#1  
Old 11-15-2018, 10:47 AM
Hyzflip10 Hyzflip10 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 221
Niced 194 Times in 92 Posts
Default Phantom foot fault call

This is definitely a pet peeves of mine.

I played in a non sanctioned tournament last weekend. It was a fun time, and I finished in second place in a playoff after the final nine holes. Considering I wasn't expecting much, it was a very successful day for me

In the first round, going into the last hole, I was tied with the player who was considered the favorite at one over par. He bogeyed, and I birdied to take a two stroke lead.

After I hit my 22 foot putt, I clapped my hands and started walking toward the basket to retrieve my disc. I could tell he was annoyed that he was now two strokes behind. Instead of congratulating me on a good round, he pulled a bush league move and tried to call me on a foot fault for walking toward the basket. I asked the TD and course owner afterward and they both agreed that there was no foot fault.

The sequence was:. I straddle putted from 22 feet, watched the disc hit the chains while maintaining balance behind my disc, clapped my hands and took a step forward to retrieve my disc. He claimed since I took a step forward it was a falling putt, but that he wasn't going to call it since it wasn't sanctioned. I just assumed he was showing sour grapes. Either call it, or don't call it. I would have taken a provisional and made my case with the TD. I ignored him and turned in the card after the other players confirmed the scores. I asked the TD and he had no problems.

Any advice advice or feedback? There are too many people trying to call random foot faults as a joke so I never really know when someone is just trying to be a jerk.
Sponsored Links

Last edited by Hyzflip10; 11-15-2018 at 10:49 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2018, 11:13 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.8
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,604
Niced 2,462 Times in 1,166 Posts
Default

Move on.

Sour grapes, or advisory. If someone cautions you that something could have been called, they might just be trying to be helpful in the future. Or maybe not. If earlier in the round, they could be trying to get into your head. Or maybe not.

But he didn't call it. So take it either way, and take the victory.

P.S. If he had called it, it would be the other players in the group, not the TD, who you'd turn to. Assuming the TD didn't see it, how can he determine whether you maintained balance?

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2018, 11:13 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,049
Niced 2,543 Times in 1,065 Posts
Default

First off, one person can't call a foot fault alone. It requires a second to stand. Second, no need for provisionals as there are no re-throws anymore. A validly called and seconded stance violation is simply a one throw penalty added to the existing throw.

From your description, it doesn't seem like you faulted. Without having seen it first-hand, it's difficult to say for certain. That the guy did the passive-aggressive "you faulted but I'm not gonna call you on it" thing suggests to me that he doesn't know the rules all that well and was hoping you didn't either. It was an empty threat unless someone else in the group was willing to confirm, and it's them you should be asking rather than the TD and course owner. Unless they were the other players on the card.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2018, 11:26 AM
Hyzflip10 Hyzflip10 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 221
Niced 194 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
First off, one person can't call a foot fault alone. It requires a second to stand. Second, no need for provisionals as there are no re-throws anymore. A validly called and seconded stance violation is simply a one throw penalty added to the existing throw.

From your description, it doesn't seem like you faulted. Without having seen it first-hand, it's difficult to say for certain. That the guy did the passive-aggressive "you faulted but I'm not gonna call you on it" thing suggests to me that he doesn't know the rules all that well and was hoping you didn't either. It was an empty threat unless someone else in the group was willing to confirm, and it's them you should be asking rather than the TD and course owner. Unless they were the other players on the card.

The other player also said it possibly could have been a foot fault but really wasn't sure. The wording was that someone might try to call it in a sanctioned tourney.

They were both annoyed with me that I mentioned they weren't marking their disc at the beginning of the round and the TD was firm that disc needed to be marked, we couldn't just pick up a disc and throw it. Neither were at the players meeting and are used to playing informal on weekends at this course. The one player was also slowing us down by taking over 30 seconds per throw, and also putting out of turn on at least 4 occasions. I would have called all those in a sanctioned event. So I was surprised they would try to point out my potential foot fault.

One thing I suppose I can do is take an extra split second before walking to the basket to avoid this potential situation in the future. Or maybe pick up my mini first before walking.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2018, 11:38 AM
ru4por's Avatar
ru4por ru4por is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dearborn Michigan
Years Playing: 35.8
Courses Played: 233
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,628
Niced 1,170 Times in 538 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
Move on.

Sour grapes, or advisory. If someone cautions you that something could have been called, they might just be trying to be helpful in the future. Or maybe not. If earlier in the round, they could be trying to get into your head. Or maybe not.

But he didn't call it. So take it either way, and take the victory.

P.S. If he had called it, it would be the other players in the group, not the TD, who you'd turn to. Assuming the TD didn't see it, how can he determine whether you maintained balance?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
First off, one person can't call a foot fault alone. It requires a second to stand. Second, no need for provisionals as there are no re-throws anymore. A validly called and seconded stance violation is simply a one throw penalty added to the existing throw.

From your description, it doesn't seem like you faulted. Without having seen it first-hand, it's difficult to say for certain. That the guy did the passive-aggressive "you faulted but I'm not gonna call you on it" thing suggests to me that he doesn't know the rules all that well and was hoping you didn't either. It was an empty threat unless someone else in the group was willing to confirm, and it's them you should be asking rather than the TD and course owner. Unless they were the other players on the card.
There is always two sides, huh? Rules should be enforced, sanctioned or not. Money, script and/or trophies are on the line. If should be fair. Two people on the card were dubious about your putt, maybe they were right? Rarely do I see anyone intentionally foot fault. Generally, the offending player is not aware of doing it.

Intent is not at issue. Douche move or educational. He did not call it, I would smile and walk. As far as your cardmates violating rules, irritation is on you, not them. Call them or own you irritation.

Stuff like this used to get me worked up, but life is too short, man. I am out there to have a good time. I think it was Climo who had the take that we spend only a few minutes a round concentrating on our shot, spend the rest of the time enjoying the walk.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2018, 11:43 AM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is online now
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 17.7
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,214
Niced 200 Times in 110 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyzflip10 View Post
Or maybe pick up my mini first before walking.
I recommend this to a lot of players who sometimes don't really pause to go retrieve their putt and/or to just make it very clear that balance was demonstrated.

Niced: (4)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2018, 11:51 AM
Hyzflip10 Hyzflip10 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 221
Niced 194 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ru4por View Post
There is always two sides, huh? Rules should be enforced, sanctioned or not. Money, script and/or trophies are on the line. If should be fair. Two people on the card were dubious about your putt, maybe they were right? Rarely do I see anyone intentionally foot fault. Generally, the offending player is not aware of doing it.

Intent is not at issue. Douche move or educational. He did not call it, I would smile and walk. As far as your cardmates violating rules, irritation is on you, not them. Call them or own you irritation.

Stuff like this used to get me worked up, but life is too short, man. I am out there to have a good time. I think it was Climo who had the take that we spend only a few minutes a round concentrating on our shot, spend the rest of the time enjoying the walk.
True. It didn't effect my enjoyment of the tourney at all. In the past that may have affected how I did rest of the tourney, but I was able to let it go pretty quickly and played way over my head the other two rounds.

I'll pay attention in the off season and if I need to make adjustments I'll work on them.

Wasn't Climo the one who called 5 questionable foot faults on Stokely a few years back at a tourney? I blame him for the state of random foot foul calls I saw at league around here anytime anyone made a good shot.

It is the case if boy crying wolf. It's difficult to know genuine concern for the rules from gamesmanship.

Niced: (1)

Last edited by Hyzflip10; 11-15-2018 at 11:52 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2018, 01:59 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,049
Niced 2,543 Times in 1,065 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyzflip10 View Post
True. It didn't effect my enjoyment of the tourney at all. In the past that may have affected how I did rest of the tourney, but I was able to let it go pretty quickly and played way over my head the other two rounds.

I'll pay attention in the off season and if I need to make adjustments I'll work on them.

Wasn't Climo the one who called 5 questionable foot faults on Stokely a few years back at a tourney? I blame him for the state of random foot foul calls I saw at league around here anytime anyone made a good shot.

It is the case if boy crying wolf. It's difficult to know genuine concern for the rules from gamesmanship.
Stokely's faults weren't all that questionable. He missed his mark, he does it often, it's not really a secret. The greater objection to Climo's calling them was the timing and the seeming conspiracy between he and an Innova teammate on the card to call them at a crucial moment that ultimately cost Stokely a berth in the final 9 (with another Innova player taking the spot).

If you see someone commit a fault, you call it. Sanctioned or unsanctioned, lead card or bottom card, first throw of the round or the last, if it's a fault, you call it. If it's not, you don't. The notion of "random" foot fault calls goes back waaaaaaaay before the Climo-Stokely at Worlds incident. Players have always been reticent to make calls unless they have something to gain by it. It's a ****ty way to play.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2018, 02:35 PM
Hyzflip10 Hyzflip10 is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 221
Niced 194 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Stokely's faults weren't all that questionable. He missed his mark, he does it often, it's not really a secret. The greater objection to Climo's calling them was the timing and the seeming conspiracy between he and an Innova teammate on the card to call them at a crucial moment that ultimately cost Stokely a berth in the final 9 (with another Innova player taking the spot).

If you see someone commit a fault, you call it. Sanctioned or unsanctioned, lead card or bottom card, first throw of the round or the last, if it's a fault, you call it. If it's not, you don't. The notion of "random" foot fault calls goes back waaaaaaaay before the Climo-Stokely at Worlds incident. Players have always been reticent to make calls unless they have something to gain by it. It's a ****ty way to play.
I vaguely remember watching slo mo of stokelys foot faults that tourney. At least one or two, his plant foot seemed in line with the center of the disc and the basket within 10 inches. He was throwing on such a weird anhyzer angle that his throw was going pretty far left of the line.

I am glad the rule was changed this year to make it more obvious.

I am seeing the benefit of calling any infraction anytime it happens. Part of the reason I have been moving away from tournies and toward casual play is that while most tournies are fun and professionally run, rarely does anyone play by the rules all the time and it takes away from the enjoyment of the game for me.

From TDs going rogue when setting cards (1st round and subsequent rounds), to people taking longer than 30 seconds, talking while other people are throwing, outright gamesmanship, throwing tantrums when called on courtesy violations, etc etc.

There isn't enough $$ at my level to make it worthwhile, and I have more fun and relaxation doing my own thing. I play well enough to cash at most events I play, but time, travel, food and aggravation aren't worth it for me.

I love this game too much to be annoyed by it.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 11-15-2018, 05:51 PM
Reniger's Avatar
Reniger Reniger is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The Mighty Mitten
Years Playing: 15.9
Courses Played: 49
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,736
Niced 423 Times in 291 Posts
Default

Rule number 1: Don't be a dick. You did the right thing. I've had similar situations in sanctioned tournaments where people get sour and try to manipulate rules or call phantom violations to improve their own position.

The last one resulted in the TD disqualifying the harasser after he tried to call illegitimate calls on two separate cards and was reported to the TD. The TD gave him 2 courtesy violations (one for each card) and when the player lost his cool on the TD, he was DQ'd for Cheating and Misconduct and reported to the PDGA by the TD.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a foot fault? chowee21 Rules Questions & Discussion 21 02-05-2017 11:16 PM
Foot fault on drive tom12003 Rules Questions & Discussion 12 05-19-2016 11:02 AM
UnCalled For Foot Fault Horsman Rules Questions & Discussion 86 08-16-2013 04:16 PM
Foot fault? Big Weekend Rules Questions & Discussion 12 05-30-2013 09:41 AM
Is this a Foot Fault? dashiellx Rules Questions & Discussion 170 05-03-2013 12:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.