#1  
Old 01-23-2020, 09:31 PM
disco40 disco40 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Years Playing: 0.6
Courses Played: 12
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 133
Niced 114 Times in 56 Posts
Default Can this exist? "Mando" + Play the Lie

So the theoretical here is a "mando" that isn't quite mandatory. If you miss it, you take a penalty stroke and play it from the lie.

My interpretation of the rules doesn't seem to allow for this possibility, and it could only be a casual practice. Is that correct?

Aesthetically, it strikes me as being about as offensive as arbitrary roped OB played like a bunker hazard. Perhaps it would allow for some interesting possibilities, but maybe it's just silly.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2020, 10:14 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is offline
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 31
Courses Played: 702
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 12,449
Niced 1,896 Times in 841 Posts
Default

We've (course designers and rules people) talked about creating this type of mando for speed of play, perhaps calling it something like a Manzard. It would play similar to a Hazard where you play it where it lies but with penalty. But it's not currently an option for sanctioned play unless you get a waiver from the PDGA.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2020, 07:13 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.3
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,974 Times in 1,638 Posts
Default

Not an option allowed by the current rules, but in casual play, why not?

I've actually played such a mando. Hole was straight, ~170-180 feet long with a 4-foot diameter hoop about 30 feet off the tee. Go through the hoop, no penalty. Miss the hoop, play it as it lies with a one-throw penalty. Not really something I would want to ever see in a tournament, but for a funzie round, it made a blah hole slightly more interesting.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2020, 07:50 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 1,307
Niced 297 Times in 161 Posts
Default

I had discussions with one TD about the same topic as the OP. He could achieve the same effect within the PDGA rules, by placing the drop zone for the mandatory further forward of the mandatory object.

(FWIW. At our unsanctioned Ice bowl we have hoola hoops on 6 holes. If your disc goes through the hoop, you don't count the throw. Makes for some fun at a low key more causal event).

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2020, 10:20 AM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 45.9
Courses Played: 373
Posts: 5,130
Niced 1,820 Times in 898 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
...
(FWIW. At our unsanctioned Ice bowl we have hoola hoops on 6 holes. If your disc goes through the hoop, you don't count the throw. Makes for some fun at a low key more causal event).
So it is possible to eagle a par 2?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2020, 10:38 AM
Karl Karl is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 903
Niced 160 Times in 93 Posts
Default

YAH! I GOT A HOLE IN NONE!

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2020, 10:48 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 1,307
Niced 297 Times in 161 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
(FWIW. At our unsanctioned Ice bowl we have hoola hoops on 6 holes. If your disc goes through the hoop, you don't count the throw. Makes for some fun at a low key more causal event).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
So it is possible to eagle a par 2?
Come on, you know everything is always par 3. You could get an albatross on a par 3.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
 

  #8  
Old 01-24-2020, 11:18 AM
F. Howl's Avatar
F. Howl F. Howl is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Years Playing: 10.8
Courses Played: 31
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,091
Niced 1,256 Times in 679 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Not an option allowed by the current rules, but in casual play, why not?

I've actually played such a mando. Hole was straight, ~170-180 feet long with a 4-foot diameter hoop about 30 feet off the tee. Go through the hoop, no penalty. Miss the hoop, play it as it lies with a one-throw penalty. Not really something I would want to ever see in a tournament, but for a funzie round, it made a blah hole slightly more interesting.
Huge suspended quadruple mandy rings in the air? I'd like to see this on the tour.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apologies If Answered - Newish Rule About "Lie" and "Flipping Disc" phishbiscuits Rules Questions & Discussion 24 07-31-2019 02:13 PM
"Mando" at The Brittish Open brutalbrutus Rules Questions & Discussion 10 07-21-2017 10:17 AM
Mando "Y" Tree mark996 Rules Questions & Discussion 12 06-05-2016 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.