#71  
Old 04-19-2021, 03:05 PM
txmxer txmxer is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas
Years Playing: 1.2
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,067
Niced 806 Times in 398 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
Since we're typically on tee times, we get to have player meeting with each group. And we explain that the initial throw off the tee must come to rest in the designated area to be ruled safe. Even if there was some crazy shank-ricochet-roll-away-and back and it stopped on the tee box. It's only safe if it comes to rest in the designated area defined in the second sentence.






I guess you can call it that. From my personal perspective, I don't like it that Steve says you're "teeing off from out-of-bounds" when by the book you can't throw from OB. So I just make the tee box inbounds by definition.

So I guess you can call it "island tee" to "island green," but "island tee" then would be the tiniest disc golf island ever!!!
I like the idea of calling it an island tee. If someone's disc ends up back on the tee pad, they are in for a bad hole no matter what happens next.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 04-19-2021, 03:45 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 19.9
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 1,420
Niced 473 Times in 235 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
I guess you can call it that. From my personal perspective, I don't like it that Steve says you're "teeing off from out-of-bounds" when by the book you can't throw from OB. So I just make the tee box inbounds by definition.
Compare 802.04 and 802.07 to see why Steve is right.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 04-19-2021, 03:58 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 32.1
Courses Played: 713
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,185
Niced 3,100 Times in 1,285 Posts
Default

If a tee is inbounds (surrounded by OB) and my drive lands back on the tee pad, don't I get to mark at an inbounds position, even if closer to the basket, where my mark is one meter from any OB line, i.e., that location would likely not be the tee pad unless it was over 2 meters wide.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 04-19-2021, 04:33 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 47
Courses Played: 435
Posts: 5,779
Niced 2,645 Times in 1,238 Posts
Default

I told you this would be fun.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agricolae View Post
But doesn't the teeing area have to be considered inbounds and in this case surrounded by out-of-bounds? 806.02 A. is pretty clear that: "An out-of-bounds (OB) area is an area designated by the Director from which a disc may not be played, and within which a stance may not be taken. ..."
That's actually a good catch of a bit of contradiction. Thanks.

But, if a TD simply said the teeing area is within an OB area and 806.02 A (can't throw from OB) was preferred over 802.04 B (must start by throwing from teeing area) play could never happen. So, I think 802.04 B wins this conflict.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 04-19-2021, 05:36 PM
txmxer txmxer is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas
Years Playing: 1.2
Courses Played: 4
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,067
Niced 806 Times in 398 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cgkdisc View Post
If a tee is inbounds (surrounded by OB) and my drive lands back on the tee pad, don't I get to mark at an inbounds position, even if closer to the basket, where my mark is one meter from any OB line, i.e., that location would likely not be the tee pad unless it was over 2 meters wide.
Okay, but doesn’t that same logic then apply to the use of the tee pad within an OB area in the first place ?
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 04-19-2021, 05:48 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 213
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,740
Niced 713 Times in 422 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
Compare 802.04 and 802.07 to see why Steve is right.
OK. I hear ya. The marker makes a difference, therefore a teeing area may be OB.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 04-19-2021, 06:05 PM
Agricolae Agricolae is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Carolina
Years Playing: 9.9
Courses Played: 68
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 677
Niced 80 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
I told you this would be fun.



That's actually a good catch of a bit of contradiction. Thanks.

But, if a TD simply said the teeing area is within an OB area and 806.02 A (can't throw from OB) was preferred over 802.04 B (must start by throwing from teeing area) play could never happen. So, I think 802.04 B wins this conflict.
Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
Compare 802.04 and 802.07 to see why Steve is right.
I think you are right, Steve, but doesn't 802.07 A. win the conflict as Mike and ARay point out? It comes down to whether the lie is marked with a marker disc. The tee is not marked with a marker so, therefore, you can have a supporting point out-of-bounds when the disc is released.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 04-19-2021, 06:10 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 32.1
Courses Played: 713
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 13,185
Niced 3,100 Times in 1,285 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txmxer View Post
Okay, but doesn’t that same logic then apply to the use of the tee pad within an OB area in the first place ?
Not really because players are required to start from the marked tee pad unless prior relief is granted by the TD.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 04-19-2021, 06:41 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 47
Courses Played: 435
Posts: 5,779
Niced 2,645 Times in 1,238 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agricolae View Post
I think you are right, Steve, but doesn't 802.07 A. win the conflict as Mike and ARay point out? It comes down to whether the lie is marked with a marker disc. The tee is not marked with a marker so, therefore, you can have a supporting point out-of-bounds when the disc is released.
Yes, you can have a supporting point out-of-bounds when teeing off, if that supporting point is on the teeing area.

However, 802.07 A. is not part of the conflict because 802.07 A. only applies "If the lie has been marked by a marker disc...".

The conflict is between the definition of OB and the stance rules for the teeing area. Teeing area rule wins.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
 

  #80  
Old 04-20-2021, 03:31 PM
Armus Patheticus Armus Patheticus is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 351
Niced 227 Times in 109 Posts
Default

In relation to the original question, it is common for the marker disc, or the thrown disc, to move prior to or during the throw. In a steep woods the interconnected carpet of sticks and leaves and rocks and twigs will often shift the disc when the lie is stepped on. I do not remember for certain, or care, if the rules deal neatly with this situation, but it seems to always be handled appropriately: by carrying on without concern.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disc lands on culvert bayouace Rules Questions & Discussion 2 04-14-2018 05:28 PM
Disc lands on tee pad of another card/hole? sidewinder22 Rules Questions & Discussion 91 07-13-2016 07:55 PM
Disc Landing Angle vs Slope of Ground SugarSandwich Technique & Strategy 13 05-21-2014 10:46 PM
What if the disc lands on top of basket topdawgy58 Technique & Strategy 58 03-12-2013 11:05 AM
Is a disc OB if the area it lands in is usually under water, but is not for your lie? Camgolfer General Disc Golf Chat 22 04-16-2009 07:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.