#41  
Old 10-31-2016, 11:27 AM
DanJon DanJon is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Years Playing: 16.6
Courses Played: 33
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 7,405
Niced 1,487 Times in 691 Posts
Default

Considering that you are placing the object on your lie, and you have to put your foot or knee on the lie, then logic dictates that it would be compressed on the lie.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 10-31-2016, 11:56 AM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 14.2
Courses Played: 226
Posts: 16,768
Niced 3,943 Times in 2,404 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoakimBL View Post
Just because you put quotes on it, doesn't make it what the rules say. The rule is:

It mentions nothing about being compressed on the lie. So no, the literal interpretation does not vary at all.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdga
801.03 A
An item such as a towel or a pad may be placed on the lie as long as it is not greater than one centimeter in thickness when compressed.
Ipso facto by the direct PDGA rule book quote.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-01-2016, 03:53 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 9.7
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

I quoted the rule in my post, but I realize that your reading comprehension might be lacking. The rule does not require you to compress the item at the lie, it only states that the item needs to be able to be compressed to a maximum thickness of 1 cm. If I have something like a foam ball that I can compress to less than 1 cm, i can put that on my lie, place a finger on top without compressing it, and that would be perfectly legal according to 801.03 A. It wouldn't make much sense, but it's ment as an example of why you are reading the rule incorrectly.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-01-2016, 10:23 AM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 14.2
Courses Played: 226
Posts: 16,768
Niced 3,943 Times in 2,404 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoakimBL View Post
I quoted the rule in my post, but I realize that your reading comprehension might be lacking. The rule does not require you to compress the item at the lie, it only states that the item needs to be able to be compressed to a maximum thickness of 1 cm. If I have something like a foam ball that I can compress to less than 1 cm, i can put that on my lie, place a finger on top without compressing it, and that would be perfectly legal according to 801.03 A. It wouldn't make much sense, but it's ment as an example of why you are reading the rule incorrectly.
No chief. You appear to not be comprehending the "as long as" qualifier in that same sentence as the "when compressed" along with "on the lie".

In a logic argument:
If when compressed to less than 1cm, then it is allowed on the lie.

Your foam ball example is illegal if you are touching it. Touching anything requires compression, albeit not much compression which is what makes your foam ball illegal in this case because you are not compressing enough to be legal, as long as, when it is touched/compressed on the lie. Now if your foam ball scenario is just outside the lie, then it would be legal since it's not on the lie when compressed.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-01-2016, 12:36 PM
Major Tomahawk Major Tomahawk is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Manteca, CA
Posts: 591
Niced 239 Times in 91 Posts
Default

Just buy a SewFly. I've had a couple custom-made pads with pterodactyls on them.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11-01-2016, 12:41 PM
sidewinder22's Avatar
sidewinder22 sidewinder22 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Creeping Creek DGC
Years Playing: 14.2
Courses Played: 226
Posts: 16,768
Niced 3,943 Times in 2,404 Posts
Default

I'll just tie a shoe to my knee that is greater than 1cm even when compressed. Shoes are legal devices.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 11-01-2016, 04:20 PM
Putt for D'oh's Avatar
Putt for D'oh Putt for D'oh is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Years Playing: 5.5
Courses Played: 24
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 1,253
Niced 566 Times in 330 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teemkey View Post
So why not change the wording of the rule to be more clear (literally )?
Because that makes rule books turn into multi volume tomes that are impossible to read for everyone but lawyers and even then you have to have someone explain the whole thing.

Every sport is like this.

In most sports what you have in addition to the rules is a referees handbook that presents general interpretations of the rules that focus on the intent or spirit of the rule. The rule books themselves are written with brevity in mind to give an outline of what is and is not ok.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12-14-2016, 05:41 PM
Pwingles's Avatar
Pwingles Pwingles is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bird Town
Years Playing: 14.8
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 3,618
Niced 33 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoakimBL View Post
I quoted the rule in my post, but I realize that your reading comprehension might be lacking. The rule does not require you to compress the item at the lie, it only states that the item needs to be able to be compressed to a maximum thickness of 1 cm. If I have something like a foam ball that I can compress to less than 1 cm, i can put that on my lie, place a finger on top without compressing it, and that would be perfectly legal according to 801.03 A. It wouldn't make much sense, but it's ment as an example of why you are reading the rule incorrectly.
How could anyone honestly comprehend this rule, in this way?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12-14-2016, 11:30 PM
Martin Dewgarita's Avatar
Martin Dewgarita Martin Dewgarita is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In the Woods, WI
Years Playing: 11
Courses Played: 1373
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,977
Niced 969 Times in 336 Posts
Default

It also doesn't state how much force of compression it should take to get it to 1 cm, pretty much any everyday household item can be compressed to much less than 1 cm, just look up those hydraulic press videos on youtube...
Reply With Quote
 

  #50  
Old 12-15-2016, 02:32 AM
JoakimBL JoakimBL is offline
Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Years Playing: 9.7
Courses Played: 21
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 618
Niced 50 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pwingles View Post
How could anyone honestly comprehend this rule, in this way?
because I can read?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disc Claw by Hive Disc Golf- Disc retriever Aim For The Chains Other Gear 1 07-26-2016 02:08 PM
1 Disc, 2 Disc, Red Disc, Blue Disc: New&Used, Pearly/Gummy & Cheap! GripLock13 The Marketplace 8 03-19-2013 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.