Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > General Disc Golf Discussions > Rules Questions & Discussion

View Poll Results: Is this OB?
Yes, he is surrounded by water 11 14.67%
No, it is casual water 31 41.33%
It depends and I will explain it in this thread 33 44.00%
Voters: 75. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 10-03-2012, 12:22 AM
paramaniac's Avatar
paramaniac paramaniac is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 17
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 72
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Could it be argued that the area in question had recently been flooded after a severe rain storm? That a few days prior that area was dry and no standing water was present? Would the OB rule have to change if that is the situation?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-03-2012, 01:25 AM
aardvarkious aardvarkious is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Courses Played: 23
Posts: 277
Niced 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Well, now that we are a few pages in...

The definition of Out of Bounds according to the official PDGA rules:

Quote:
Out-of-Bounds: An area designated by the director prior to the start of play from which a disc may not be played. The out-of-bounds line extends a plane vertically upward and downward. The out-of-bounds line is itself out-of-bounds. An out-of-bounds disc is not a lost disc.
It says nothing about water, fences, paved roads, or other convenient landmarks that are often used to mark OB. The only areas that are OB are those specifically designated as OB.

If that is not enough, here is the definition of casual water.

Quote:
Casual Water: Bodies of water other than those that have been specifically designated by the director prior to the start of the round as out-of-bounds or those that have been specifically designated by the director prior to the start of the round as not being casual water.
That assumes that every body of water is casual unless specifically designated otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-03-2012, 02:39 AM
ERicJ's Avatar
ERicJ ERicJ is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Years Playing: 11.3
Courses Played: 241
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,063
Niced 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsc430 View Post
Its still page one for me 20 posts per page is the shiznit
Hardcore forum readers set 40 posts per page.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-03-2012, 09:26 AM
Brall's Avatar
Brall Brall is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: ▐North Royalton, Ohio Ω
Years Playing: 10.6
Courses Played: 43
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,860
Niced 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

i voted yes by accident.
meant to vote on casual.
i stink at life.
bye.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-03-2012, 09:37 AM
Scared_Discless's Avatar
Scared_Discless Scared_Discless is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Flossmoor, IL
Years Playing: 9.1
Courses Played: 23
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,305
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brall View Post
i voted yes by accident.
meant to vote on casual.
i fail at life.
bye.
FTFY
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-03-2012, 10:05 AM
mudslinger's Avatar
mudslinger mudslinger is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mpls, MN
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 293
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I would call this a "throw".

assuming their is a group with him, since the player is throwing I can only assume the ruling made was casual by the group and the player opted to play from the original lie. we'll give him a stroke for taking too long to dry himself off as excessive time to make up for it.

Last edited by mudslinger; 10-03-2012 at 10:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-03-2012, 01:24 PM
DGRZ001's Avatar
DGRZ001 DGRZ001 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Years Playing: 41.8
Courses Played: 180
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 517
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The only concern I have is that the disc is not lost in the water, and that the player is pretending to have found the disc in the water. If I couldn't see the disc from the shore, I would watch for the player to pick up the disc that is in the water after the throw.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-03-2012, 01:45 PM
prerube's Avatar
prerube prerube is offline
Maryland State PDGA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Clinton, MD
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 256
Posts: 11,409
Niced 39 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Now new twist. If it took him over 3-5 minutes to take off his shoes, get into the water, find his disc, and throw. Would you then call a penalty?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-03-2012, 01:53 PM
General Scales's Avatar
General Scales General Scales is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spokane WA
Years Playing: 11.6
Courses Played: 12
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,178
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prerube View Post
Now new twist. If it took him over 3-5 minutes to take off his shoes, get into the water, find his disc, and throw. Would you then call a penalty?
I wouldn't call a penalty for that. I'd only call it if he had walked into the water, addressed his lie, come back out of the water and then taken three plus minutes to play the hole. I may call a lost disc if he had spent three minutes with his shoes and socks off looking for the disc but if it took him three minutes to get everything off and then into the water, I'd start the three minutes as soon as he got into the water. Tricky situation we have here.
Reply With Quote
 

  #30  
Old 10-03-2012, 02:40 PM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is online now
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 8.1
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 601
Niced 40 Times in 28 Posts
Default

If you want to call his disc lost, you have to go into the water and help him lookmfor it for the entire 3 minutes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OB Call Doofenshmirtz Rules Questions & Discussion 74 08-02-2018 04:10 PM
What should be the call? juju General Disc Golf Chat 41 04-12-2015 12:20 PM
what would be your call on this. GODSGIFT General Disc Golf Chat 27 05-01-2014 02:07 PM
What do you call it when... Apothecary General Disc Golf Chat 32 12-07-2010 07:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.