#81  
Old 11-30-2019, 03:10 PM
DiscFifty DiscFifty is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,491
Niced 1,054 Times in 619 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
What does the marker being down have to do with anything?
Not sure where you're jumping in at, but since you quoted parts of my statements...it all stems from what happens after the player's marker is down. At that point if the player throws any other object in front of the marker, I would be interested to know why he is doing it. Obviously this is going to be a rare event, perhaps that's why there is so much shock & awe about someone saying they would ask why they would do that.
Sponsored Links
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 11-30-2019, 03:33 PM
robdeforge robdeforge is offline
Birdie Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Courses Played: 1
Posts: 414
Niced 185 Times in 98 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscFifty View Post
Not sure where you're jumping in at, but since you quoted parts of my statements...it all stems from what happens after the player's marker is down. At that point if the player throws any other object in front of the marker, I would be interested to know why he is doing it. Obviously this is going to be a rare event, perhaps that's why there is so much shock & awe about someone saying they would ask why they would do that.
just to clarify - there is nothing in the rule book that says that "placing ANYTHING on the ground in between your lie and the basket" (previous post by you) is a rules violation, either before or after the marker has been placed. that is your interpretation. I think that's the reason for the shock & awe, that you're trying to pass off your specious interpretation of a rule as a rule that you expect others to abide by

Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 11-30-2019, 04:36 PM
DiscFifty DiscFifty is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,491
Niced 1,054 Times in 619 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robdeforge View Post
just to clarify - there is nothing in the rule book that says that "placing ANYTHING on the ground in between your lie and the basket" (previous post by you) is a rules violation..
"An item such as a towel or a pad may be placed on the lie as long as it is not greater than one centimeter in thickness when compressed."

That's why I keep mainly referring to another disc, marker, etc, that is placed on the lie AFTER your marker is down because clearly...according to the rules...it IS a violation because those items are clearly greater than one centimeter in thickness, so if you're going to argue the specific rules, in this case it is not saying used as a visual aid, it is saying ANY ITEM greater than 1 centimeter when compressed can not be placed on the lie.

Quote:
Originally Posted by robdeforge View Post
I think that's the reason for the shock & awe, that you're trying to pass off your specious interpretation of a rule as a rule that you expect others to abide by
I don't expect anything except to give my own interpretation of the rules. Like all PDGA disc golf rules, it's open to the interpretation by the players on the card. Like foot faults, how do we know the intentions of the player, was it a mistake or did he intentionally foot fault because he thought he could get away with it?
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 11-30-2019, 04:38 PM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 39.8
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,984
Niced 1,077 Times in 407 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

You make less and less sense with each post.

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 11-30-2019, 04:53 PM
DiscFifty DiscFifty is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,491
Niced 1,054 Times in 619 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
You make less and less sense with each post.
Sleepy Jay woke up from a nap...

813.02 Illegal Device
Last updated: Saturday, March 3, 2018 - 09:47
A player must not use any device that directly assists in making a throw. Devices that reduce or control abrasion to the skin (such as gloves, tape, bandages, or gauze) and medical items (such as knee or ankle braces) are allowed. Placing an object as a directional aid is not allowed. An item such as a towel or a pad may be placed on the lie as long as it is not greater than one centimeter in thickness when compressed.
A device that is questioned by another player or an Official is illegal unless it is subsequently approved by the Director.
A player receives two penalty throws if observed at any time during a round to be using an illegal device. A player who repeatedly uses an illegal device may be subject to disqualification in accordance with Section 3.03 of the PDGA Competition Manual.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 11-30-2019, 04:57 PM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 39.8
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,984
Niced 1,077 Times in 407 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

We've all seen that rule every time you've posted it. Thing is it has nothing to do with visual aide.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 11-30-2019, 05:05 PM
DiscFifty DiscFifty is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Years Playing: 8.8
Courses Played: 19
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,491
Niced 1,054 Times in 619 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Dub View Post
We've all seen that rule every time you've posted it. Thing is it has nothing to do with visual aide.
Perhaps that's where some of your confusion is..stop thinking of it as a "visual aid" think of it more of a "directional aid" as stated in the rules. But seriously..you're just arguing bits and pieces of every single post I make, your social media warrior skills are improving, I'll give you that. But if you follow along..properly...this thread (for better or worse) has several sub threads in it.

1) Writing on a disc. I could care less.
2) Talking about using objects as visual/directional aids. I said I've NEVER called anyone on it because I've never seen it done. BUT...if someone DID place an object a few feet in front of their marker, YES.. I'm wondering why.
3) The SPECIFIC DETAILS of the rule set in regards to the thickness of an object being placed in front of your lie. So if someone places another disc, mini, etc, YES I'm saying that's a rules violation based on my interpretation of the wording of the rule.

Is it REALLY that hard for you to play along or are do you just read the last few sentences of a thread and chime in?
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 11-30-2019, 05:08 PM
biscoe biscoe is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spotsylvania, va
Years Playing: 24.7
Courses Played: 94
Posts: 6,817
Niced 2,342 Times in 953 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscFifty View Post
3) The SPECIFIC DETAILS of the rule set in regards to the thickness of an object being placed in front of your lie. So if someone places another disc, mini, etc, YES I'm saying that's a rules violation based on my interpretation of the wording of the rule.
The rule does not say anything about the object of questionable thickness being placed in front of your lie. It specifically says "on the lie" and is in reference to using a pad or towel or something else for either traction or to not get ones knees all icky.

Niced: (3)
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 11-30-2019, 05:12 PM
Jay Dub's Avatar
Jay Dub Jay Dub is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW Ohio
Years Playing: 39.8
Courses Played: 95
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 4,984
Niced 1,077 Times in 407 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to Jay Dub
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscFifty View Post
Perhaps that's where some of your confusion is..stop thinking of it as a "visual aid" think of it more of a "directional aid" as stated in the rules. But seriously..you're just arguing bits and pieces of every single post I make, your social media warrior skills are improving, I'll give you that. But if you follow along..properly...this thread (for better or worse) has several sub threads in it.

1) Writing on a disc. I could care less.
How much less could you care?
2) Talking about using objects as visual/directional aids. I said I've NEVER called anyone on it because I've never seen it done. BUT...if someone DID place an object a few feet in front of their marker, YES.. I'm wondering why.
And that makes no sense as me and others have pointed out
3) The SPECIFIC DETAILS of the rule set in regards to the thickness of an object being placed in front of your lie. So if someone places another disc, mini, etc, YES I'm saying that's a rules violation based on my interpretation of the wording of the rule.
That rule is for using it as a buffer for your stance, under your foot or knee, not for in front of the lie.
Is it REALLY that hard for you to play along or are do you just read the last few sentences of a thread and chime in?
Disagreeing with you makes no one a keyboard warrior. The only thing I'm doing wrong in this discussion is feeding the troll. You.
Reply With Quote
 

  #90  
Old 11-30-2019, 05:26 PM
Armus Patheticus Armus Patheticus is offline
Par Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Courses Played: 16
Posts: 178
Niced 84 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Perhaps Discfifty believes that a very thin directional aid would be ok.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Writing an article about DC - needs suggestions Grinder12000 General Disc Golf Chat 18 05-20-2015 12:42 PM
Discraft Done Writing Weights on Discs? discspeed Discs 26 11-06-2010 02:14 PM
Stop writing on the signs. cali General Disc Golf Chat 27 10-29-2010 02:07 AM
Random data: See who's writing all the reviews. t i m General Disc Golf Chat 30 05-22-2009 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.