Old 01-14-2009, 03:02 PM
Par Member

Years Playing: 11.1
Courses Played: 11
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Disc weights...

I am fairly new to DG(started in late July) what is the difference in the weights of each disc???

Is 3-5 grams really that big of a deal???

What is the benefits to a lighter disc, or a heavier disc???

Thank you, and I am sorry if this has been talked about before, or if it is a stupid NOOB question...
Sponsored Links
Old 01-14-2009, 03:22 PM
Par Member

Years Playing: 22
Courses Played: 47
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

150 gram class discs are good for weaker arms and kids.
Old 01-14-2009, 04:24 PM
Par Member

Courses Played: 11
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigmaChris View Post
150 gram class discs are good for weaker arms and kids.
There are discs that are that light??? I think the lightest disc I have is 167-169, maybe...
Old 01-14-2009, 04:44 PM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 12.8
Courses Played: 23
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by D.W.G. View Post
I am fairly new to DG(started in late July) what is the difference in the weights of each disc???
Is 3-5 grams really that big of a deal???
What is the benefits to a lighter disc, or a heavier disc???
Thank you, and I am sorry if this has been talked about before, or if it is a stupid NOOB question...
Lighter drivers are better for beginners, since they are easier to throw, but they are also easier to turn over. (yes there are 150 class discs - you can even find lighter ones for kids) As your arm strengthens and your technique imporves you will be able to throw heavier drivers, if you decide you want to. For me, most of my drivers are in the 167 - 170 range.

I like my midrange and putters to be on the heavier side. Becuase of the greater need for control and accuracy in shorter approach shots I find heavier discs easier to control. Whatever you do, dont buy a light putter - you will hate it.