Old 03-27-2014, 10:25 PM

Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Should I play sidearm or learn backhand?

I've been playing for a couple of months. My problem is I can only throw backhand 150-200'. I can throw a mid range disc accurately backhand but not a driver. I can throw side arm 300'-350' with accuracy. Is ok to just drive sidearm? I watched a couple videos and most people say you can only get great distance with a backhand but it seems the opposite is the case for me. I've been trying to learn backhanded drives but lost 2 discs today in the process. Should I keep trying to learn or continue to drive sidearm?
Sponsored Links
Old 03-27-2014, 10:57 PM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 8.7
Courses Played: 46
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 8 Times in 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty3 View Post
I've been playing for a couple of months. My problem is I can only throw backhand 150-200'. I can throw a mid range disc accurately backhand but not a driver. I can throw side arm 300'-350' with accuracy. Is ok to just drive sidearm? I watched a couple videos and most people say you can only get great distance with a backhand but it seems the opposite is the case for me. I've been trying to learn backhanded drives but lost 2 discs today in the process. Should I keep trying to learn or continue to drive sidearm?
I would say both. Learn how to play backhand and learn how to play sidearm. It gives your versatility in your drives which will improve your game.

I would use sidearm as your main drives and on rare occasions i would throw your backhand when needed.

I currently play rhbh throwing about 350 feet and max at 375 feet on flat ground.... I throw forehand or sidearm about 280-340 feet average.

Also one of my main reasons for saying this is there are many lines that you can take off the pad or on an upshot. Not every line is available. I sometimes only have backhand anhyzer and have to throw that. Other times the lines or fairway play to a forehand.
Old 03-27-2014, 11:02 PM