#71  
Old 02-19-2019, 04:52 PM
teemkey's Avatar
teemkey teemkey is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Courses Played: 39
Posts: 2,362
Niced 351 Times in 161 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
What about this scenario: I want to tombstone my spike hyzer in the mud right next to the basket, but another player's marker (whether thrown disc or mini) is right where I am aiming. I don't want my throw to skip off plastic to an OB area.

Under the current rules, can I ask the player to remove their marker?

Should the rules allow me to ask the player to remove their marker?
What if I want to make a roller putt and ask you to use my specially designed (perfectly legal) marker because I've practiced with it.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-19-2019, 05:25 PM
ru4por's Avatar
ru4por ru4por is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dearborn Michigan
Years Playing: 35.8
Courses Played: 233
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,625
Niced 1,170 Times in 538 Posts
Default

interfere: to interpose in a way that hinders or impedes : come into collision or be in opposition

I think touching something of yours, outside of the mini, is not enough to interfere with the throw.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-19-2019, 08:02 PM
d11rok d11rok is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Lebanon, NH
Years Playing: 2.7
Courses Played: 64
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 161
Niced 64 Times in 38 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
What about this scenario: I want to tombstone my spike hyzer in the mud right next to the basket, but another player's marker (whether thrown disc or mini) is right where I am aiming. I don't want my throw to skip off plastic to an OB area.

Under the current rules, can I ask the player to remove their marker?

Should the rules allow me to ask the player to remove their marker?
At some point, these very outlier "what ifs" take away from any semblance of logic when reading and applying rules

If someone was good enough to confidently tombstone at a spot by the basket the size of a disc or mini, why wouldn't they just throw it in the basket?

Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 02-20-2019, 04:26 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is online now
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 8.1
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 601
Niced 40 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doofenshmirtz View Post
No.That wouldn't be interference would it? If I throw at the basket, the basket doesn't "interfere" with my throw just because the disc hits it. If a player intentionally throws at anything and hits it, there is not interference by the object intentionally hit.
No because the basket is the target and part of the course. If you hit a tree, that tree didn't interfere either, because it is part of the course. Other players and their equipment isn't. And I'm allowed to throw the disc anywhere I want to. (though not at people or animals), so we would be back to arguing intent on the throwers part, which you cannot prove. Why should other players be penalized if my throw hits their (stationary) equipment, if I, as the thrower, didn't bother to ask them to move it? On the other hand, my equipment is my responsibility, and as the thrower, obviously it is also my responsibility to not hit my own equipment, as to not interfere with my disc.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-26-2019, 03:03 PM
mosman253's Avatar
mosman253 mosman253 is offline
Bogey Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: washington
Posts: 75
Niced 11 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Marker disc is fine it should stay there incase you elect to re-putt.anything else should be moved. Imo

Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 02-26-2019, 07:00 PM
araytx araytx is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: DFW
Years Playing: 12.6
Courses Played: 192
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,058
Niced 182 Times in 118 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
I don't see any wording that would exempt the marker. Also - as demonstrated in the video - it is possible to move it out of the way, and doing so does not violate any other rule.

I reject your CK-like extension of the treatment of other players' thrown discs to your own marker. Besides, the rules don't actually have special treatment for thrown discs in the equipment interference rules. Perhaps they should.

This new own-equipment rule was spawned from the expectation of a lot of pros. There was a phantom rule - which was widely, if not universally, enforced at the highest levels. That non-rule gave two penalty throws for allowing your thrown disc to hit your own equipment. The current rule was put in the rule book to kill the phantom rule. It specifically refers to a player's own equipment so that players who read the rule book know they have found the real rule, and don't assume the two-throw penalty rule is somewhere else in the book.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
It seems the instinctive thing to do was to snatch the marker out of the way. Why write a rule that goes against that? Is it worth the extra words and complication to make an exception to allow something that a lot of players think should not be allowed?


Good question. It would seem adding “except discs in play” would be warranted.



The throwers marker is different than thrown discs. While the marker needs to be in place when the throw is made, as soon as the disc is released there is no requirement to leave it there. You don’t get penalized for picking up your marker while the disc is still in flight.

So for now, getting your own marker out of the way is the way to go.

Now, to speculate about a better rule. If we make the exception for discs in play, it would make sense to also exempt a non-throwing player's marker from interfering with another player's throw. If we did that, it might make sense to also exempt the player's own marker.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesethin View Post
I also agree that the rules should be written to give mini-markers special exemption from interference rules along with discs in play. I don't think they do as currently written.

But the bolded bits are not technically true, you are not REQUIRED to leave the mini in place after you have released your disc. Steve said it in #18, you can pick up your mini while the disc is in flight. For abandoned throws, you don't leave you mini on the ground, walk 250', check your new lie, and then walk back and get your mini. If you do abandon your throw, the groups agrees on the location of your previous lie. In the case of roll-away putts, that wouldn't be hard. And if anyone intends to call a stance violation they are required to do it promptly, and once it has been called, (deliberately) moving your mini to impede the process would be poor sportsmanship (cheating).

Leaving your marker in position can be beneficial at times, but the rules only REQUIRE the marker disc to be in position up to the point you have released your disc.

Minis, or markers ARE discs. They are explicitly named "mini marker discs" in 802.06B
Reply With Quote
 

  #77  
Old 02-26-2019, 08:23 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 14
Posts: 167
Niced 79 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by araytx View Post
Minis, or markers ARE discs. They are explicitly named "mini marker discs" in 802.06B
I'm being slow of brain here (it's late, I can't sleep), would you mind spelling out what the significance is here?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference with a Throw Dr_Johnson Rules Questions & Discussion 16 06-04-2018 05:27 PM
Bag Interference lasasj Rules Questions & Discussion 56 02-18-2017 11:36 PM
St. Jude OB Interference Question discgolfer25 Rules Questions & Discussion 5 05-30-2016 03:51 AM
Interference or not? sqatch Rules Questions & Discussion 88 04-03-2014 09:49 AM
interference question joesouthfla General Disc Golf Chat 22 02-25-2011 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.