#1  
Old 09-05-2016, 11:32 AM
7ontheline's Avatar
7ontheline 7ontheline is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Years Playing: 10.1
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,256
Niced 162 Times in 96 Posts
Default Adding a disc to the bag after a tourney round starts?

I was told by another player in my group at this weekends PDGA tourney that I couldn't use a disc I spaced during warm up since it wasn't in my bag when the round began. I asked the TD if it was legal and he said he couldn't find a rule that said I couldn't. What's the rule if there is one and thanks
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2016, 11:46 AM
sonny's Avatar
sonny sonny is online now
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Years Playing: 36.4
Courses Played: 37
Posts: 676
Niced 31 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Absolutely legal.

I once had a tree puncture a DX Valkyrie two holes into a tournament. At the time I was playing with only four discs and my card was courteous enough to allow me to run back to my car for a new one. I've also seen players stopping by the fly-mart mid round to buy a new disc they immediately began using. (after marking it of course.

Related to this, it is also legal to borrow a fellow competitors disc for a throw if the other player is agreeable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2016, 12:01 PM
7ontheline's Avatar
7ontheline 7ontheline is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Years Playing: 10.1
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,256
Niced 162 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonny View Post
Related to this, it is also legal to borrow a fellow competitors disc for a throw if the other player is agreeable.
Is there a rule you could point to that would indicate this is legal or are you saying its legal since there is no specific rule saying you can't borrow, buy, or retrieve a disc mid round?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2016, 12:05 PM
bradharris's Avatar
bradharris bradharris is offline
Team Borderland
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Loudoun County
Years Playing: 17.5
Courses Played: 87
Posts: 5,220
Niced 41 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7ontheline View Post
I was told by another player in my group at this weekends PDGA tourney that I couldn't use a disc I spaced during warm up since it wasn't in my bag when the round began. I asked the TD if it was legal and he said he couldn't find a rule that said I couldn't. What's the rule if there is one and thanks
Here are the rules governing what discs can and can't be used.

Any disc that meet the standards set forth in that section are legal for use in PDGA play. Any claims about additional restrictions not set forth in that section are likely made up rules that the person heard from someone else (this is a very common example of that).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2016, 12:32 PM
7ontheline's Avatar
7ontheline 7ontheline is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Years Playing: 10.1
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,256
Niced 162 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradharris View Post
Here are the rules governing what discs can and can't be used.

Any disc that meet the standards set forth in that section are legal for use in PDGA play. Any claims about additional restrictions not set forth in that section are likely made up rules that the person heard from someone else (this is a very common example of that).
Ouch.

801.02 D - A disc that is questioned by another player or an official is illegal unless it is subsequently approved by the Director.

I guess I could have gone through the appeal process since after calling the Director he didn't know off the top of his head if I would have been throwing an illegal disc... until later when he told me no rule was found to disallow my misplaced disc. That sucks for the group if we have to wait until the TD researched the situation or asked us to stand down and allow others to play through until he could arrive at an answer especially if the player calling 'illegal' is wrong

Could I call a courtesy violation warning on him for making up a rule (auditory distraction)and thus making/delaying flow of play and f'ing with my head
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2016, 12:44 PM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 25.4
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 7,152
Niced 2,899 Times in 1,148 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7ontheline View Post
Ouch.

801.02 D - A disc that is questioned by another player or an official is illegal unless it is subsequently approved by the Director.

I guess I could have gone through the appeal process since after calling the Director he didn't know off the top of his head if I would have been throwing an illegal disc... until later when he told me no rule was found to disallow my misplaced disc. That sucks for the group if we have to wait until the TD researched the situation or asked us to stand down and allow others to play through until he could arrive at an answer especially if the player calling 'illegal' is wrong

Could I call a courtesy violation warning on him for making up a rule (auditory distraction)and thus making/delaying flow of play and f'ing with my head
You had no reason to have to wait on the td as there is no rule under which your disc was possibly illegal. The waiting on the td part is when discs are questionably illegal under actual rules (weight, etc). Your appropriate response to the questioning player was "under what rule?- you are full of it and don't know what you are talking about unless you can show me in the rulebook or the digital rulebook on your phone". It is as if he had called your disc illegal because it is was red (or whatever color).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2016, 12:58 PM
7ontheline's Avatar
7ontheline 7ontheline is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Years Playing: 10.1
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,256
Niced 162 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biscoe View Post
You had no reason to have to wait on the td as there is no rule under which your disc was possibly illegal. The waiting on the td part is when discs are questionably illegal under actual rules (weight, etc). Your appropriate response to the questioning player was "under what rule?- you are full of it and don't know what you are talking about unless you can show me in the rulebook or the digital rulebook on your phone". It is as if he had called your disc illegal because it is was red (or whatever color).
I follow what you're saying but I'm not a PDGA member and don't have a rulebook. The player in question is a sponsored member so I ASSUMED he maybe correct or at least I wasn't comfortable possibly taking the chance of getting stroked. I called the TD hoping for an answer but I didn't get one until later so bad on me for not spending the time looking online in the sun with my 4s micro phone looking for a rule that apparently wasn't there. That would have taken a while and I wasn't prepared to screw up the lead cards mojo.

Maybe next time, in a pressure situation like that player has to make a putt to win or tie I should call an illegal disc on his putter claiming it might be overweight. Legal or no... DB for sure but legal
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2016, 01:26 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.8
Courses Played: 152
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,976 Times in 1,639 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7ontheline View Post
I follow what you're saying but I'm not a PDGA member and don't have a rulebook. The player in question is a sponsored member so I ASSUMED he maybe correct or at least I wasn't comfortable possibly taking the chance of getting stroked. I called the TD hoping for an answer but I didn't get one until later so bad on me for not spending the time looking online in the sun with my 4s micro phone looking for a rule that apparently wasn't there. That would have taken a while and I wasn't prepared to screw up the lead cards mojo.
You don't need to have a rule book of your own (or access to one online) to make another player provide the rule under which he's trying to restrict/penalize you. Especially if they're a PDGA member since they should have a rule book of their own.

If they're going to call a semi-obscure rule (which I'd define as anything that a casual tournament player like yourself might not be aware of), it's on them to provide the proof that the rule exists as they understand it. If they can't, you shouldn't let them try to pull one over on you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7ontheline View Post
Maybe next time, in a pressure situation like that player has to make a putt to win or tie I should call an illegal disc on his putter claiming it might be overweight. Legal or no... DB for sure but legal
Were I the player you tried that on, I'd go ahead and make my putt anyway. Then let the TD decide whether or not to penalize me the two throws an illegal disc would cost me. If it's deemed legal, I'd could ask the TD to DQ you for unsportsmanlike actions. Doubt the DQ would come, but hey, one good turn deserves another, right?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-05-2016, 01:50 PM
7ontheline's Avatar
7ontheline 7ontheline is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Years Playing: 10.1
Courses Played: 67
Posts: 1,256
Niced 162 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
You don't need to have a rule book of your own (or access to one online) to make another player provide the rule under which he's trying to restrict/penalize you. Especially if they're a PDGA member since they should have a rule book of their own.

If they're going to call a semi-obscure rule (which I'd define as anything that a casual tournament player like yourself might not be aware of), it's on them to provide the proof that the rule exists as they understand it. If they can't, you shouldn't let them try to pull one over on you.



Were I the player you tried that on, I'd go ahead and make my putt anyway. Then let the TD decide whether or not to penalize me the two throws an illegal disc would cost me. If it's deemed legal, I'd could ask the TD to DQ you for unsportsmanlike actions. Doubt the DQ would come, but hey, one good turn deserves another, right?

If for example, I didn't know the dog bite that went through the flight plate was illegal and took your advice of threw it anyway, when the TD said it was illegal I would have been penalized. So ignoring his "semi-obscure" rule because he can't produce the rule isn't going to hold water as to whether I ultimately get penalized, kind of like ignorance of the law is no excuse. Regardless, it got me thinking of something other than my next shot and that doesn't see fair especially if its legal to apply gamesmanship without consequences. Batter, batter, swing... miss

Regarding your unsportsmanship like actions, that's the point I was asking... if its unsportsmanship like wouldn't that fall under courtesy violation? It did put the question in my head right or wrong if I should use that disc or not. I Play with Confidence, well, most of the time.
Reply With Quote
 

  #10  
Old 09-05-2016, 02:06 PM
Broken Shoulder's Avatar
Broken Shoulder Broken Shoulder is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Minnesota
Years Playing: 11.4
Courses Played: 19
Posts: 3,700
Niced 1,448 Times in 603 Posts
Default

I'd like to assume that he truly thought it was a rule and he was correct. If not, and he was trying to game you, then he's a douche.
That said, even if it was the latter, you can choose to be the bigger person.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reptilian Disc Golf Gecko Bag (Casual Round Bag) jcassidy1990 Bags / Carts / Straps / Tags 344 08-30-2020 12:32 AM
Adding Discs Mid Round Sean Johnson Rules Questions & Discussion 31 05-23-2014 03:45 PM
Adding discs during a tourney solomon.trenton Tournaments & Leagues 40 03-19-2010 03:52 PM
one disc running round tourney format Peterb General Disc Golf Chat 10 03-03-2010 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.