#61  
Old 02-19-2019, 10:44 AM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 169
Niced 80 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
i am not arguing that the rules as written allow for it. i am arguing that the rules would make more sense if equipment that is sitting in a perfectly reasonable spot is treated as part of the course rather than randomly penalizing a player unlucky enough to have a disc roll back and strike it.
Ok. But I disagree that equipment behind your lie is, by default, 'perfectly reasonable' in all situations. What makes it so reasonable? Especially on uphill putts? Why is it not reasonable to expect someone to just stick their bag off to one side, and not downhill of the basket? On flat fairway shots - sure, but downhill on a steep slope with a tricky putt - nah.

Saying roll-aways are random ignores the fact that NOT all shots or holes are EQUALLY likely to produce roll-aways. And that it is easy to identify the high risk shots/holes, and it is easy to mitigate the risk.

The possibility of the rare fluke shot that somehow happens to unexpectedly and 'unfairly' hit your own bag, isn't enough justification to treat the player's kit as part of the course. Doing that allows all sorts of gamesmanship to creep in.
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 02-19-2019, 10:55 AM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 161
Posts: 585
Niced 99 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
There seems to be a theme repeated here that unintentional interference by a players equipment on another players throw results in a penalty. Where are you all seeing that?

The only penalty is for a player's equipment on their own throw. 810.F
Right, but the point I am making is not about those types of penalties. My point is that the rules clearly establish that there are two separate classes of equipment, and that they are treated differently: markers/discs-in-play and "all other equipment".

You can ask another player to remove their "all other equipment" if you think it might interfere with your throw or another players throw, and issue a courtesy warning/violation if they refuse. You cannot make such a request about markers/discs-in-play.

By extension, your own markers/discs-in-play are treated differently from your own "all other equipment" when it comes to penalties. Your marker is required to be there, so you should not be penalized for interference if your next throw touches it. You can't be required to move your mini til the next lie is established, because until that time, it is still establishing the current lie, which may be important for purposes of optional rethrow, foot-fault calls, etc. You can't be expected to find a better place to put the mini so that it's out of the way; it is required to be in one specific location by rule.

Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02-19-2019, 11:25 AM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 169
Niced 80 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHearChains View Post
.... Your marker is required to be there, so you should not be penalized for interference if your next throw touches it. You can't be required to move your mini til the next lie is established, because until that time, it is still establishing the current lie, which may be important for purposes of optional rethrow, foot-fault calls, etc. You can't be expected to find a better place to put the mini so that it's out of the way; it is required to be in one specific location by rule.
I also agree that the rules should be written to give mini-markers special exemption from interference rules along with discs in play. I don't think they do as currently written.

But the bolded bits are not technically true, you are not REQUIRED to leave the mini in place after you have released your disc. Steve said it in #18, you can pick up your mini while the disc is in flight. For abandoned throws, you don't leave you mini on the ground, walk 250', check your new lie, and then walk back and get your mini. If you do abandon your throw, the groups agrees on the location of your previous lie. In the case of roll-away putts, that wouldn't be hard. And if anyone intends to call a stance violation they are required to do it promptly, and once it has been called, (deliberately) moving your mini to impede the process would be poor sportsmanship (cheating).

Leaving your marker in position can be beneficial at times, but the rules only REQUIRE the marker disc to be in position up to the point you have released your disc.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02-19-2019, 11:49 AM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 161
Posts: 585
Niced 99 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
you are not REQUIRED to leave the mini in place after you have released your disc. Steve said it in #18, you can pick up your mini while the disc is in flight. ...
Leaving your marker in position can be beneficial at times, but the rules only REQUIRE the marker disc to be in position up to the point you have released your disc.
Agree. But I didn't say you're required to leave it in place, I said you can't be required to move it...may seem like splitting hairs, but it's meaningful.

As I alluded to before, in a situation when there are two different things in the path of your rollaway, which should you be required to move when you don't have time to move both? In the video of the OP, I would argue the other equipment (towel and disc not in play) were the things that should have been moved, not the mini. He clearly didn't have time to do both, so to require that is really not reasonable. And by rule he has the obligation to make sure that other stuff is out of the way, but not the mini.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02-19-2019, 12:06 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 17.7
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,213
Niced 200 Times in 110 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IHearChains View Post

You can ask another player to remove their "all other equipment" if you think it might interfere with your throw or another players throw, and issue a courtesy warning/violation if they refuse. You cannot make such a request about markers/discs-in-play.
.
What rule prevents you from making that request?

810.H explicitly allows it in some cases.
810.B says what to do if a marker disc has been moved.

I've also seen in practice where a player requests another player to mark their DROT prior to proceeding with their putt so as to avoid potential interference.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02-19-2019, 12:14 PM
IHearChains IHearChains is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 161
Posts: 585
Niced 99 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
What rule prevents you from making that request?

810.H explicitly allows it in some cases.
810.B says what to do if a marker disc has been moved.

I've also seen in practice where a player requests another player to mark their DROT prior to proceeding with their putt so as to avoid potential interference.
Fair points.

In practice, though...what would happen if on each hole I said "OK Joe Schmoe is putting now, everyone in our group must pick up their discs/minis because they might interfere."

The whole group would then need to discuss and agree upon the location to replace each of the lies. Eventually this would make it impossible for the group to make reasonable efforts to keep up with the group in front of them.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 02-19-2019, 02:40 PM
Doofenshmirtz's Avatar
Doofenshmirtz Doofenshmirtz is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Years Playing: 6.8
Courses Played: 87
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 914
Niced 240 Times in 131 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoakimBL View Post
Which would open up the possibility of the thrower intentionally throwing a disc at their opponents or their equipment. Would you like to rethink your position?
No.That wouldn't be interference would it? If I throw at the basket, the basket doesn't "interfere" with my throw just because the disc hits it. If a player intentionally throws at anything and hits it, there is not interference by the object intentionally hit.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-19-2019, 02:43 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,603
Niced 2,462 Times in 1,166 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roblee View Post
Maybe no ambiguity but there is interpretation. "Interfere" does not equal "Touch" as pointed out in post #2. Lots more likely to interfere with your hand trying to move a mini versus letting a disc roll over it. I can't imagine a competitor that would consider penalizing someone because a rollaway touched their marker. It's interesting to analyze this original question but does anyone really think this is how the rule was intended & should be applied? The Q&A does not address this under Interference or Equipment. I'd like to see the Rules Committee look at this.
I'm with you. To me, "interfere" implies a clear change in the path or resulting lie of the disc.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-19-2019, 03:43 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44.8
Courses Played: 326
Posts: 4,563
Niced 1,272 Times in 650 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
What rule prevents you from making that request?

810.H explicitly allows it in some cases.
810.B says what to do if a marker disc has been moved.

I've also seen in practice where a player requests another player to mark their DROT prior to proceeding with their putt so as to avoid potential interference.
What about this scenario: I want to tombstone my spike hyzer in the mud right next to the basket, but another player's marker (whether thrown disc or mini) is right where I am aiming. I don't want my throw to skip off plastic to an OB area.

Under the current rules, can I ask the player to remove their marker?

Should the rules allow me to ask the player to remove their marker?
Reply With Quote
 

  #70  
Old 02-19-2019, 04:31 PM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 12.7
Courses Played: 124
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,626
Niced 861 Times in 460 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
What about this scenario: I want to tombstone my spike hyzer in the mud right next to the basket, but another player's marker (whether thrown disc or mini) is right where I am aiming. I don't want my throw to skip off plastic to an OB area.

Under the current rules, can I ask the player to remove their marker?

Should the rules allow me to ask the player to remove their marker?
I don't know, and no.

But if someone asked me to move my marker, what do I replace it with in order to get my lie back to exactly where it was?

If that happened to me, I would probably just say no. And if they want to appeal to the TD that I should have been forced to move my mini, they can go ahead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference with a Throw Dr_Johnson Rules Questions & Discussion 16 06-04-2018 05:27 PM
Bag Interference lasasj Rules Questions & Discussion 56 02-18-2017 11:36 PM
St. Jude OB Interference Question discgolfer25 Rules Questions & Discussion 5 05-30-2016 03:51 AM
Interference or not? sqatch Rules Questions & Discussion 88 04-03-2014 09:49 AM
interference question joesouthfla General Disc Golf Chat 22 02-25-2011 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.