#31  
Old 08-13-2019, 11:37 AM
Streets's Avatar
Streets Streets is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,073
Niced 3,950 Times in 1,672 Posts
Default

Smigles watching his cardmates feet on every shot:

Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-13-2019, 01:32 PM
SonicGuy's Avatar
SonicGuy SonicGuy is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,821
Niced 551 Times in 295 Posts
Default

It looked like the disc was too close to the pole to mark with a mini. In that case, is there a way to legally put the same disc in? Could you take an unplayable lie mark directly back in that situation?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-13-2019, 03:15 PM
Streets's Avatar
Streets Streets is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Years Playing: 9
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,073
Niced 3,950 Times in 1,672 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicGuy View Post
It looked like the disc was too close to the pole to mark with a mini. In that case, is there a way to legally put the same disc in? Could you take an unplayable lie mark directly back in that situation?
I think there should be a gimme rule.

"If the disc is in contact with the basket, but not considered holed out..." or something like that. You're a lawyer, fancy it up for us.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-13-2019, 07:24 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 4.5
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,118
Niced 472 Times in 274 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigles View Post
I am always bewildered how people can seemingly randomly pick some rules they follow and some rules they dont.

A lot like religion, pick and choose.



Anybody NOT calling any rule violations is part of the problem, not the solution. You are referee whenever you are not throwing and it is your duty as player. It's even written in the definition of Courtesy in the pdga rules.

"812 Courtesy

A player must:

Watch the other members of the group throw in order to ensure rules compliance and to help find discs."

So by not calling a rule infraction you are yourself breaking rules. Well done, well done.
By the current rules the rest of the card committed a courtesy violation as they all had turned and walked away not watching the "throw" or mark.

Still wondering why Casey gets lambasted for being Casey and quoting old rules when the wording that would have made this mark clearly an infraction has been removed from the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-13-2019, 09:11 PM
Armus Patheticus Armus Patheticus is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 135
Niced 47 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigles View Post



Anybody NOT calling any rule violations is part of the problem, not the solution.
What problem?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-13-2019, 11:12 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 4.5
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,118
Niced 472 Times in 274 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armus Patheticus View Post
What problem?

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-15-2019, 03:31 AM
Smigles Smigles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Switzerland
Courses Played: 9
Posts: 2,370
Niced 72 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Putt for D'oh View Post
By the current rules the rest of the card committed a courtesy violation as they all had turned and walked away not watching the "throw" or mark.
Yeah but according to like half of the people in this thread, courtasy violations dont count if they or their buddies do them.

Heck, next time i ll pick which rules to follow too. nobody says that i can't mark a little closer to the basket than i should, right? i like 10 meter putts turning into gimmies.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-15-2019, 06:27 PM
brutalbrutus's Avatar
brutalbrutus brutalbrutus is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: the nati
Years Playing: 9.2
Courses Played: 52
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 9,993
Niced 4,224 Times in 2,241 Posts
Default

Rico did pretty much the same thing on hole 11 of Dynamics 2nd round coverage of Worlds...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLvhMsa3--o
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-15-2019, 08:23 PM
AnttiM AnttiM is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 15
Niced 5 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrotherDave View Post
You can theoretically play with one disc and a marker if you want. So if my card mates were complete dicks and wouldn't let me borrow a disc to tap out I'd have to know how to mark this.
This is a fun topic. If the thrown disc were an inch away from the pole, then you could easily mark the lie without having to move the thrown disc, by placing a mini marker disc between the thrown disc and the pole, so that it touched the front edge of the thrown disc and leaned on the pole. But if the thrown disc were laying on the playing surface touching the pole, then it would be impossible to mark the lie with a mini marker disc without first moving the thrown disc.

However, in this kind of a situation 810.E.2 might have relevance, as it seems to allow moving the thrown disc if necessary:
Quote:
A player who intentionally interferes with a disc in any of the following ways receives two penalty throws: [...] Moving or obscuring a thrown disc or marker disc (other than in the process of identification, retrieval, marking, or as allowed by 810.H).
So, according to my interpretation, in this case it would be fine to move the thrown disc back just enough to make room for the mini marker disc. Therefore Locastro did not commit a marking violation. (Does this seem plausible enough?)

Another thing I was wondering about: would it even be legal to make a throw with another player's disc?
Reply With Quote
 

  #40  
Old 08-16-2019, 04:08 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 8.7
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnttiM View Post
Another thing I was wondering about: would it even be legal to make a throw with another player's disc?
Short Answer: Yes.
Longer Answer: Which rule would you be breaking, if you did? Assuming you get permission to borrow the disc, there isn't any, so go right ahead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Innova 150 Class Shark "The Doors" Not A Dye Job ilovesandwiches Discs 3 08-28-2014 03:46 PM
Discs acting very "lazy" with better form Snailpowered Technique & Strategy 9 08-22-2013 11:02 PM
Mark "Lizard Lawyer" Ellis' Signature Prototype The Marketplace 4 01-27-2012 07:33 AM
Big time "For Sale" thread, mostly used, a bit of new bbwrenn The Marketplace 19 09-28-2011 01:40 PM
Does a custom dye job count as being "uniquely marked"? zenbot Technique & Strategy 10 09-16-2009 01:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.