#1  
Old 02-11-2019, 09:28 PM
waterdog44 waterdog44 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Princeton, TX
Years Playing: 2.6
Courses Played: 5
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 10
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Disc in the Wrong Basket Off the Tee

Wondering what to do for the next shot if the tee shot goes off line and goes in a basket from an adjacent hole. I was shooting off no. 18 tee at the new Princeton, TX course and I pulled it ( forehand ). The disc went right at the no. 1 basket probably 90 feet away and hit it pretty square but didn't stick. How to play next shot if it had stayed in ?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2019, 09:29 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,878
Niced 1,153 Times in 546 Posts
Default

Mark it right below its position in the basket. You essentially landed in a metal bush.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2019, 09:30 PM
waterdog44 waterdog44 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Princeton, TX
Years Playing: 2.6
Courses Played: 5
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 10
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No penalty then right ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:01 PM
Cgkdisc's Avatar
Cgkdisc Cgkdisc is online now
.:Hall of Fame Member:.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Years Playing: 30
Courses Played: 669
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 11,878
Niced 1,153 Times in 546 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterdog44 View Post
No penalty then right ?
Normally no, as long as your throw didn't cross an OB line where the other fairway was OB for the hole you were playing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:10 PM
waterdog44 waterdog44 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Princeton, TX
Years Playing: 2.6
Courses Played: 5
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 10
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK----- Nice to draw some metal off the tee anyhow LOL.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2019, 10:16 PM
joegraham's Avatar
joegraham joegraham is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon
Years Playing: 34.8
Courses Played: 110
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 727
Niced 12 Times in 9 Posts
Default

It’s widely called a “black ace”.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2019, 06:28 AM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 23.8
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 6,062
Niced 1,094 Times in 520 Posts
Default

No penalty other than handing out some dollars to cardmates...

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2019, 06:32 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,594
Niced 2,458 Times in 1,162 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterdog44 View Post
No penalty then right ?
Depends on how you look at it. In places where cardmates traditionally pay the thrower who hits an ace---often $5---they may also traditionally expect the thrower to pay the cardmates if he hits a black ace.

That can be costly in a large group; a penalty stroke, even an improper one, would be better.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2019, 06:33 AM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 23.7
Courses Played: 125
Posts: 14,594
Niced 2,458 Times in 1,162 Posts
Default

Edit: Beaten to the punch, slowed by my own verbosity, again.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:39 AM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 21.2
Courses Played: 144
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,031
Niced 2,507 Times in 1,054 Posts
Default

Since no one else has bothered to cite the appropriate rule that addresses this, I'll add it for the sake of completeness and education.

811 Misplay
F. Types of misplay:
2. Wrong Target. The player has completed play on a target that is not the correct target for the hole being played. If no subsequent throw has been made, play continues from the resulting lie. If the target is a basket target, then the disc is above the playing surface and play proceeds according to 805.01.C. If the player has teed off on the next hole, two penalty throws are added to the score for the misplayed hole.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong basket played - you be the TD Doofenshmirtz Rules Questions & Discussion 110 01-30-2018 10:15 PM
Disc hit tree and went in wrong basket 93EXCivic Rules Questions & Discussion 15 12-15-2016 10:20 AM
2 tee 2 basket ? duckychucky Course Design 22 07-26-2014 06:54 AM
Length between basket and next tee? greg_b_4 Course Design 29 10-13-2013 11:03 PM
Made an ace in the wrong basket sirflicksalot General Disc Golf Chat 32 01-14-2010 11:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.