#1  
Old 06-20-2019, 05:47 AM
Mr. Butlertron's Avatar
Mr. Butlertron Mr. Butlertron is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Years Playing: 17.6
Courses Played: 297
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,467
Niced 425 Times in 201 Posts
Default Mandos Gone Wild

I have a mando scenario that happened during league play that I'd like to run by everyone:

A player throws passed the correct side (left) of a mando tree, hits a tree beyond the line, then the disc rolls backward across the same line and curls around to the mando tree and comes to rest on the incorrect side (right) of the same mando tree.

The disc has come to rest roughly even with the mando tree and line, just a foot to the right side, which is the incorrect side of the mando tree. Does the player still have to throw around the mando tree and pass the mando line with his next throw OR not?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2019, 06:24 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 25.2
Courses Played: 127
Posts: 15,737
Niced 4,777 Times in 1,895 Posts
Default

Yes, he has to make the mandatory again with a subsequent throw.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2019, 07:40 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.7
Courses Played: 152
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,976 Times in 1,639 Posts
Default

Mandatories are not something that only have to be navigated once. They must be navigated correctly every time they fall between the lie and the target.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2019, 08:52 AM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,074
Niced 239 Times in 134 Posts
Default

So in your scenario the mando has yet to be made because it’s about where the disc comes to rest and how it got there. They use a string analogy in the Q&A. But I want to comment on the 1st 2 responses. If the disc passed on the correct side of the mando hit a tree then was deflected backwards across the wrong side of the mando the player would not have to pass the mando again as that player has already done so. See the Q&A pictures I’ve attached.
https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...s#t5576n237841


Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:03 AM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,074
Niced 239 Times in 134 Posts
Default

https://www.pdga.com/faq/regulated-routes

EDIT: weird that link doesnt show the pictures.
Click this one then click regulated routes.
https://www.pdga.com/rules/official-...s#t5576n237841

Niced: (1)

Last edited by kenjiac; 06-20-2019 at 09:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2019, 09:25 AM
Discette's Avatar
Discette Discette is offline
Independent Operator*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Years Playing: 24.1
Courses Played: 531
Posts: 1,945
Niced 963 Times in 338 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Mandatories are not something that only have to be navigated once. They must be navigated correctly every time they fall between the lie and the target.

I would like to "nice" this more than once. :t hmbup:


This is the common sense that we need on the rules committee. Thank you for volunteering.


Quote:
You have included 36 images in your message. You are limited to using 10 images so please go back and correct the problem and then continue again. ....

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2019, 10:45 AM
d11rok d11rok is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Years Playing: 4.2
Courses Played: 66
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 170
Niced 77 Times in 41 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Mandatories are not something that only have to be navigated once. They must be navigated correctly every time they fall between the lie and the target.
While I agree with this logic, this statement is not reflected in the rules. Rather, in the above mentioned bit from the q&a, the statement is in fact proven false. Note that the routes from b to c are across the Mando line, which is in line from the lie to the basket.

I am not finding anywhere else in the rules that JC's statement is true. If it is, then the rules themselves are contradictory.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2019, 10:46 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 46.3
Courses Played: 394
Posts: 5,394
Niced 2,174 Times in 1,041 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Mandatories are not something that only have to be navigated once. They must be navigated correctly every time they fall between the lie and the target.
(Disclaimer: What I'm saying in this post is not an interpretation of current rules.)

I think it depends on how the mando is defined. Did the TD want to say "you can't go left of the tree" or did the TD want to say "you must go right of the tree".

If it was "can't go left", then you can't go left, no matter what has happened before.

If it was 'must go right", then once you've gone right, you did it and don't need to do it again.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2019, 10:51 AM
ThrowaEnvy's Avatar
ThrowaEnvy ThrowaEnvy is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pender Is. B.C.
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 5
Posts: 2,932
Niced 1,256 Times in 839 Posts
Default

Interesting.. Yeah I would have said if you went through you were good. Then again if there was something to avoid like a pedestrian path then the hazard is back in play again
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 06-20-2019, 10:53 AM
kenjiac's Avatar
kenjiac kenjiac is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colonie NY
Years Playing: 13.1
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,074
Niced 239 Times in 134 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Discette View Post
I would like to "nice" this more than once. :t hmbup:


This is the common sense that we need on the rules committee. Thank you for volunteering.
His statement is incorrect. You don't have to pass on the correct side of a mando every time you throw. See my above comment and pictures from the rules Q&A.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More mandos and islands? DiscFifty General Disc Golf Chat 202 02-15-2017 08:44 AM
Mandos DGchamp Rules Questions & Discussion 1 03-02-2015 08:21 PM
Unnecessary Mandos weeman Course Design 24 04-10-2012 12:33 AM
Crazy Mandos Sunday Mike Course Design 67 11-22-2010 12:14 AM
Mandos Bglo General Disc Golf Chat 50 09-22-2009 12:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.