#141  
Old 10-22-2018, 05:14 PM
BuiltTooLong's Avatar
BuiltTooLong BuiltTooLong is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Dubuque, Iowa
Courses Played: 91
Posts: 411
Niced 367 Times in 181 Posts
Default

Maybe if Nate hadn't thrown a driver on a 260' hole, it wouldnt have skipped OB. ―\_(ツ)_/―
Sponsored Links

Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 10-22-2018, 05:16 PM
mshelton's Avatar
mshelton mshelton is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 72
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 253
Niced 118 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by parboiled View Post
Dickerson's rollaway OB on hole 18 at Ledgestone this summer, which allowed Sexton to walk the win in, or this railroad tie kerfluffle, which cost Nate 2 strokes? Either way, it's good that they each ended up the beneficiary once.
I always felt that the crazy anti-skip Chris had off the tee on 16 was the one that did him in, he played a great tournament and just had 2 butt-fugly breaks on 16 and 18.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 10-22-2018, 05:30 PM
parboiled parboiled is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Somerville MA
Years Playing: 2.5
Courses Played: 23
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 2
Niced 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Yeah, the more I think about it, the more I'm just really happy that Chris Dickerson got a big win on the national stage after winning so many slightly smaller tournaments this year. He's so fun to watch. I do love Nate Sexton like the rest of the disc golf world, but I am really happy for Chris.

Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 10-22-2018, 10:38 PM
broomerang broomerang is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Dayton, OH
Years Playing: 14.6
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 716
Niced 387 Times in 178 Posts
Default

Chris played great all weekend. He's been a force, look at all the top 10s at big events. Congrats to him finally sealing one.

I love watching Nate play. The format really showed that he doesn't just lay up and "play safe". You can't consider the OB the thing that lost him the tournament, you don't know if that changed his performance on the next few holes or if it changed the way other players played them either. It happened, he handled it as a true professional, and he fought for a chance to tie and take it to a playoff.

Nikko. Damn what an impressive year. Probably the most impressive since his USDGC. When he missed the long putt on 17 and knew what it meant you had to feel for him.

Kevin Jones was all over the place this round. Hard day for him. He's had flashes of brilliance. We'll see him again on the big stage.

Ricky. He almost had them ol raptor legs working and then somehow putted worse than I've ever seen him putt. He's human after all. Most importantly we made it through a whole tournament without someone on the internet complaining about a foot fault.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 10-23-2018, 03:57 AM
DiscFifty DiscFifty is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tx
Years Playing: 7.6
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,424
Niced 455 Times in 266 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ru4por View Post
Going out of bounds cost Sexton one stroke, not a railroad tie (kerfuffle or not). He knew the gap was there. It has been demonstrated that the tie was missing all tournament. Arguments that the tie would have kept him inbounds or the call was incorrect are interwebz fodder, nothing more. This out of bounds, was no more or less fair, than any of the abundant OB all over the course.
Technically, since there was a gap in the "island" the entire tournament, with no defined line connecting the ties in the gap, there was no island the entire tournament. So I agree..if I'm going to push for Nate's disc to be in bounds, alot of other player's scores would need to be adjusted as well. TD accountability is just as important (if not more) as player accountability.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 10-23-2018, 03:58 AM
Flick Maniac's Avatar
Flick Maniac Flick Maniac is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Jokela, Southern Finland
Posts: 1,345
Niced 273 Times in 173 Posts
Default

^^LOL. I dunno, did you check all of the internet? Its always there, whatever it is.

Last edited by Flick Maniac; 10-23-2018 at 03:59 AM. Reason: someone posted right in between :)
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 10-23-2018, 09:34 AM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: VT
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 193
Niced 76 Times in 41 Posts
Default

the tie wasn't there for any rounds this tournament, but was there last year:
https://i.imgur.com/n9O0b30.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/vJoLpnL.jpg

a little clarification from the TD or grounds crew re: removal would go a LONG way
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 10-23-2018, 09:56 AM
ru4por's Avatar
ru4por ru4por is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dearborn Michigan
Years Playing: 35.5
Courses Played: 233
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,384
Niced 831 Times in 401 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscFifty View Post
Technically, since there was a gap in the "island" the entire tournament, with no defined line connecting the ties in the gap, there was no island the entire tournament. So I agree..if I'm going to push for Nate's disc to be in bounds, alot of other player's scores would need to be adjusted as well. TD accountability is just as important (if not more) as player accountability.
I think you are looking for a technicality. If stakes line a fairway and is defined as OB, the space between stakes, with or without a line, is OB. Watching the action, Sexton is immediately aware he is OB. I am thinking he would have been the first one to speak up, if there was a shred of rule support, to claim in bounds.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 10-23-2018, 03:19 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.9
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,717
Niced 2,018 Times in 862 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscFifty View Post
Technically, since there was a gap in the "island" the entire tournament, with no defined line connecting the ties in the gap, there was no island the entire tournament. So I agree..if I'm going to push for Nate's disc to be in bounds, alot of other player's scores would need to be adjusted as well. TD accountability is just as important (if not more) as player accountability.
No offense, but this argument is foolish. The design of the hole was clear. The execution was not but that should not negate the entire design of the hole. The ruling that Steve made, that the gap should be treated as if there is a tie there for the purposes of determining an OB line, was perfectly acceptable and is the same call for the situation that I think 99 out of 100 TDs make.

The tie was missing for the entire tournament. How no one, until that moment, realized that fact indicates to me that it was more than just a bit of TD/staff oversight. None of the players noticed the missing tie through the whole week? Not a one of them couldn't have noticed and brought it up at a players meeting or in a conversation with the TD? It's not like it was a break in a paint line well off the fairway where no throw would be expected to land and it's plausible no one would find it. It was a 6-8 foot gap in an island green boundary pin high and 35 feet from the basket.

Bad break for Nate that his throw landed where it landed, but those things happen. There were 17 holes worth of other opportunities to change his score, so it's not as though that one throw alone, and the subsequent ruling, was the ultimate difference in winning/losing. It's just a convenient thing to blame.

Reply With Quote
 

  #150  
Old 10-23-2018, 03:37 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 3.6
Courses Played: 6
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 794
Niced 205 Times in 136 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
No offense, but this argument is foolish. The design of the hole was clear. The execution was not but that should not negate the entire design of the hole.
I would argue the execution wasn't at all unclear unless someone is trying to be willfully obtuse in examining or interpretation... which seems to also be the norm in reading rules. This could have been taken care of but certainly doesn't change the 100% obvious intent of the hole design. 100% obvious and questioning that is as I said willfully obtuse or just plain stupid.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2017 DGPT Tour Championship brutalbrutus Tournaments & Leagues 192 11-02-2017 02:46 PM
DGPT: Approved Baskets for the Pro Tour DGPT General Disc Golf Chat 200 12-16-2016 12:23 AM
DGPT: 2017 Pro Tour Championship DGPT General Disc Golf Chat 8 12-11-2016 11:16 PM
DGPT: 2017 Pro Tour Cards DGPT General Disc Golf Chat 9 09-08-2016 10:23 AM
DGPT: Host a Pro Tour House Party: Win a DGPT Zuca Cart! DGPT General Disc Golf Chat 2 09-07-2016 01:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.