#11  
Old 05-20-2009, 02:05 PM
Three Putt's Avatar
Three Putt Three Putt is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rolla, MO.
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 149
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 8,602
Niced 1,328 Times in 540 Posts
Default

Yeah, I played a round recently with a pro whose disc landed half in-bounds and half in a creek. The problem was that the half that was "in" was against a retaining wall so there was absolutely no way he could take a stance behind the disc. He knew the rule, he just acted dumb to see what we would let him get away with.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2009, 02:28 PM
Three Putt's Avatar
Three Putt Three Putt is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rolla, MO.
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 149
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 8,602
Niced 1,328 Times in 540 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
two meter rule- good riddance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarpfish View Post
Not necessarily. The two meter rule was never fully abolished. It was left to each tournament director's discretion. Some places have abandoned it, and some have not.
Two meter rule good: If you have crazy nasty cedar trees or some other dense foliage behind the basket. With no two meter rule, you can just gun a shot in there and if it sticks up in the trees you can just take an easy putt with no penalty. The two meter rule forces you to be more careful approaching that pin.

Two meter rule bad: You have a fairway with a handful of trees. You hit one and the disc happens to stay stuck two meters up. It's a double penalty. You already hit the (censored) tree so your drive is already short. Now you also get penalized becasue by pure chance the disc got hung up in the tree. It's unfairly punitive.

Solution: Leave it up to the TD. Smart TD's will not blanket enforce it for the entire round and will put it in effect only on holes where it makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:25 PM
ERicJ's Avatar
ERicJ ERicJ is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 241
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,063
Niced 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashnut View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Mutt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarpfish View Post
AFAIK, placing the marker to the side of the disc and not on the line of play, to allow for more lateral leverage around an obstacle is a no-no, even if its just a few inches you're getting out of it.

What is perfectly legal is simply using the thrown disc as a marker itself. This way they can be an extra 8" back from the tree as opposed to placing the mini.
Good to know, thats how I've been marking. So if I need to go around a tree I use the original throw as the marker to buy me a little more space.
Exactly, no need to mark a lie as long as you don't want to throw that same disc. If you do mark it, it has to be on the line of play, which is the line straight from the basket through your lie.
Correct. By using the thrown disc as the marker you gain more distance away from the basket and obstacle. But you must still technically have your supporting point on the line of play which means through the center of the disc. So just because you're using a wider marker doesn't buy you any additional latitude in the "horizontal" direction.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:51 PM
Roc1Time's Avatar
Roc1Time Roc1Time is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: TX
Years Playing: 17.7
Courses Played: 131
Posts: 4,404
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

two meter rule- good riddance.[/QUOTE]

WHY?? Good shots dont end up in trees! You should have to take your shot in the tree if 2 meter rule is not in effect, I mean thats where your lie is. If your not getting stroked then you should have to climb baby
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:58 PM
trifocal's Avatar
trifocal trifocal is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 12
Posts: 738
Niced 56 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc1time View Post
two meter rule- good riddance.
WHY?? Good shots dont end up in trees! You should have to take your shot in the tree if 2 meter rule is not in effect, I mean thats where your lie is. If your not getting stroked then you should have to climb baby[/QUOTE]

Actually....opinion....some good shots do end up in trees. They just were not great shots. I'm for tree climbing, but where do I place my marker and where do I place my contact point if my disc is caught in a branch in a hanging limb 8' offthe ground?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-20-2009, 08:10 PM
TalbotTrojan's Avatar
TalbotTrojan TalbotTrojan is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,432
Niced 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Three Putt View Post
Two meter rule bad: You have a fairway with a handful of trees. You hit one and the disc happens to stay stuck two meters up. It's a double penalty. You already hit the (censored) tree so your drive is already short. Now you also get penalized becasue by pure chance the disc got hung up in the tree. It's unfairly punitive.
Everyone plays by the same rules as far as 2 meters are concerned so I do not think that it is unfairly punitive. A bummer yes, but not unfairly punitive.

As far as the marker disc, I probably would have said something because he was leading on the card. If you are loosing big I will let you get away with things, but if you are going to win, you had better win by the rules. In many instances there is a warning first and then penalty strokes for future infringements. I would guess that this would be the case for this type of infringement. Even falling putts have a warning first.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-20-2009, 08:32 PM
danhyzer's Avatar
danhyzer danhyzer is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canton, Ohio
Years Playing: 31
Courses Played: 1601
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 280
Niced 11 Times in 6 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to danhyzer
Default

I don't know why the 2 meter rule was abolished. Did it cost a pro some $$ because of they're unlikely luck. Maybe we should say if you throw it in a lake it shouldn't be OB either. These are obstacle's maybe we should put courses in big old fields like the Anderson-Dean Community Park in Harrodsburg, Ky. or Centennial Park in Wilmore, Ky. (in between these 2 courses there might be 6 trees <27 holes> within the course). Bring back the 2 meter rule and call it the 6' 2" rule.

another rule I don't understand is the way we use the metric system within our sport. America has the most DG courses and America doesn't use the metric system. How many times do you have to a newbie of how many feet a putt is instead of using meters or how far you have to be behind your disc when you throw. I never hear anyone using the metric system even when explaining the rules at some of the tournaments that I go to. This is a rule we need to get rid of instead of the 6'2" rule
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-20-2009, 08:43 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Escondido, CA
Years Playing: 17.1
Courses Played: 828
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 14,396
Niced 25 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Except of course, for hole lengths which we measure in feet...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-20-2009, 09:11 PM
ejvogie's Avatar
ejvogie ejvogie is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toledo, OH
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 125
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,386
Niced 353 Times in 192 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trifocal View Post
Actually....opinion....some good shots do end up in trees. They just were not great shots. I'm for tree climbing, but where do I place my marker and where do I place my contact point if my disc is caught in a branch in a hanging limb 8' offthe ground?
You mark it at the spot directly below it on the ground.


803.08 Disc Above the Playing Surface


A. If a disc comes to rest above the playing surface in a tree or other object on the course, its lie shall be marked on the playing surface directly below it. If the point directly below the disc above the playing surface is an out-of-bounds area, the disc shall be declared out-of-bounds and marked and penalized in accordance with 803.09. If the playing surface directly below the disc is inside a tree or other solid obstacle, the lie shall be marked on the line of play immediately behind the tree or other solid obstacle. The director may designate a one throw penalty for discs that come to rest two meters or higher above the playing surface. The director may declare the two meter rule to be in effect for the entire course, or just for individual objects.

(Sections B through D are only used if the two meter penalty is in effect.)

B. If a disc has come to rest above two meters, as measured from the lowest point of the disc to the playing surface directly below it, the player shall be assessed a one-throw penalty. This penalty applies only if the disc is above in-bounds. The player shall proceed from a lie marked in accordance with 803.08 A.

C. No penalty shall be incurred if the disc falls, unassisted by a player or spectator, to a position less than two meters above the playing surface before the thrower arrives at the disc. The thrower may not delay in order to allow the position of the disc to improve.

D. If the two-meter status of a disc is uncertain, either a majority of the group or an official shall make the determination. If the thrower moves the disc before determination has been made, the disc shall be considered above two meters and the thrower shall proceed in accordance with 803.08 A and B. If a player other than the thrower moves the disc before a determination has been made, the disc shall be considered below two meters and the interference rule shall be applied as it relates to the thrower and the player. See sections 803.07 B and C.
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:18 PM
tamahawk's Avatar
tamahawk tamahawk is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kentucky
Years Playing: 12.6
Courses Played: 50
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,060
Niced 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I've seen some people throw a shot and use the thrown disc as the marker, but instead of leaving it as is, actually flip the disc over, toward the basket. Ultimately, what was the front is now the back, and is basically the same marking position as if laying a mini down along the front edge, is this legal?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules question Johnny Conservative Rules Questions & Discussion 28 03-21-2013 06:58 PM
Rules Question okiebullgod General Disc Golf Chat 15 03-03-2012 08:23 PM
Yet another Rules Question DiscJunkie Rules Questions & Discussion 16 04-19-2010 12:59 PM
Rules question simpletwist Rules Questions & Discussion 15 09-08-2009 05:53 PM
Rules question SigmaChris Rules Questions & Discussion 5 11-01-2008 10:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.