Old 07-29-2020, 06:47 PM

Niced 6 Times in 5 Posts
Question "You Might Need New Discs"

Just a disclaimer, I am very new to the sport and am still trying to understand everything in the game, so forgive me if what this post contains just sounds stupid, but I want to get better so I might as well ask a forum.

I've played a few rounds recently and noticed a trend that is killing my score: I can't achieve any considerable distance on throws. Because of this, when others are at the hole in 1-2 throws, I'm aiming to putt in the amount it takes for par (typically 3). This makes birdies impossible, pars extremely difficult, and bogeys very common.

Since I am new, I only have four discs in my bag:
> Innova DX Leopard [6|5|-2|1]
> Innova DX Cobra [4|5|-2|2]
> Innova DX Shark [4|4|0|2]
> Innova DX Aviar [3|2|0|1]

I constantly find that my only "good" shot is a decently wide anheizer, typically landing right ahead of me and reaching 150-160ft. If I try to throw a reasonably straight shot, the distance goes down to only about 100-125ft. I may be a beginner, but I know that these are terrible numbers.

I have been searching online and asking around, as I'm trying to find the root of this problem. At first I thought it was my technique, then my release angle, disc angle (heizers/stable/anheizers), and everything in-between, yet nothing so far has worked.

My constant researching and endless hours of throwing with no sign of a good result stopped when I heard something that caught me off-guard. A "disc golf basics instructional" video made a statement that "If you're throwing too hard for a disc (on a RHBH), it will fade to the right rather than to the left."