#1  
Old 08-21-2018, 02:46 PM
DiscgolfStu's Avatar
DiscgolfStu DiscgolfStu is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The No Sco
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 303
Niced 140 Times in 35 Posts
Default Darn Stick!

So, just completed the officials exam. Passed, but this question drove me nuts. Wondering what y'all think:

Q: As a player approaches his lie on the fairway he notices a big stick that is resting by his disc. The stick is dead and unattached. Part of it is in his stance and part of it extends between his lie and the hole. Can he move the stick?

Answers:
a - no, you cannot move anything that is at least partially between you and the hole
b- no, you are not allowed to move anything and must play the disc as it lies
c - yes, but it will be at the cost of a one-throw penalty
d - yes, you can move obstacles in your stance, even if part of the obstacle extends between the lie and the hole
e - yes, if the majority of the group gives you permission

The Rules state (bold and italics added by me):

Quote:
A player must choose the stance that results in the least movement of any obstacle that is a permanent or integral part of the course. Once a stance has been taken, the player may not move an obstacle in order to make room for a throwing motion. It is legal for a player's throwing motion to cause incidental movement of an obstacle.

A player is not allowed to move any obstacle on the course, with the following exceptions:
A player may move casual obstacles that are on or behind the lie. A casual obstacle is any item or collection of loose debris (such as stones, leaves, twigs, or unconnected branches), or any item as designated by the Director.

A player may request that other people move themselves or their belongings.

A player may restore course equipment to its proper working order, including the removal of obstacles.

A player who moves any obstacle on the course other than as allowed above receives one penalty throw.
The way I see it is that you're allowed to move the stick because it's between you and your lie, but not allowed to move it because it's also between your lie and the basket. What's the correct ruling??
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2018, 03:05 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 366
Niced 213 Times in 111 Posts
Default

According to the Q&A, you can move it.

https://www.pdga.com/faq/rules/qa-ob...early-detached

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2018, 03:06 PM
d11rok d11rok is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Years Playing: 3.8
Courses Played: 66
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 170
Niced 77 Times in 41 Posts
Default

edit: nvm I suppose I was incorrect as well
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2018, 03:07 PM
krupicka's Avatar
krupicka krupicka is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Years Playing: 18.8
Courses Played: 72
Posts: 1,307
Niced 297 Times in 161 Posts
Default

The explicit answer is in another part of the rule book. Keep looking. (cheesethin found it)

Niced: (1)

Last edited by krupicka; 08-21-2018 at 03:07 PM. Reason: simultaneous post
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2018, 03:09 PM
DiscgolfStu's Avatar
DiscgolfStu DiscgolfStu is online now
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The No Sco
Years Playing: 11.8
Courses Played: 27
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 303
Niced 140 Times in 35 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
The explicit answer is in another part of the rule book. Keep looking. (cheesethin found it)
Fair, but the rules could be clearer. I did get it right, but it was more of a guess based on what would be the most reasonable answer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2018, 03:13 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 366
Niced 213 Times in 111 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krupicka View Post
The explicit answer is in another part of the rule book. Keep looking. (cheesethin found it)
I liked your 'look further' approach, and tried to add a spoiler alert to my post, damn 5min edit window.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2018, 03:16 PM
cheesethin cheesethin is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 366
Niced 213 Times in 111 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscgolfStu View Post
Fair, but the rules could be clearer.
Yeah, the Q&A really help flesh out some of the rules.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2018, 04:01 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 22.3
Courses Played: 151
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 7,964
Niced 3,974 Times in 1,638 Posts
Default

Not sure what's unclear about the rule. It says you're allowed to move it if it is on or behind your lie. It doesn't say it has to be entirely on or behind the lie. If any part of it is on or behind the lie, you're free to move it.

Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
 

  #9  
Old 08-21-2018, 05:19 PM
Consult20's Avatar
Consult20 Consult20 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Years Playing: 6
Courses Played: 29
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,512
Niced 405 Times in 240 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
Not sure what's unclear about the rule. It says you're allowed to move it if it is on or behind your lie. It doesn't say it has to be entirely on or behind the lie. If any part of it is on or behind the lie, you're free to move it.
Exactly, the stick could have branches sticking out in several directions, irrelevant as long as part of it is on or behind the lie. Otherwise, the rule wouldn't make sense.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you have to stick to only one weight? MonkeyShine Technique & Strategy 12 05-13-2014 06:37 PM
$10 circle stamp pair, valks and that darn roc PhillyMatt The Marketplace 19 07-31-2012 10:00 PM
gosh darn putters! long post! DanJon Bag Suggestions & Feedback 9 04-04-2012 06:52 PM
Darn Putter Rounds SomeChump Technique & Strategy 15 05-13-2010 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.