#21  
Old 07-06-2017, 11:26 AM
summit617 summit617 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Courses Played: 38
Posts: 26
Niced 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

this may be a dumb question, but would one be able to call a foot fault on themselves?
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-06-2017, 11:34 AM
_MTL_ _MTL_ is offline
Flippy Flopper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 27.5
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,170
Niced 1,223 Times in 506 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by summit617 View Post
this may be a dumb question, but would one be able to call a foot fault on themselves?
In the past this was allowed, but not any longer. A player cannot call or second a stance violation on themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-06-2017, 01:56 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
Crushing on Zoe and Hating on Keegan
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Darkhorse Ranch
Years Playing: 13.4
Courses Played: 175
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 15,350
Niced 2,627 Times in 1,212 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Consult20 View Post
But the ruling occurred at his original lie, they showed him his footprint. So he should have stepped up to throw again then, not some period of time after the next player walked over to his lie.
What if he wanted to use the same disc he made the original, illegal throw with? He's got to walk up the fairway to retrieve it first.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-06-2017, 02:41 PM
_MTL_ _MTL_ is offline
Flippy Flopper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 27.5
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,170
Niced 1,223 Times in 506 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrotherDave View Post
What if he wanted to use the same disc he made the original, illegal throw with? He's got to walk up the fairway to retrieve it first.
If you foot fault outside of 10 meters, you are not allowed to re-use the disc.

If you throw it OB, you can retrieve and re-throw, but not in the case of a stance violation.

You can, however, retrieve and re-use inside 10 meters for a stance violation.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-06-2017, 03:14 PM
Lazerface Lazerface is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Louis, MO
Courses Played: 5
Posts: 854
Niced 519 Times in 247 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=_MTL_;3199131]If you foot fault outside of 10 meters, you are not allowed to re-use the disc.

If you throw it OB, you can retrieve and re-throw, but not in the case of a stance violation.

You can, however, retrieve and re-use inside 10 meters for a stance violation.[/QUOTEM

Man. I have heard this "cant use the disc you threw OB with" before and always thought it was BS. At my local A-Tier in June I asked my card if I could go retrieve my OB drive and rethrow and a guy from another card stepped in and said I could not. I was not sure of the rule so I took his word for it. I asked Zack Melton after the round and he told me that I could have as long as I don't violate the 30 second rule to go get it.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-06-2017, 03:32 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 46.5
Courses Played: 431
Posts: 5,508
Niced 2,312 Times in 1,098 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _MTL_ View Post
If you foot fault outside of 10 meters, you are not allowed to re-use the disc.

If you throw it OB, you can retrieve and re-throw, but not in the case of a stance violation.

You can, however, retrieve and re-use inside 10 meters for a stance violation.
I think that's an ex-rule. As in expired, no longer with us... (insert Monte Python dead parrot sketch here.)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-06-2017, 04:38 PM
_MTL_ _MTL_ is offline
Flippy Flopper
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Years Playing: 27.5
Courses Played: 143
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,170
Niced 1,223 Times in 506 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
I think that's an ex-rule. As in expired, no longer with us... (insert Monte Python dead parrot sketch here.)
interesting. I don't remember them changing that one, but I certainly can't find it mentioned either....
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-07-2017, 08:32 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
Crushing on Zoe and Hating on Keegan
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Darkhorse Ranch
Years Playing: 13.4
Courses Played: 175
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 15,350
Niced 2,627 Times in 1,212 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
I think that's an ex-rule. As in expired, no longer with us... (insert Monte Python dead parrot sketch here.)
Which one? All of them?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-07-2017, 08:48 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 46.5
Courses Played: 431
Posts: 5,508
Niced 2,312 Times in 1,098 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrotherDave View Post
Which one? All of them?
There is no rule that says you can't re-use any disc in any situation. (At least that I can find.) Of course, you still only have 30 seconds to throw, so it might be impractical.
Reply With Quote
 

  #30  
Old 07-07-2017, 09:16 PM
BrotherDave's Avatar
BrotherDave BrotherDave is offline
Crushing on Zoe and Hating on Keegan
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Darkhorse Ranch
Years Playing: 13.4
Courses Played: 175
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 15,350
Niced 2,627 Times in 1,212 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
There is no rule that says you can't re-use any disc in any situation. (At least that I can find.) Of course, you still only have 30 seconds to throw, so it might be impractical.
30 seconds doesn't start until you're clear of distractions though, right? So if you go Rain Man and got to have your disc, that's a distraction right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a foot fault? chowee21 Rules Questions & Discussion 21 02-06-2017 12:16 AM
Intentional Foot Fault esdubya General Disc Golf Chat 195 09-07-2013 11:52 PM
UnCalled For Foot Fault Horsman Rules Questions & Discussion 86 08-16-2013 05:16 PM
Foot fault? Big Weekend Rules Questions & Discussion 12 05-30-2013 10:41 AM
Is this a Foot Fault? dashiellx Rules Questions & Discussion 170 05-03-2013 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.