#11  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:49 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 15.9
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
Maybe ... but I feel like I'm just asking that a rule pertaining to my lie pertains to my lie. Even though I am being slightly fececious in my rhetoric, I really do feel I should be able to do it. Not allowing me to take 5m is based on a lie that no longer exists.
Better wording might be to say you can obtain relief no more than five meters from where the disc came to rest.

But I think the "original lie" wording still covers that pretty well.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:54 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,878
Niced 1,153 Times in 546 Posts
Default

The TD can specify you can take extended free relief more than 5m if needed to get out of the water. In addition, if it's a rec round, your buddies might allow you to take relief sideways.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-14-2013, 02:57 PM
BogeyNoMore's Avatar
BogeyNoMore BogeyNoMore is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Walled Lake, MI
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 288
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,451
Niced 1,686 Times in 864 Posts
Default

The key here is relief must be taken along the Line Of Play. Remember from middle school geometry that a line is defined by two points. In this case, the two points are:
1) the pin
2) your disc in the water
That line is essentially of zero width, and extends away from the basket, in the direction of your disc, for an infinite distance.

a) Any relief that is not taken along that line is a violation.
b) Any relief taken along that line, but more than 5m away from your disc, results in a 1 stroke penalty (unless otherwise stated by the TD).

Last edited by BogeyNoMore; 06-14-2013 at 03:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-14-2013, 03:04 PM
joshmo65's Avatar
joshmo65 joshmo65 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Years Playing: 12.1
Courses Played: 211
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 865
Niced 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
The key here is relief must be taken along the Line Of Play. Remember from middle school geometry that a line is defined by two points. In this case, the two points are:
1) the pin or a mando
2) your disc in the water
That line is essentially of zero width, and extends away from the basket, in the direction of your disc, for an infinite distance.

a) Any relief that is not taken along that line is a violation.
b) Any relief taken along that line, but more than 5m away from your disc, results in a 1 stroke penalty (unless otherwise stated by the TD).
FTFY
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-14-2013, 03:16 PM
Dan Ensor's Avatar
Dan Ensor Dan Ensor is offline
Sophomore
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Paris, MO
Years Playing: 9.1
Courses Played: 62
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,456
Niced 82 Times in 59 Posts
Default

If you want me to only take 5m from where my disc came to rest as a result of my previous throw, that would be my "previous lie".

Previous Lie
The lie resulting from the most recent throw, as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved, the corresponding approximate lie.

I'm arguing that taking 5m is establishing a new "original" lie.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-14-2013, 03:21 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 15.9
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,219
Niced 40 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
I'm arguing that taking 5m is establishing a new "original" lie.
I understand your point. And since "original lie" is never defined, it ends up being semantically vague in this scenario.

However, you'll have a hard time convincing anyone in your group that this is a legal interpretation. We can all understand what the intent of the rule is. The use of "original lie" is clearly meant to define the lie where the disc came to rest.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-14-2013, 03:38 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,878
Niced 1,153 Times in 546 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
If you want me to only take 5m from where my disc came to rest as a result of my previous throw, that would be my "previous lie".

Previous Lie
The lie resulting from the most recent throw, as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved, the corresponding approximate lie.

I'm arguing that taking 5m is establishing a new "original" lie.
The RC has covered your scenario by defining a disc's "position" separate from lie. Your disc only has a 'position' until you declare it as your lie, meaning the place where you will take your stance, or legally relocate it to another position and declare it as your lie. So when you move back up to 5m, you don't have a lie yet since you still don't wish to take a stance there, just a position. I think the RC might need to improve the wording in the Obstacle Relief rule to use the words 'disc position' rather than 'lie' to be consistent with its position/lie definitions.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-14-2013, 04:42 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,534
Niced 1,256 Times in 641 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
The TD can specify you can take extended free relief more than 5m if needed to get out of the water.
All TD's holding events at Kaposia, please take note.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-15-2013, 02:17 AM
peabody's Avatar
peabody peabody is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Western Kentucky
Years Playing: 16
Courses Played: 54
Posts: 1,238
Niced 25 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyNoMore View Post
That seems like wishing for 3 more wishes...



Reply With Quote
 

  #20  
Old 06-15-2013, 12:40 PM
mashnut's Avatar
mashnut mashnut is offline
*Super Moderator*
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Escondido, CA
Years Playing: 17.1
Courses Played: 828
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 14,396
Niced 25 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Ensor View Post
My lie is in casual water, so I take relief 5m back. If I'm still in casual water, I am in the same situation; my lie is in casual water. Why can I not take 5m back?

I'm not taking 10m from my lie in casual water, I'm taking 5m from my lie in casual water.
Can I put a mini in front of my mini to get a little closer to the basket? If we're considering rules to be recursive I'd love to just repeatedly mark my lie until it's 2' from the basket. I'd also like to repeatedly take my 1m in from OB until I arrive at the basket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OB Vs Casual Relief Zanguini Rules Questions & Discussion 4 07-08-2018 01:23 PM
Casual water relief interpretation geoloseth Rules Questions & Discussion 17 05-02-2017 03:57 PM
Casual Water ? Van1 Rules Questions & Discussion 7 07-23-2012 01:23 AM
casual water tribute Jar-El General Disc Golf Chat 3 02-24-2012 01:07 PM
Casual Water RickBrierly Technique & Strategy 6 06-17-2011 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.