Old 07-21-2010, 02:44 AM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 7.6
Courses Played: 87
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 17 Times in 10 Posts
Default New player throwing fast discs.

This is my first time posting on this board. I am a 5"3' male male who throws RHFH. I keep hearing on these boards to stay away from the following discs: Boss, Groove, Katana, Xcaliber, and the Nuke. Why are these so bad? I admit I dont know alot about what disc golf but I play once to twice a week. I have the following drivers in order of favorite: Groove, Boss, Xcaliber, Valkrie and Orc. I can throw all of them pretty good. I avaerage probally 350 with my Groove and 325 with the others. I think thats pretty good for a little guy like me. If these arent that great what would be some other good discs? Once again I am new to the game and really am curious about this. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Old 07-21-2010, 03:15 AM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 9.5
Courses Played: 102
Throwing Style: RHFH
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

The reason those discs are not great is because the were intended for people who already have correct form and have maxed out their distance with slower discs. Most people on here say you should be able to throw 400' at least before picking up one of the ultra high speed drivers.

Can anyone stop you from using those discs, no. I can tell you though its unlikely your distance and overall game will improve if you continue to torque those discs out to that distance. Discpeed made a great post in the overstable mid thread. You will never learn what is referred to as "touch". All the discs you listed except for maybe the Orc and Valkyrie you have to throw as hard as you can to get them to fly straight. My guess is because they all act very overstable, likely because you are not throwing them at the speed they are meant to be thrown at which is why they act overstable.