 1988 is offline
Shun the frumious Bandersnatch!
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Years Playing: 16.2
Courses Played: 25
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,278
Niced 717 Times in 615 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keokuk Discer View Post
Most of us carry an entire bag of discs with us. For drop ins like that, I have used a driver to drop in for the putt, so the "not having another disc to putt with" is a bad arguement. Any disc in your bag will work, and a lot easier than figuring out where you'd put your mini to mark it.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
Yep I have used a different disc since the time I have had more then one disc.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 08-22-2019, 11:40 PM
Casey 1988 Casey 1988 is offline
Shun the frumious Bandersnatch!
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Years Playing: 16.2
Courses Played: 25
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,278
Niced 717 Times in 615 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putt for D'oh View Post
By the current rules the rest of the card committed a courtesy violation as they all had turned and walked away not watching the "throw" or mark.

Still wondering why Casey gets lambasted for being Casey and quoting old rules when the wording that would have made this mark clearly an infraction has been removed from the rules.
What I have done in this situation is well I always had more then one disc in a PDGA event so I just used a driver or a midrange when I only had one putter in my bag at that time. The putter disc was parked so I did not need a Putter to make the shot. The old rules were more clear, I agree on calling specific marking violations. In the most recent edition to the rules it was changed to the before 2006 version of marking making it harder in some instances to call a violation on Marking. PDGA should revise parts like this incident to make the Disc Golf game more professional or it will look casual when compared to most other disc sport contests other then Guts which is already more way more casual then Disc Golf.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 08-23-2019, 03:10 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 309
Niced 134 Times in 72 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoWork View Post
Agreed in theory.

In reality though, this molecule of minutia has been taken to a whole new galaxy of douchiness, simply because people are bored and want to grind whatever axe they come across, no matter how inconsequential it may be. Get over yourselves, throw some plastic and move on with your life. Nobody cares. Period. #cheers
because I guess my last post got deleted? here's some information for you about marking the lie and whether this would have resulted in a penalty throw:

Quote:
Marking the lie in a manner other than described above is a marking violation. A player receives a warning for the first marking violation. A player receives one penalty throw for each subsequent violation of any marking rule during the round.
https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80206
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 08-23-2019, 05:57 PM
AnttiM AnttiM is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 15
Niced 5 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Another example: the disc lies on the center of the roof of the basket. How would you suggest it should be marked?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08-23-2019, 08:03 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 309
Niced 134 Times in 72 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnttiM View Post
Another example: the disc lies on the center of the roof of the basket. How would you suggest it should be marked?
Good Q... if it’s truly in the center, how does one determine the line of play?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 08-23-2019, 08:29 PM
DoWork DoWork is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Courses Played: 8
Posts: 698
Niced 516 Times in 243 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robdeforge View Post
because I guess my last post got deleted? here's some information for you about marking the lie and whether this would have resulted in a penalty throw:


https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80206


... And as I said before, you’d need a cardmate to second it for that to matter at all. FYI even on the card in the OP, nobody cared- and there was money on the line.

I mean hey, if you want to be “that guy” go right ahead, but just because you can doesn’t mean you should and that should be obvious in a sport like this. This will be my last post on the subject. Have a nice night.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 08-24-2019, 07:31 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.7
Courses Played: 150
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,657
Niced 3,431 Times in 1,439 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnttiM View Post
Another example: the disc lies on the center of the roof of the basket. How would you suggest it should be marked?
Does it really matter?

Since baskets are omni-directional, it wouldn't matter where it was marked or where the line of play was as long as the group agreed the mark was good. It's not as though there's an advantage to marking it on the east side of the basket as opposed to the west or the south or the south-southeast. It's the same look and the same drop-in no matter which side you're on. I'd mark against the pole on whatever side I was closest to when I walked up to the basket, then drop in from there.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 08-24-2019, 10:28 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 45.3
Courses Played: 360
Posts: 4,883
Niced 1,607 Times in 792 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Does it really matter?

Since baskets are omni-directional, it wouldn't matter where it was marked or where the line of play was as long as the group agreed the mark was good. It's not as though there's an advantage to marking it on the east side of the basket as opposed to the west or the south or the south-southeast. It's the same look and the same drop-in no matter which side you're on. I'd mark against the pole on whatever side I was closest to when I walked up to the basket, then drop in from there.
If it is exactly centered it doesn't matter.

However, if the disc was a little off-center the combination of:
Quote:
The line of play is the imaginary line on the playing surface extending from the center of the target through and beyond the center of the marker disc.
plus:
Quote:
If a large solid obstacle prevents the player from [...] marking a disc above or below the playing surface, the player may mark a new lie immediately behind that obstacle on the line of play.
gives an answer: Place the marker disc against the pole on the side where the center of the disc is.

Going back to exactly centered on top, place the marker against the pole on any side and then - since it is not clear where the line of play is - no one can say you "clearly" did not mark it on the LOP, so the call cannot be made.

As to the original situation: When the disc is on the ground up against the pole and you want to use the thrown disc, you place the mini up against the pole on the same side as the thrown disc.

Note that every throw must be made from behind a marker (or from a tee pad or drop zone). So make sure to place a mini anytime you decide not to use the thrown disc as a marker. Never throw from naked ground.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 08-24-2019, 03:06 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 4.4
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,083
Niced 444 Times in 255 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
As to the original situation: When the disc is on the ground up against the pole and you want to use the thrown disc, you place the mini up against the pole on the same side as the thrown disc.

So, you are saying to prop the mini up against the pole? Or say tree trunk or vertical-ish rock face which may be a much more common scenario where one would feel the need to use the previously thrown disc. If you place the mini more upright than flat and when picking up the thrown disc the mini rolls away, do you then replace it flat on the playing surface where it was or prop it up against the pole/tree/rock?

Because we have examples of two totally different pros (one being Steve Rico whom I thought has a decent reputation for being a rules follower) at two different events marking in near the same way it makes me think this is a preferred way. And that the wording that has been removed in the last two revisions.

Placing the mini on the disc/above the playing surface and up against the obstacle, then removing the thrown disc in a manner the mini stays on the playing surface up against the obstacle. The whole stink in this thread came from the announcers reaction "whoa a bit of a lazy mark job" NOT when he placed the mini and slid it off the disc, but when he walked up and threw the mini down. After that action/reaction he did bend down and place the mini.

Unless per rules the correct placement of the mini is wedged between the front of the disc and the obstacle, I would conceded the warning but as the rules currently read the method to mark this lie seems correct. And again question is if the mini is leaning on the obstacle and rolls away when you retrieve the disc do you replace it leaning against the obstacle or flat on the playing surface touching the obstacle as the marker ended up in the two examples in this thread?
Reply With Quote
 

  #60  
Old 08-26-2019, 08:37 AM
robdeforge robdeforge is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 309
Niced 134 Times in 72 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoWork View Post
... And as I said before, you’d need a cardmate to second it for that to matter at all. FYI even on the card in the OP, nobody cared- and there was money on the line.

I mean hey, if you want to be “that guy” go right ahead, but just because you can doesn’t mean you should and that should be obvious in a sport like this. This will be my last post on the subject. Have a nice night.
https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...isc-golf/80102

Quote:
A warning is the initial advisement a player is given for violating certain rules; subsequent violations of the rule incur penalty throws. A call for a rules violation that results in a warning does not need to be confirmed to be enforced. Warnings do not carry over from one round to the next, nor to a playoff.
emphasis mine. you have a good one as well
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Innova 150 Class Shark "The Doors" Not A Dye Job ilovesandwiches Discs 3 08-28-2014 03:46 PM
Discs acting very "lazy" with better form Snailpowered Technique & Strategy 9 08-22-2013 11:02 PM
Mark "Lizard Lawyer" Ellis' Signature Prototype The Marketplace 4 01-27-2012 07:33 AM
Big time "For Sale" thread, mostly used, a bit of new bbwrenn The Marketplace 19 09-28-2011 01:40 PM
Does a custom dye job count as being "uniquely marked"? zenbot Technique & Strategy 10 09-16-2009 01:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.