Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Equipment > Discs

Old 07-14-2009, 10:44 AM
Par Member

Years Playing: 10.3
Courses Played: 54
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What are the distinct categories of discs in your bag?

I'm still very new to the sport, and I have a very small bag. I'm interested in buying new discs, but mostly just to try them out and have more discs to practice in the field with. I honestly don't know why I'd need more on the course - but that's what you guys are for!

Most of the players I play with have dozens of discs, but when I ask what the purpose of each one is, I'm not convinced that there really is a purpose.

"This one has slightly more fade than that one."
"How much more fade?"
"About 5%"
"But you don't have accuracy to within 5%, so what's it matter? Why don't you just aim the first disc 5% more to the left?"
(Blank stares)

So fill me in. Convince me that there's more than three or four categories so that I can buy more discs!
Sponsored Links
Old 07-14-2009, 10:51 AM
Eagle Member

Years Playing: 20.3
Courses Played: 22
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have quite a few discs, however, I don't carry all of them in my bag only the ones I throw for a purpose (in fact I think I am going to take a couple out today that I have replaced). I have discs for overhand throws, forehand throws, backhand throws (several with different characteristics). Midrange and Putter. For someone still new to the game if you are going to get more discs for practice I would say get multiple of you primary driver, so that you can get a feel for that disc.
Old 07-14-2009, 10:56 AM
Double Eagle Member

Years Playing: 19.2
Courses Played: 31
Niced 3 Times in 2 Posts

I can't convince you that there's more than three or four categories I can, however say that it's always fun to try out new discs and have extras for practice...or in case you lose one! When I find something I like, I generally try to stock up and get 3 or 4 of them.