#11  
Old 09-11-2015, 02:51 PM
geoloseth's Avatar
geoloseth geoloseth is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North DFW
Courses Played: 45
Posts: 356
Niced 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
It doesn't seem like I should be able to carry around copies of all my legal discs, put a pinhole in them to make them illegal, then use them during a round to test a few lines without some sort of penalty.
801.02.E would cover that scenario - 2 strokes without warning for throwing an illegal disc.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-11-2015, 06:41 PM
Steve West Steve West is online now
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,564
Niced 1,272 Times in 650 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoloseth View Post
801.02.E would cover that scenario - 2 strokes without warning for throwing an illegal disc.
Yes, the question is how disc-like does it need to be to be a "disc"? A regular disc with a pinhole, yes. A golf ball being used to knock a disc out of a tree? No.

A paper plate? Um.... maybe if it's Chinet?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-11-2015, 10:47 PM
1Roy's Avatar
1Roy 1Roy is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washing up Wisconsin
Years Playing: 19.7
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 797
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

What about throwing an invisible disc?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-12-2015, 06:45 AM
Nick Phoenix's Avatar
Nick Phoenix Nick Phoenix is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Phoenixville. PA
Years Playing: 4.7
Courses Played: 6
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 17
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would think the intent is to prevent unfair advantages based on practicing throwing, of anything, during a match.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-12-2015, 07:48 AM
TAFL's Avatar
TAFL TAFL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Kansastan
Years Playing: 33.7
Courses Played: 30
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 634
Niced 97 Times in 63 Posts
Default

Except that everybody has the same opportunity to throw other things, so there's no advantage to be gained.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-14-2015, 10:46 AM
curt curt is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 93
Niced 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Strictly speaking, the illegal disc rule only covers using an illegal disc as part of your round, and shouldn't be applied to a practice throw with an illegal disc, imo. There are two reasons: 1. "In play" means as part of playing the course, and is different from "during a round" which is used elsewhere. 2. A throw, by definition in the rules, requires changing your lie, which means you propel a disc from somewhere that doesn't change your lie, then it can't be a throw. (For argument's sake, I think the same technicality renders the whole practice throw unenforceable too). It would certainly help clear all this up if disc were defined in the rule book. (And I think the discus example in the original post is a good example of why. I can definitely see a wide set of opinions on if it would count as a disc for a practice throw)

Also, I don't think my interpretation is either the intent of, or how the rules should be written. It is however, what I think the language says, which is more important than what the writers meant to say.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:36 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 219
Posts: 14,071
Niced 2,186 Times in 1,368 Posts
Default

So it sounds like you can throw any non-pdga disc around then without penalty?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-15-2015, 06:39 PM
Steve West Steve West is online now
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,564
Niced 1,272 Times in 650 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
So it sounds like you can throw any non-pdga disc around then without penalty?
Or, two penalty throws without warning and possible DQ.

Better ask the TD at the player's meeting.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:44 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 219
Posts: 14,071
Niced 2,186 Times in 1,368 Posts
Default

TD's choice?
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 09-16-2015, 12:00 AM
Steve West Steve West is online now
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,564
Niced 1,272 Times in 650 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder22 View Post
TD's choice?
No, but it's not clear where the "line" is between throwing an illegal disc and throwing something that is not a disc. So, the TD would have to make a call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who here throws black discs? bsheisey Discs 39 05-21-2013 11:10 PM
Who throws 150 class discs? Eco81 Discs 33 12-20-2011 10:24 PM
Rules Question about practice throws Ryan P. Tournaments & Leagues 26 09-04-2011 11:09 AM
Measuring distance on practice throws? jrawk Technique & Strategy 25 12-01-2009 08:58 PM
Right Turn Throws and Discs FiveV Technique & Strategy 35 05-29-2009 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.