#21  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:58 PM
gvan's Avatar
gvan gvan is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 136
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 304
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamahawk View Post
I've seen some people throw a shot and use the thrown disc as the marker, but instead of leaving it as is, actually flip the disc over, toward the basket. Ultimately, what was the front is now the back, and is basically the same marking position as if laying a mini down along the front edge, is this legal?
No, but it's fairly common in casual play. Either play the lie, or mark it with a mini. A full size disc does not qualify as a mini.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-20-2009, 11:55 PM
tamahawk's Avatar
tamahawk tamahawk is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kentucky
Years Playing: 12.6
Courses Played: 50
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,060
Niced 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gvan View Post
No, but it's fairly common in casual play. Either play the lie, or mark it with a mini. A full size disc does not qualify as a mini.
Yeah, I see it a lot in casual play. Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-21-2009, 12:09 AM
TalbotTrojan's Avatar
TalbotTrojan TalbotTrojan is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,432
Niced 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danhyzer View Post
I don't know why the 2 meter rule was abolished. Did it cost a pro some $$ because of they're unlikely luck. Maybe we should say if you throw it in a lake it shouldn't be OB either. These are obstacle's maybe we should put courses in big old fields like the Anderson-Dean Community Park in Harrodsburg, Ky. or Centennial Park in Wilmore, Ky. (in between these 2 courses there might be 6 trees <27 holes> within the course). Bring back the 2 meter rule and call it the 6' 2" rule.

another rule I don't understand is the way we use the metric system within our sport. America has the most DG courses and America doesn't use the metric system. How many times do you have to a newbie of how many feet a putt is instead of using meters or how far you have to be behind your disc when you throw. I never hear anyone using the metric system even when explaining the rules at some of the tournaments that I go to. This is a rule we need to get rid of instead of the 6'2" rule
The two meter rule is still there, TDs have the option to exclude it in the special rules for tournaments. Everytime I have seen it come up the two meter rule is always enforced.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-21-2009, 12:11 AM
TalbotTrojan's Avatar
TalbotTrojan TalbotTrojan is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 112
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,432
Niced 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamahawk View Post
I've seen some people throw a shot and use the thrown disc as the marker, but instead of leaving it as is, actually flip the disc over, toward the basket. Ultimately, what was the front is now the back, and is basically the same marking position as if laying a mini down along the front edge, is this legal?
I have seen one guy try this in a tournament. If he were even remotely close to winning I probably would have called him on it. As it was he was near the bottom and it was clear that he was not the usual tournament player. I could tell even though it was my first tournament.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-21-2009, 12:13 AM
Magnus's Avatar
Magnus Magnus is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Durham, NC
Years Playing: 42.1
Courses Played: 77
Posts: 69
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

call me casual. i guess i need to tighten up.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-21-2009, 12:32 AM
Three Putt's Avatar
Three Putt Three Putt is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rolla, MO.
Years Playing: 24.2
Courses Played: 148
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 8,602
Niced 1,328 Times in 540 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Three Putt View Post
Two meter rule bad: You have a fairway with a handful of trees. You hit one and the disc happens to stay stuck two meters up. It's a double penalty. You already hit the (censored) tree so your drive is already short. Now you also get penalized becasue by pure chance the disc got hung up in the tree. It's unfairly punitive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TalbotTrojan View Post
Everyone plays by the same rules as far as 2 meters are concerned so I do not think that it is unfairly punitive. A bummer yes, but not unfairly punitive.
How about arbitrarily punitive. Say you and your buddy are playing a 300' moderately wooded hole. Your buddy tees and hits a tree up in the branches about 80' down the fairway that drops to the ground. Then you tee and hit the same exact tree in the same exact spot...and the disc sticks. Did your shot really suck a penalty stroke more than your buddies? You both hit the tree. It was just arbitrary dumb luck that your shot is still up in the tree. Say it's the last hole and you guys are tied. Should arbitrary bad luck decide who wins a (supposed) game of skill? If you throw the same shot at that tree 100 times TRYING to get it to stick you would probably fail. There is no skill involved in your disc sticking or not once it hit a tree. The penalty is the distance you are not going to get on your drive becasue you hit the (censored) tree. An additional stroke penalty for something that has nothing to do with skill to me is arbitrarily and unfairly punitive.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-21-2009, 01:21 AM
A.Mutt's Avatar
A.Mutt A.Mutt is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Years Playing: 15.8
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,350
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ERicJ View Post
Correct. By using the thrown disc as the marker you gain more distance away from the basket and obstacle. But you must still technically have your supporting point on the line of play which means through the center of the disc. So just because you're using a wider marker doesn't buy you any additional latitude in the "horizontal" direction.
But you only have to have one point of contact on the line, and that has to be the furthest point of contact right? So I can keep one foot on the line behind the tree and stretch out either way with my other foot, and as long as it doesn't cross the line of contact created by the marker foot I'm cool, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-21-2009, 08:36 AM
innova's Avatar
innova innova is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Banana Republic
Years Playing: 25.2
Courses Played: 3
Posts: 552
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have heard many players say... "it doesn't matter, it is casual" or, some locals with a thick Cajun accent will say...

dat dun madder.

Whew.

Principles are always important, folks... regardless of how stoned you get.
roflmao.

Sorry.


0.o
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:21 AM
Dillon_Gourley Dillon_Gourley is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tupelo, Mississippi
Years Playing: 11.7
Courses Played: 63
Throwing Style: LHFH
Posts: 350
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milow369 View Post
he took the mini out, started it at the top of the disc then moved the mini counter clockwise around the disc
This is what I call "Mickey mousing" your lie.

Last edited by Dillon_Gourley; 05-21-2009 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
 

  #30  
Old 05-21-2009, 09:23 AM
magictenor1's Avatar
magictenor1 magictenor1 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Meridian,MS
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 137
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,587
Niced 19 Times in 14 Posts
Send a message via AIM to magictenor1
Default

I only play casual and I don't even carry a mini. I usually mark my lie with my bag. same for most guys I play with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules question Johnny Conservative Rules Questions & Discussion 28 03-21-2013 06:58 PM
Rules Question okiebullgod General Disc Golf Chat 15 03-03-2012 08:23 PM
Yet another Rules Question DiscJunkie Rules Questions & Discussion 16 04-19-2010 12:59 PM
Rules question simpletwist Rules Questions & Discussion 15 09-08-2009 05:53 PM
Rules question SigmaChris Rules Questions & Discussion 5 11-01-2008 10:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.