#11  
Old 07-13-2011, 08:15 PM
DBdiscgolf's Avatar
DBdiscgolf DBdiscgolf is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tennessee
Years Playing: 8.6
Courses Played: 12
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 551
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

F) I just read the rulebook and it says that when it comes to a disc being partly OB that which ever side the majority of the disc is on that is what counts. So if the majority of the disc is in bounds then the disc is in bounds and vise versa.

Also E) You have something like 30 cm behind you lie unless there is an object that can't be moved directly behind your lie you can get on the other side of the object but still in line with your lie.
Sponsored Links

Last edited by DBdiscgolf; 07-13-2011 at 08:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-13-2011, 08:17 PM
vonDrehle's Avatar
vonDrehle vonDrehle is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hickory, NC
Years Playing: 12.9
Courses Played: 47
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,779
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBdiscgolf View Post
F) I just read the rulebook and it says that when it comes to a disc being partly OB that which ever side the majority of the disc is on that is what counts. So if the majority of the disc is in bounds then the disc is in bounds and vise versa.
Yeah... Link that please. If any part of your disc is in bounds, then it is in bounds and you get relief away from the OB.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-13-2011, 09:10 PM
Ryan P.'s Avatar
Ryan P. Ryan P. is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Asheboro, NC
Years Playing: 13
Courses Played: 48
Posts: 1,596
Niced 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

803.09 Out-of-Bounds

A. A disc shall be considered out-of-bounds only when it comes to rest and it is clearly and
completely surrounded by the out-of-bounds area. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be
at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the
water. See section 803.03 F. The out-of-bounds line itself is considered out-of --bounds. In order to
consider the disc as out-of bounds, there must be reasonable evidence that the disc came to rest within the out-of-bounds area. In the absence of such evidence, the disc will be considered lost and the player will proceed according to rule 803.11B.

Champion Kirby, you have 2 black aces? Wow, I'll definitely believe you're blind if that's true.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-13-2011, 09:31 PM
dreadlock86's Avatar
dreadlock86 dreadlock86 is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: denton, tx
Years Playing: 11.9
Courses Played: 324
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,791
Niced 148 Times in 80 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan P. View Post
Champion Kirby, you have 2 black aces? Wow, I'll definitely believe you're blind if that's true.

and from tee 5 to basket 9 at LL woods! that's a pretty bad shank! were you throwing a leopard into a headwind?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-13-2011, 09:36 PM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
Maryland State PDGA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 256
Posts: 11,409
Niced 39 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBdiscgolf View Post
F) I just read the rulebook and it says that when it comes to a disc being partly OB that which ever side the majority of the disc is on that is what counts. So if the majority of the disc is in bounds then the disc is in bounds and vise versa.
I have a graphic that proves otherwise



It has to touch inbounds, not the line.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-14-2011, 07:36 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 17.7
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,213
Niced 200 Times in 110 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChampionKirby View Post
A) My friend said that if you go to throw and you slip on the teepad and drop the disc that counts as a throw. AND it is ob if it is on the teepad.
Quote:
Originally Posted by prerube View Post
If the disc goes forward, the possibly it could be called, but backwards or sideways less than 6 feet, no penalty. Also no where does it say the teepad is OB
Incorrect. If you are standing at the appropriate place to throw (your lie, in this case the tee box) and you throw your disc, it is a throw, regardless of the direction or distance the disc traveled. The Practice Throw rule, which is what you are referring to by mentioning any distance towards the target or in other directions more than 2m (not 6 feet), applies for discs launched from locations other than your lie and results in an automatic one stroke penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-14-2011, 08:41 AM
jenb's Avatar
jenb jenb is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW TX USA
Years Playing: 13.7
Courses Played: 84
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,417
Niced 16 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
A) My friend said that if you go to throw and you slip on the teepad and drop the disc that counts as a throw. AND it is ob if it is on the teepad.
The throw starts when you begin forward motion, so it is just a dropped disc if you slip during the reachback or before. But once you've started moving the disc forward after taking your stance, you are throwing, and it counts if you slip and the disc is released, regardless of the direction and distance traveled. Of course, the other members of your group should call a foot fault if you slip off the end of the teepad before releasing the disc, and then you get one warning for the round and a free rethrow.

As far as the tee being OB, tees are not normally considered OB in tournaments. If the TD says that tees are OB though, then they are OB. But if that happens, be sure and post that info so we can all know who this TD is.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-14-2011, 08:46 AM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
Maryland State PDGA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 256
Posts: 11,409
Niced 39 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
Incorrect. If you are standing at the appropriate place to throw (your lie, in this case the tee box) and you throw your disc, it is a throw, regardless of the direction or distance the disc traveled. The Practice Throw rule, which is what you are referring to by mentioning any distance towards the target or in other directions more than 2m (not 6 feet), applies for discs launched from locations other than your lie and results in an automatic one stroke penalty.
no one said he was in the process of throwing. It says he was going to throw. If he slipped while standing on the box or even during reach back it is not a throw. Also I said 6 feet because it is nearly the equivelent of 2 meters, many people do not know meters well in the US.

Quote:
Practice Throw: During a round, the projection of a disc of a distance greater than two meters, or of any distance toward a target, intentional or not, which does not change the player’s lie, either because it did not occur from the teeing area or the lie, or because the player had already thrown competitively from the teeing area or the lie. Throws that are re-thrown in accordance with the rules are not practice throws.

Last edited by prerube; 07-14-2011 at 08:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-14-2011, 08:49 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,597
Niced 2,459 Times in 1,163 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBdiscgolf View Post
F) I just read the rulebook and it says that when it comes to a disc being partly OB that which ever side the majority of the disc is on that is what counts. So if the majority of the disc is in bounds then the disc is in bounds and vise versa.
WHERE in the rulebook does it say that?
Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 07-14-2011, 09:20 AM
Craig639's Avatar
Craig639 Craig639 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 19.9
Courses Played: 264
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 226
Niced 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

This thread is ridiculous.

http://www.pdga.com/rules
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D.I.S.C. rules flowinowen General Disc Golf Chat 2 10-23-2016 08:11 PM
Looking for any new clear Westside vip discs & a clear lucid truth moebigs2013 The Marketplace 0 07-26-2014 02:01 PM
Junk dga clear sp or discraft clear z plastic RUSSELL The Marketplace 15 02-18-2013 10:12 PM
Following Rules Johnny Walker Red Rules Questions & Discussion 51 12-20-2011 02:03 PM
OB rules? Roc1Time Rules Questions & Discussion 19 07-04-2009 10:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.