#51  
Old 01-03-2018, 01:28 PM
chevis's Avatar
chevis chevis is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: the dry shttys
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 80
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,055
Niced 136 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Shide View Post
What about a disc that comes to rest on the top of the target?
Quote:
One way to think of entering the target correctly is to picture a cylindrical plane going from the top of the tray to the bottom of the chain support. If the disc breaks that plane, it has entered the target correctly
The top is not "breaking the plane".
Sponsored Links

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-03-2018, 01:39 PM
1978 1978 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Charlotte, Nc
Years Playing: 9.8
Courses Played: 265
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 3,822
Niced 59 Times in 35 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC17393 View Post
The benefit of the doubt in this case applies to the disc completely within the target having entered it correctly (over the rim, not through the top, etc) without being seen. It doesn't necessarily apply to a disc that is still wedged.

Listen, I think the discounting of wedgies was a bad rule change. I have no problem with them counting. I want to count them. But my understanding is that the RC decided that wedgies do not count at all. I don't agree with them, I'm only passing on what I've been told.
You appear to be incorrect (in 2018)based on what the PDGA has on their own Q/A. If it enters the basket and wedges from the inside it is considered in "(although unlikely)" I could easily see this happening to a thumber or spike hyzer especially on old baskets like the Innova 18 chains where the ring was so high up the pole.
Basically every one of these can be good according to 2018 rules.

https://www.pdga.com/faq/rules/qa-co...m-spanning-two

Last edited by 1978; 01-03-2018 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-03-2018, 01:52 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44
Courses Played: 306
Posts: 3,916
Niced 813 Times in 434 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidSauls View Post
I don't want to be Rules Czar to get it all perfect. I just want to change 3 things that are annoying me, lock them in for 20 years, and abdicate.

Though that campaign platform probably isn't helping my chances, which were pretty slim to begin with.
That's a typical motivation for people who try to gain absolute power.

Remind me, what are the other two annoying things?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-03-2018, 01:53 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44
Courses Played: 306
Posts: 3,916
Niced 813 Times in 434 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
So disc golf is going the way of the NFL and talking about "breaking the plane" now? Gross.
"Breaking the plane" isn't set in stone yet. Is there a better way to describe entering the target correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:05 PM
chevis's Avatar
chevis chevis is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: the dry shttys
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 80
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,055
Niced 136 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
"Breaking the plane" isn't set in stone yet. Is there a better way to describe entering the target correctly?
i know what's not better: "entering the hole" or "penetrating the opening"

Niced: (1)

Last edited by chevis; 01-03-2018 at 02:07 PM. Reason: pervert
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:09 PM
DavidSauls's Avatar
DavidSauls DavidSauls is online now
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newberry, SC
Years Playing: 22.9
Courses Played: 124
Posts: 13,488
Niced 1,234 Times in 612 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
That's a typical motivation for people who try to gain absolute power.

Remind me, what are the other two annoying things?
For the sake of my campaign, I should keep quiet. It's already a longshot. And the other two will probably lose me the 3 supporters that my "in or on is in" plank has garnered.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:11 PM
chevis's Avatar
chevis chevis is offline
Double Eagle Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: the dry shttys
Years Playing: 15
Courses Played: 80
Throwing Style: RHFH
Posts: 1,055
Niced 136 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
"Breaking the plane" isn't set in stone yet. Is there a better way to describe entering the target correctly?
maybe: "crossing the threshold" of the line created between the top of the basket and the outside of the chain assembly(top)
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:37 PM
roggenb3's Avatar
roggenb3 roggenb3 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Madtown
Years Playing: 11.9
Courses Played: 103
Throwing Style: RHBH
Posts: 2,253
Niced 509 Times in 290 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve West View Post
"Breaking the plane" isn't set in stone yet. Is there a better way to describe entering the target correctly?
I just don't get the impetus for any changes at all I suppose. What was wrong with how it was worded previously?

It seems counter intuitive that hanging off the edge of the basket or the edge of the top should count as being in just because some tiny fraction of the disc is within the "cone".

How can you look at a disc hanging completely on the outside of the cage and say that it "entered the target correctly"?

Niced: (1)
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-03-2018, 04:32 PM
JC17393 JC17393 is offline
* Ace Member *
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Years Playing: 20.4
Courses Played: 142
Throwing Style: LHBH
Posts: 6,169
Niced 1,218 Times in 529 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1978 View Post
You appear to be incorrect (in 2018)based on what the PDGA has on their own Q/A. If it enters the basket and wedges from the inside it is considered in "(although unlikely)" I could easily see this happening to a thumber or spike hyzer especially on old baskets like the Innova 18 chains where the ring was so high up the pole.
Basically every one of these can be good according to 2018 rules.

https://www.pdga.com/faq/rules/qa-co...m-spanning-two
Hard for me to be correct about the 2018 rules in a post written in 2017 before the 2018 rules were either published or put into effect. But thanks for the "correction" anyway.
Reply With Quote
 

  #60  
Old 01-03-2018, 06:34 PM
Steve West Steve West is offline
Par Delusionary
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Years Playing: 44
Courses Played: 306
Posts: 3,916
Niced 813 Times in 434 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roggenb3 View Post
I just don't get the impetus for any changes at all I suppose. What was wrong with how it was worded previously?

It seems counter intuitive that hanging off the edge of the basket or the edge of the top should count as being in just because some tiny fraction of the disc is within the "cone".

How can you look at a disc hanging completely on the outside of the cage and say that it "entered the target correctly"?
See 22:07


Niced: (2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.