Go Back   Disc Golf Course Review > Equipment > Discs

Old 08-21-2012, 09:33 PM

Years Playing: 31.1
Throwing Style: RHBH
Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default So What Really Happens To a Disc When Hot Stamped?

Hello All,

Craig here from the Zing factory. I apologize if this topic has already been covered, but I have a pondering question for this group on the topic of hot stamping/decorating a disc. You see, I've been doing the mini disc thing for over 20 years, and have been in the plastics injection molding profession for more than that, have molded tons of plastic parts,......and I have this question:

Do you think that the hot stamp that is applied to the golf disc affects the flight of the disc? For instance, if you had a "no-stamp" disc, and a similar, "same run" disc of the exact same model with a hot stamp on it, will they fly differently? How about a small stamp, compared to a LARGE stamp that covers the entire top of the flight plate of the disc,....... Does that affect the flight? Does dyeing a disc affect the flight too?

I'm interested in finding out what folks think, opinions, etc. Being a plastics guy, and injection molding as a career, I'm wondering what the players who use a variety of manufacturers products think. I have some assumptions, but have never validated this question.

Again. I apologize if this has been covered before, but I had a great conversation with a disc salesman this evening about it and wanted to post this "inquiring minds-want to know" question.

Many Thanks,

Craig
Zingman
Sponsored Links
Old 08-21-2012, 09:43 PM
Eagle Member

Niced 0 Times in 0 Posts

i can tell you from experience that dyeing doesn't effect flight...well unless you get the disc too hot and warp it...but a successful dye job....no change in flight characteristics
Old 08-21-2012, 09:51 PM
Bending Rodriguez

Years Playing: 14.1
Courses Played: 120
Niced 9 Times in 8 Posts
Send a message via AIM to B3NDER