|
Register | Members List | Social Groups |
- View All Groups | ||
- Your Group Messages | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
![]() |
|
Thread Tools |
#1
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
I am sorry, all... I cannot get a clear answer. I read the rules and saw the diagram with the "shoebox" (20cm wide and 30cm deep) behind the disc/mini marker.
I cannot figure out if I am "allowed" to flip the disc and THEN place the mini. Can I take my disc, turn it over and mark from the front of the position? Or, do I align my mini with the part of the thrown disc CLOSEST to me? Here, it seems to answer it, but I am still feeling uncertain: "Marking the Lie QA-MAR-1: An inexperienced player in my group flipped his disc to mark it and threw from there. Whats the call? That is a marking violation since an improper method was used to mark the lie. A players first marking violation results in a warning." Thank you! Sponsored Links
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
It's all in Section 810.
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
I wont tell you to just go read the rule book.
You are never allowed in sanctioned play to flip your disc. Lay your mini at the front of your disc and then pick up your disc, and that will be your new lie. You also dont have to mark your disc, you can just throw from where it landed. You would mark your disc at the furthest point away from you or the closest point to the basket. Now in casual play you are more then welcome to flip your disc and play from that lie but it is slightly frowned upon, and if you do flip your disc you do not mark it with your mini. I would suggest not flipping your disc at all since in sanctioned play if you do you will get a penalty.
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
And, 810 is NOT exactly clear on this issue. Thanks again
Last edited by phishbiscuits; 07-25-2019 at 04:07 PM. |
#5
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
My answer was telling you where to look in the rules that answers your specific question. The marking section tells you how to do it. Section 810 tells you why you can't do what you are asking.
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
![]()
As Horsman explained perfectly, you are never allowed to flip the disc you just threw as a means of marking in a sanctioned event. You either play from behind where the disc currently lies or you place a mini marker down, remove the thrown disc, and then play from behind the mini.
I think your attached diagram is simply showing the box size/location doesnt change for either method, mini or thrown disc as the lie. |
#7
|
|||
|
|||
![]()
Others have given you the answer.
The picture you posted can be misleading. It is meant just to demonstrate foot position on the lie whether your lie is marked by a mini or a thrown disc. But it can be misconstrued as implying that the mini is marked at the back of the thrown disc - it is not, as others have said, it is marked at the front of the thrown disc. Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Last edited by cheesethin; 07-25-2019 at 04:57 PM. |
#8
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Thanks again. Last edited by phishbiscuits; 07-25-2019 at 05:18 PM. |
#9
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
![]() |
Ribi12345 | Discs | 1 | 02-18-2015 05:56 PM |
![]() |
Emoney | The Marketplace | 6 | 01-04-2013 08:31 PM |