#1  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:47 PM
ChampionKirby ChampionKirby is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lewisville, TX
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 25
Posts: 152
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Trying to clear up a few rules!!!

A) My friend said that if you go to throw and you slip on the teepad and drop the disc that counts as a throw. AND it is ob if it is on the teepad.

B) I was told that if you throw a disc in the tree during a tourney you are aloud to wait 2 minutes before retrieving the disc. (idk maybe the wind could knock it down)

C) I know that if a disc lands next to water or what not within 3 feet you get relief, what about a sidewalk? I mean if its right on the line can you move it or do you have to putt or throw from the sidewalk?

D) If you're in a bush and you throw and it lands 1 foot in front of you it counts right?

E) Are you given any space behind your disc? I was also told at one point that you could stand up to 3 feet behind your disc to throw. Sounds kinda wrong.

F) If a disc lands in a street but is leaning up against it and it is touching a few blades of grass is it in?

G) What is the best way to determine whether you are 30 feet from the basket or not?

Thanks for the help
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:52 PM
yankees23's Avatar
yankees23 yankees23 is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Joplin, MO
Years Playing: 12.5
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 389
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

D) yes it counts
G) walk it out or ask someone you are playing with
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:54 PM
atl scott's Avatar
atl scott atl scott is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: under a homemade fort of condors
Years Playing: 13.8
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,425
Niced 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Wow, sounds like someone needs to read the rulebook. It will positively clear up most of these answers for you.

edit: not trying to be harsh but these aren't really even interpretations of rules, just basic rules that are in black and white.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:56 PM
ChampionKirby ChampionKirby is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lewisville, TX
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 25
Posts: 152
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atl scott View Post
Wow, sounds like someone needs to read the rulebook. It will positively clear up most of these answers for you.

edit: not trying to be harsh but these aren't really even interpretations of rules, just basic rules that are in black and white.
Can you read it for me? I'm blind.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:57 PM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
Maryland State PDGA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 256
Posts: 11,409
Niced 39 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChampionKirby View Post
A) My friend said that if you go to throw and you slip on the teepad and drop the disc that counts as a throw. AND it is ob if it is on the teepad.
If the disc goes forward, the possibly it could be called, but backwards or sideways less than 6 feet, no penalty. Also no where does it say the teepad is OB

B) I was told that if you throw a disc in the tree during a tourney you are aloud to wait 2 minutes before retrieving the disc. (idk maybe the wind could knock it down) There is no penalty, so why does it matter if it falls or not.

C) I know that if a disc lands next to water or what not within 3 feet you get relief, what about a sidewalk? I mean if its right on the line can you move it or do you have to putt or throw from the sidewalk?
Is the sidewalk marked as OB? Is it totally on the sidewalk? You can not throw from OB

D) If you're in a bush and you throw and it lands 1 foot in front of you it counts right? Yes

E) Are you given any space behind your disc? I was also told at one point that you could stand up to 3 feet behind your disc to throw. Sounds kinda wrong. Close, you get some space, but I have to look at the exact distance

F) If a disc lands in a street but is leaning up against it and it is touching a few blades of grass is it in? If it is totally surrounded by cement it is out if street is OB. If the grass has fallen onto cement and it is touching 2 blades it is out. If a corner is clearly on grass, then you are ok.

G) What is the best way to determine whether you are 30 feet from the basket or not?
Group consensus before your shot

Thanks for the help
done
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:57 PM
atl scott's Avatar
atl scott atl scott is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: under a homemade fort of condors
Years Playing: 13.8
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,425
Niced 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I can post it here and you can read it just like you're reading these posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2011, 07:18 PM
Darth Anovin's Avatar
Darth Anovin Darth Anovin is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Isle of Doldrums
Years Playing: 14.1
Courses Played: 44
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 870
Niced 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChampionKirby View Post
Can you read it for me? I'm blind.
Best comeback ever!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-13-2011, 07:21 PM
Darth Anovin's Avatar
Darth Anovin Darth Anovin is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Isle of Doldrums
Years Playing: 14.1
Courses Played: 44
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 870
Niced 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

And for E.), I'm pretty sure that a supporting part of your body has to be within 30cm of your marker when you release the disc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-13-2011, 07:49 PM
atl scott's Avatar
atl scott atl scott is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: under a homemade fort of condors
Years Playing: 13.8
Courses Played: 189
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,425
Niced 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Anovin View Post
Best comeback ever!
If you say so. The whole point is that everyone should read the rulebook for themselves to get an idea of how the game should be played. I'm all for clearing up confusion on the finer points.

It amazes me that some people aren't willing to attempt to read the rules.

End thread drift, I shouldn't have wasted my time posting, and I sincerely hope you find your answers.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 07-13-2011, 08:07 PM
Usher's Avatar
Usher Usher is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Thornton, CO
Years Playing: 10.7
Courses Played: 78
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 343
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

B) If playing with the "2 meter rule" it does cost you a stroke and I think you have 1 minute to throw your disc once you approch your previously thrown disc.
G) It's 10 meters which is 33 feet, not 30. Walk it out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D.I.S.C. rules flowinowen General Disc Golf Chat 2 10-23-2016 08:11 PM
Looking for any new clear Westside vip discs & a clear lucid truth moebigs2013 The Marketplace 0 07-26-2014 02:01 PM
Junk dga clear sp or discraft clear z plastic RUSSELL The Marketplace 15 02-18-2013 10:12 PM
Following Rules Johnny Walker Red Rules Questions & Discussion 51 12-20-2011 02:03 PM
OB rules? Roc1Time Rules Questions & Discussion 19 07-04-2009 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.