Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > General Disc Golf Discussions > General Disc Golf Chat

View Poll Results: Can a "nice" happen after a throw has been completed?
Yes, a "nice" can happen after the fact and this is a prime example 13 24.53%
While "nicing" exists, there's no way it can happen after the fact 8 15.09%
What the h--- are you guys talking about? Do you believe in Santa Claus, too? 32 60.38%
Voters: 53. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 11-18-2020, 10:28 AM
jakebake91 jakebake91 is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: West Central Wisconsin
Years Playing: 4.6
Courses Played: 7
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,114
Niced 1,749 Times in 825 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
Feel free to post those videos of the "nice" effects.

Now, here is the scenario for you to answer the poll with and discuss:

Several friends & I have a FB Messenger group where we chat and mostly discuss disc golf stuff. One of our buddies is playing in a tournament and we get to follow what's happening in PDGA Live scoring. We are all commenting as he slowly takes the lead during that back nine of the second and final round. Our buddy has come back from a three stroke deficit and gets a 2-throw lead with two challenging finishing holes (par4/par3) to play. He had gone 4-6 on the first round. SO he's on #17. We're waiting. commenting. I have to tell the guys that holes 15-16-17 often don't get good cell reception so it's probably delayed. The score finally comes up and he gets the par 4, now only one hole left. So I make this comment on our online FB Messenger group, "Way to go Jimmy (names changed to protect the innocent), now just play it safe & get this tee shot over the water and you'll be home free."

It's at that time that I get accused of "nicing" him. Comments like, "...there you go, jinxing him...," "...if he loses now, it's all your fault...," "...can't believe you niced him when he had a chance to win the tournament," etc. start coming my way. And I said, "...Way-way-wait a second. With the delay in the time we get these scores he had already thrown by the time I made that comment. I don't believe he can be 'niced' after the throw has already occurred. C'mon., guys!"

So that's the story so, what's your thoughts? Was this a nicing? a jinxing? a nothing since it happened after the fact? or do you just not believe in that stuff?
Well. How did your buddy end up finishing???
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-18-2020, 10:32 AM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 40.8
Courses Played: 96
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 6,135
Niced 2,804 Times in 1,071 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

I have a question for all you mind readers out there.




You can answer here or via PM.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-18-2020, 10:43 AM
philstine philstine is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Courses Played: 20
Posts: 241
Niced 217 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
I have a question for all you mind readers out there.

You can answer here or via PM.
42.

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-18-2020, 10:44 AM
dorseymatt dorseymatt is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Courses Played: 13
Posts: 537
Niced 539 Times in 194 Posts
Default

I have zero patience for anyone who doesn't want me to genuinely root for them to do well or congratulate them on good execution, etc.

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-18-2020, 11:05 AM
scooby snack scooby snack is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 132
Niced 63 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Nice thread. See what I did there?


Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-18-2020, 11:36 AM
kp_1024 kp_1024 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Years Playing: 8.7
Courses Played: 90
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 28
Niced 30 Times in 14 Posts
Default

So it's a Schrφdinger's cat problem. Can a "Nice" affect a shot that has already happened, but we don't know the result?

Similarly, suppose there's a blind shot and someone throws what looks like a good shot, but could have rolled down a hill, faded into some water, etc. What if someone says Nice when the shot has definitely landed, but you don't know where?

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-18-2020, 12:07 PM
lee76007's Avatar
lee76007 lee76007 is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Years Playing: 1.4
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 74
Niced 49 Times in 24 Posts
Default

"Yes, a "nice" can happen after the fact and this is a prime example". I think I have a twist on this one:

Yesterday afternoon round in 25 mph winds with some gust over 40 moderate tree course, leaves flying everywhere. I break out my wind busters, and approach a party of 7 on an upslope hole with a ridge that downslopes to the basket. They let me play thru, I smoke it up the middle thru the trees and over the ridge on the green which the disc cant be seen. I get a few "Nice's" and other comments on the throw. I thank them and I'm on my way.
I've played the hole more than 200 times, and I know there's a few trees I could be parked next to that cant be seen from the tee, and I'm likely on the wrong side of the two guardian v-shaped trees protecting the basket for my birdie. Yep, that's what happened for a two putt.
The throw was very nice, but the result parked next to the tree interfering with my putt was not. I'm still grateful for the "Nice's" on the throw. If I don't know the final result "nice throw, hopefully in a good position", something like that.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-19-2020, 06:41 PM
Innova63's Avatar
Innova63 Innova63 is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South-eastern, Disconsin
Years Playing: 35.7
Courses Played: 264
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 902
Niced 361 Times in 197 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
I have a question for all you mind readers out there.




You can answer here or via PM.
Blue...
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-19-2020, 07:04 PM
Riverdog Riverdog is online now
Par Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 197
Niced 321 Times in 114 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
I have a question for all you mind readers out there.




You can answer here or via PM.

Yellloowww.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #30  
Old 11-19-2020, 07:23 PM
armiller's Avatar
armiller armiller is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: West Virginia
Years Playing: 5.7
Courses Played: 204
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,694
Niced 1,025 Times in 641 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
Feel free to post those videos of the "nice" effects.

Now, here is the scenario for you to answer the poll with and discuss:

Several friends & I have a FB Messenger group where we chat and mostly discuss disc golf stuff. One of our buddies is playing in a tournament and we get to follow what's happening in PDGA Live scoring. We are all commenting as he slowly takes the lead during that back nine of the second and final round. Our buddy has come back from a three stroke deficit and gets a 2-throw lead with two challenging finishing holes (par4/par3) to play. He had gone 4-6 on the first round. SO he's on #17. We're waiting. commenting. I have to tell the guys that holes 15-16-17 often don't get good cell reception so it's probably delayed. The score finally comes up and he gets the par 4, now only one hole left. So I make this comment on our online FB Messenger group, "Way to go Jimmy (names changed to protect the innocent), now just play it safe & get this tee shot over the water and you'll be home free."

It's at that time that I get accused of "nicing" him. Comments like, "...there you go, jinxing him...," "...if he loses now, it's all your fault...," "...can't believe you niced him when he had a chance to win the tournament," etc. start coming my way. And I said, "...Way-way-wait a second. With the delay in the time we get these scores he had already thrown by the time I made that comment. I don't believe he can be 'niced' after the throw has already occurred. C'mon., guys!"

So that's the story so, what's your thoughts? Was this a nicing? a jinxing? a nothing since it happened after the fact? or do you just not believe in that stuff?
The real question is: did Jimmy lose the tournament on the last hole?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PURPLE URPLE "ROC3" PROTO STAR 180g "rainbow stamp" beautiful disc , check IT Emoney The Marketplace 6 01-04-2013 09:31 PM
Being "Niced"... the_pwnerator General Disc Golf Chat 29 06-25-2012 03:28 AM
Course History "Fact vs Fiction" 1eyedjack Disc Golf Courses 23 08-26-2010 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.