#31  
Old 06-03-2014, 09:45 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,027
Niced 2,487 Times in 1,050 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemmers View Post
I'll bet playing with you is a really good time. A hoot, if you will.
Because he knows the rules and plays by them? Oh, the horrors.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-03-2014, 10:02 PM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 84
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,417
Niced 16 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I like playing with people who know the rules. If we get in an argument about the rules, and it turns out my competitor was right and I was wrong, I respect them for it. However, I have discovered that some others are on a completely different wavelength.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-04-2014, 02:39 AM
DiscHurler DiscHurler is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: An unsecured disclosed location
Posts: 110
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

IMO the funny thing is: Getting yourself to the point that taking an obviously legal stance is a purely automatic action (at least on flat ground) is far less effort than worrying about whether you get teamed up with a rules stickler during tournament rounds.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-04-2014, 07:26 AM
Agricolae Agricolae is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Carolina
Years Playing: 7.8
Courses Played: 63
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 612
Niced 18 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemmers View Post
I'll bet playing with you is a really good time. A hoot, if you will.
Are you seriously calling this guy out because he called someone on a foot fault ... at Worlds? Apologies if I missed the sarcasm.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-04-2014, 10:49 PM
beereakfast's Avatar
beereakfast beereakfast is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Boar Hat Inn
Years Playing: 10.1
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 552
Niced 49 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agricolae View Post
Are you seriously calling this guy out because he called someone on a foot fault ... at Worlds? Apologies if I missed the sarcasm.
Truth. This is why I love reading these Q&A's.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-02-2014, 02:42 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,361
Niced 351 Times in 161 Posts
Default

Reviving this thread because of an incident in last weekend's tourney.

One player would step-putt from roughly 25' (3-4x). He never asked the group if he was outside, but he missed all of them so there really wasn't a problem. We mentioned it, but he said "If you don't like it, call me on it."

To call him on it "immediately" would cause an issue since we (the other card members) decided a rough measurement (i.e. walking off the distance) would be needed before officially calling him. One solution would be to call him immediately, but not second the call until after the walk off. Of course this would not apply on the first call; since he missed we'd rather not give him a second chance (which might have put us in the position of failing to apply the rules).

Your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-02-2014, 02:46 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 15.9
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teemkey View Post
Reviving this thread because of an incident in last weekend's tourney.

One player would step-putt from roughly 25' (3-4x). He never asked the group if he was outside, but he missed all of them so there really wasn't a problem. We mentioned it, but he said "If you don't like it, call me on it."

To call him on it "immediately" would cause an issue since we (the other card members) decided a rough measurement (i.e. walking off the distance) would be needed before officially calling him. One solution would be to call him immediately, but not second the call until after the walk off. Of course this would not apply on the first call; since he missed we'd rather not give him a second chance (which might have put us in the position of failing to apply the rules).

Your thoughts?
Call it immediately and then walk it off. If it turns out he was outside, the rule of fairness could be applied to retract the warning (or penalty on subsequent offenses).
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-02-2014, 10:15 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,361
Niced 351 Times in 161 Posts
Default

Frankly, we thought he was trying to work the rules (and us). If he missed and we called a warning, he got another try; if he made it, he'd try again -- if he makes it fine, but if he missed he'd appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-02-2014, 10:32 PM
WhiteyBear's Avatar
WhiteyBear WhiteyBear is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Courses Played: 25
Posts: 875
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teemkey View Post
Frankly, we thought he was trying to work the rules (and us). If he missed and we called a warning, he got another try; if he made it, he'd try again -- if he makes it fine, but if he missed he'd appeal.
Doesn't matter, if it was his first offense he didn't need a second. If you would've called him on it he would have to reputt. It doesn't matter if he missed it out not, you need to apply the rule correctly and not only call it if he misses.
Reply With Quote
 

  #40  
Old 07-03-2014, 09:09 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 8.1
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 601
Niced 40 Times in 28 Posts
Default

If you thought he was working the rules, the the solution would have been to call the foot fault. Even if your theory was correct, it could only work the first time. Any foot fault thereafter would have been a one throw penalty, which would have caused him added pressure on every throw he made after that, because if he was called, there would be no more warnings, and since he had already been called, the group would be more likely to watch his feet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stance violation scenario Pwingles Rules Questions & Discussion 79 01-30-2015 05:56 AM
Stance... bsnone Rules Questions & Discussion 3 08-07-2014 09:28 AM
Stance Violation on Tee General Scales Rules Questions & Discussion 10 04-10-2014 03:39 PM
Major Violation? gcanter2376 General Disc Golf Chat 122 05-14-2013 08:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.