#11  
Old 01-25-2020, 04:09 PM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 40
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,228
Niced 1,391 Times in 535 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

If the lie has been marked by a marker disc, then when the disc is released, the player must:

Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the lie; and,
Have no supporting point closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
Have all supporting points in-bounds.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-25-2020, 04:29 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 366
Niced 213 Times in 111 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
If the lie has been marked by a marker disc, then when the disc is released, the player must:



Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the lie; and,

Have no supporting point closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,

Have all supporting points in-bounds.
That doesn't contradict what I said.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-25-2020, 04:55 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.3
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,974 Times in 1,638 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
If the lie has been marked by a marker disc, then when the disc is released, the player must:

Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the lie; and,
Have no supporting point closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
Have all supporting points in-bounds.
Fixed the bolded to highlight what's most important here.

If you haven't released the disc yet, it doesn't matter where your supporting points are. In fact, until you release the disc, there's no such thing as supporting points according to the rules.
802.04
B. ...A supporting point is any part of the player's body that is, at the time of release, in contact with the playing surface or any other object that provides support.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-25-2020, 05:05 PM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 40
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 5,228
Niced 1,391 Times in 535 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Fixed the bolded to highlight what's most important here.

If you haven't released the disc yet, it doesn't matter where your supporting points are. In fact, until you release the disc, there's no such thing as supporting points according to the rules.
802.04
B. ...A supporting point is any part of the player's body that is, at the time of release, in contact with the playing surface or any other object that provides support.
It's providing support.
I always see pros on video hang the disc over the basket and drop it in, they don't touch metal with their disc, which is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-25-2020, 05:13 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 366
Niced 213 Times in 111 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
It's providing support.
But not "when the disc is released" - this is the critical bit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
I always see pros on video hang the disc over the basket and drop it in, they don't touch metal with their disc, which is correct.
I have seen many pros lay the disc in and touch metal. But don't take my word for it...

Quote:
QA-COM-1: If I have a drop-in, do I need to throw the disc in, or can I just place it in the tray and let go?

You can place it in the tray, but you must release it and let it come to rest before retrieving it. A release is a required part of a throw, so merely touching the chains or the tray with your putter is not a throw and does not complete the hole.


Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-25-2020, 05:52 PM
Flush Flush is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 22
Niced 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
Thanks for the clarification. I took "anyway" to mean if he hypothetically had not released the disc.
Yeah, I could see why when i re-read my post
Reply With Quote
 

  #17  
Old 01-26-2020, 07:18 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.3
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,974 Times in 1,638 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
It's providing support.
I always see pros on video hang the disc over the basket and drop it in, they don't touch metal with their disc, which is correct.
It doesn't matter if it's providing support because it is prior to release. At the moment of release, there is no contact between the hand and the disc, therefore it's not providing support at the time of release, which is all that matters.

Those pros are legal doing what you describe, of course, but doing it that way is not required for a legal hole-out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Valkyrie, a discussion......... MikePinchico Discs 556 02-10-2020 02:57 PM
Statistical Best Team Going into 2019 - AnhyzerTV RFrance General Disc Golf Chat 2 12-20-2018 03:34 PM
Bag discussion... AJ_86 Bags / Carts / Straps / Tags 24 09-15-2010 09:31 AM
09 Best of Polls discussion Technohic Discs 28 12-30-2009 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.